I'm seeing that the recipe is using brown algae.
[1.0] Sea Block Pack 0.4.10
Re: [0.18] Sea Block Pack 0.4.8
An update on my tech-tree comments.
I was about to craft myself a personal roboport robot control. However, in order to do so, I need to make a module case. Imo, I should not have been able to research Personal Robot Modules without having researched modules. Furthermore, Module research is locked behind Crystal Splinter Processing, and Crystal Splinter Processing doesn't have any ingredient bearing on Modules (it's only when you get to advanced modules that you need crystals/fish).
I'm asking if there is any ongoing attempt to fix these discrepancies in the tech tree, otherwise, I will do it myself from scratch.
I was about to craft myself a personal roboport robot control. However, in order to do so, I need to make a module case. Imo, I should not have been able to research Personal Robot Modules without having researched modules. Furthermore, Module research is locked behind Crystal Splinter Processing, and Crystal Splinter Processing doesn't have any ingredient bearing on Modules (it's only when you get to advanced modules that you need crystals/fish).
I'm asking if there is any ongoing attempt to fix these discrepancies in the tech tree, otherwise, I will do it myself from scratch.
- lovely_santa
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 502
- Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 9:41 pm
- Contact:
Re: [0.18] Sea Block Pack 0.4.8
In bob angels, the modules should require the module boards, which require the crystals. Might be something the circuit mod is changing, leaving the module boards out... So that might be the issueLowest0ne wrote: ↑Sat Jul 11, 2020 10:02 pmAn update on my tech-tree comments.
I was about to craft myself a personal roboport robot control. However, in order to do so, I need to make a module case. Imo, I should not have been able to research Personal Robot Modules without having researched modules. Furthermore, Module research is locked behind Crystal Splinter Processing, and Crystal Splinter Processing doesn't have any ingredient bearing on Modules (it's only when you get to advanced modules that you need crystals/fish).
I'm asking if there is any ongoing attempt to fix these discrepancies in the tech tree, otherwise, I will do it myself from scratch.
EDIT: I just had a look:
- In bob angels, the research "modules" unlocks the speed/efficiency/productivity circuit boards. These depend on splinters, hence why modules prerequisite on crystals.
- When ScienceCostTweaker is enabled, thre is a prerequisite technology named Modules lab, which unlocks the circuits, and such the crystal splinter prerequisite should move from Modules technology to the Modules lab technology. This seems to be an issue on SCT his end and should be fixed by SCT
- The next tiers (Modules 2 and Modules 3) research are from angels bio processing itself, so those are alright.
- The mod Circuit Processing introduces a 4th level of modules (module 3), which do not depend on crystals, so that's not up to me to change, however for consistency, there should be a prerequisite tech named Modules 4 for consistency.
Last edited by lovely_santa on Sun Jul 12, 2020 9:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
- lovely_santa
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 502
- Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 9:41 pm
- Contact:
Re: [0.18] Sea Block Pack 0.4.8
This is an error on angels side of things. I've fixed it for a future bugfixing release, as I mentioned in this post. That post also containts a quick fix, for those that want to update to the latest mods instead of downloading the seablock pack as trainwreck suggests.
Re: [0.18] Sea Block Pack 0.4.8
FYI update 0.18.43 breaks this pack. Either revert to 0.18.42 or apply the fix from this reddit comment.
-
- Inserter
- Posts: 40
- Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 6:06 pm
- Contact:
Re: [0.18] Sea Block Pack 0.4.8
Fix recipe difficulty checking.
https://wiki.factorio.com/Prototype/Recipe#Recipe_data states that if normal is set, expensive can be set to false.
This mod (together with others) assume that if normal is set expensive is set as well.
After updating my game today (from 18.38) the game didnt launch because of this.
There are 2 occurances of this in the seablock mod:
data-final-fixes.lua:226, fixed by:
and lib.lua:48, fixed by:
Both work, I dont know if there are any cases where the output would be different compared to before, but this patch follows the documentation correctly and thus should work perfectly fine.
https://wiki.factorio.com/Prototype/Recipe#Recipe_data states that if normal is set, expensive can be set to false.
This mod (together with others) assume that if normal is set expensive is set as well.
After updating my game today (from 18.38) the game didnt launch because of this.
There are 2 occurances of this in the seablock mod:
data-final-fixes.lua:226, fixed by:
Code: Select all
if r.normal then
table.insert( iset, r.normal.ingredients )
end
if r.expensive then
table.insert( iset, r.expensive.ingredients )
end
if not (r.normal or r.expensive) then
table.insert( iset, r.ingredients )
end
Code: Select all
if recipe.normal then
func(recipe.normal)
end
if recipe.expensive then
func(recipe.expensive)
end
if not (recipe.normal or recipe.expensive) then
func(recipe)
end
Re: [0.18] Sea Block Pack 0.4.8
Circuit processing also has an issue in bobmodules.lua, line 140. I commented it out, probably your fix would be better?
-
- Inserter
- Posts: 40
- Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 6:06 pm
- Contact:
Re: [0.18] Sea Block Pack 0.4.8
I already posted a fix on the mod page for that mod: https://mods.factorio.com/mod/CircuitPr ... 81c5cd6d11 since that mod doesnt seem to have a github/gitlab/forum.
Re: [0.18] Sea Block Pack 0.4.8
I get a Sea block error that mentions Sea Block Data Final fixes Lua38 in function func
lib.lua50 in function iteraterecpies
and data final fixes lua 49 main chunk
lib.lua50 in function iteraterecpies
and data final fixes lua 49 main chunk
-
- Manual Inserter
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2020 1:16 am
- Contact:
Re: [0.18] Sea Block Pack 0.4.8
This error:
Failed to load mods: Error in assignID: recipe with name 'lab-alien' does not exist.
Source: sct-lab-alien (technology).
pops up when I try to load the mods. I looked through the .lua files and it seems that the file at
\mods\ScienceCostTweakerM_0.18.2.zip\ScienceCostTweakerM_0.18.2\tweaks\bobsmods\1_update.lua
contains the recipe for "lab-alien" but it must not be being registered. any advice?
version: 0.18.34
-
- Manual Inserter
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2020 1:16 am
- Contact:
Re: [0.18] Sea Block Pack 0.4.8
additionally i have been getting another error:dank_penguinz wrote: ↑Sun Aug 16, 2020 1:25 am
This error:
Failed to load mods: Error in assignID: recipe with name 'lab-alien' does not exist.
Source: sct-lab-alien (technology).
pops up when I try to load the mods. I looked through the .lua files and it seems that the file at
\mods\ScienceCostTweakerM_0.18.2.zip\ScienceCostTweakerM_0.18.2\tweaks\bobsmods\1_update.lua
contains the recipe for "lab-alien" but it must not be being registered. any advice?
version: 0.18.34
Failed to load mods: Error in assignID: technology with name 'advanced-research' does not exist.
Source: sct-lab-alien (technology).
the two errors seem to be used interchangeably each time i try to load the modpack. and without ScienceCostTweakerM (0.18.2) I cant play the modpack
-
- Fast Inserter
- Posts: 110
- Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 2:17 am
- Contact:
Re: [1.0] Sea Block Pack 0.4.9
Sea block pack 0.4.9 has been released. Check first post for download link.
Update 2020-8-18, version 0.4.9:
Update 2020-8-18, version 0.4.9:
- Update mods to latest versions.
- Factorio 1.0 fixes
Re: [1.0] Sea Block Pack 0.4.9
Thank you very much. I love this pack and want to start a new Playthrough in the near futureTrainwreck wrote: ↑Tue Aug 18, 2020 8:06 amSea block pack 0.4.9 has been released. Check first post for download link.
Update 2020-8-18, version 0.4.9:Just a minor update to keep things working with factorio 1.0. Mod list is unchanged from 0.18. I still plan on adding angels industries at some unknown point in the future, but not for this release.
- Update mods to latest versions.
- Factorio 1.0 fixes
-
- Fast Inserter
- Posts: 110
- Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 2:17 am
- Contact:
[1.0] Sea Block Pack 0.4.10
Sea block pack 0.4.10 has been released. Check first post for download link.
Update 2020-8-18, version 0.4.10:
Update 2020-8-18, version 0.4.10:
- Bugfix for disable_crashsite crash.
Re: [1.0] Sea Block Pack 0.4.10
I have a few mods to suggest adding to the pack:
The Blueprint Designer Lab - in the early game before you have a lot of space, it really helps to be able to plan out how much room you need. On marathon, it helps to be able to test out designs before you've gotten together enough resources to actually build the machines. This mod gives you an alternate surface with unlimited space where cheat mode and god mode are enabled, but the only things you can bring back to the real world are the blueprints you make in there.
Inland Pumps - I made this to make it a lot easier to place blueprints that include pumps. Once you have blasting charges you can make water anywhere, but it's still a little bit of a hassle to put water where you need it. I guess it might be a bit obsolete now that you can place water tiles in blueprints, though.
The Blueprint Designer Lab - in the early game before you have a lot of space, it really helps to be able to plan out how much room you need. On marathon, it helps to be able to test out designs before you've gotten together enough resources to actually build the machines. This mod gives you an alternate surface with unlimited space where cheat mode and god mode are enabled, but the only things you can bring back to the real world are the blueprints you make in there.
Inland Pumps - I made this to make it a lot easier to place blueprints that include pumps. Once you have blasting charges you can make water anywhere, but it's still a little bit of a hassle to put water where you need it. I guess it might be a bit obsolete now that you can place water tiles in blueprints, though.
-
- Manual Inserter
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 4:06 pm
- Contact:
Re: [1.0] Sea Block Pack 0.4.10
just started a new game and early game is now a lot slower with the new update not sure this was intended.
before you could research green algae processing for 40 red science now it takes 300, because water treatment has electronics as prerequisite.
without access to the green algae II recipe power is a big problem.
for me it feels a little slow now.
before you could research green algae processing for 40 red science now it takes 300, because water treatment has electronics as prerequisite.
without access to the green algae II recipe power is a big problem.
for me it feels a little slow now.
Re: [1.0] Sea Block Pack 0.4.10
The green algae II recipe is worse at producing power than green algae I. So that argument makes no sense.remarkablysilly wrote: ↑Wed Aug 19, 2020 9:50 amjust started a new game and early game is now a lot slower with the new update not sure this was intended.
before you could research green algae processing for 40 red science now it takes 300, because water treatment has electronics as prerequisite.
without access to the green algae II recipe power is a big problem.
for me it feels a little slow now.
The power generation at the start has been reduced. Period. Until you get crushed stone from geodes you have to be very conservative in your power use. And that's slow.
Re: [1.0] Sea Block Pack 0.4.10
That has changed since 0.18. algae 1 has brown algae as byproduct and green algae 2 got buffed. IMO the way to go for early power.mrvn wrote: ↑Wed Aug 19, 2020 11:41 amThe green algae II recipe is worse at producing power than green algae I. So that argument makes no sense.remarkablysilly wrote: ↑Wed Aug 19, 2020 9:50 amjust started a new game and early game is now a lot slower with the new update not sure this was intended.
before you could research green algae processing for 40 red science now it takes 300, because water treatment has electronics as prerequisite.
without access to the green algae II recipe power is a big problem.
for me it feels a little slow now.
The power generation at the start has been reduced. Period. Until you get crushed stone from geodes you have to be very conservative in your power use. And that's slow.
And later with electrodes in electrolyzers (green science), you get a lot of mineralized water as byproduct to fuel it.
The previous techs are indeed a bit strange:
Re: [1.0] Sea Block Pack 0.4.10
That doesn't match my experience - I had a much easier time getting off the ground in 0.4.8 than I did back in 0.3.8. And, through the magic of Steam keeping old versions around, even though Wube no longer have them on the site, we can check!
. . . aaaand after spending a bit of time with Helmod in both 0.17.19 (the last pre-18 version) and 1.0, I can tell you that starting out in Seablock is drastically easier than it used to be, fuel-wise. Each of my setups was aiming for maxing out two Stone Furnaces, as a benchmark.
Note: All production facilities are rounded up to the nearest integer, because you can't have a fraction of an assembler Screenshots inside spoilers. EDIT: Huh, that apparently doesn't work on this board. Welp.
First, the Algae I recipe, which produces 2.81 Charcoal for a gross power of 11.24.
- 0.17: 11 Assembly Machine 1, 28 Algae Farm Mk1, using 3.7MW. Net power output of 7.54Mw.
- 1.0: 11 Assembly Machine 1, 22 Algae Farm 1, using 3.3MW. Net power output of 7.94Mw. Also produces 2.5 Brown Algae, which would be another 3 Algae Farms, a Hydro Plant and 296.9KW under 0.17.
- 0.17: 17 Assembly Machine 1, 16 Algae Farm Mk1, 3 Liquifier 1, 2 Ore Crusher 1, 12 Electrolyser 1, using 7.3 MW. Net power output of 3.94Mw. Ouch.
- 1.0: 14 Assembly Machine 1, 8 Algae Farm 1, 2 Liquifier 1, 2 Ore Crusher 1, 7 Electrolyser 1 using 4.2MW. Net power output of 7.04Mw.
- 0.17: 11 Assembly Machine 1, 10 Algae Farm MK1, 2 Liquifier 1, 2 Ore Crusher 1, 7 Electrolyzer 1, using 4.2 MW. This produces 2.13 Charcoal for 8.52MW gross. Net power output of 4.32MW.
- 1.0: 11 Assembly Machine 1, 6 Algae Farm 1, 2 Liquifier 1, 1 Ore Crusher 1, 5 Electrolyzer 1 using 3.1 MW. This produces 2.38 Charcoal for 9.52 MW gross. Net power output of 6.42MW.