Bottom leds to belts to distinquish belt types?

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Post Reply
Mendel
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 262
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 1:51 pm
Contact:

Bottom leds to belts to distinquish belt types?

Post by Mendel »

Ever had that problem where you fail to see the one point on a long belt where you still have the old slower type of belt and that one piece is slowing the whole belt down and you are having trouble finding it on a full belt that might be currently halted due to another issue?

I think the belt color should not be only on the top of the belt where it can easily be almost completely blocked by whatever is on the belt.

Maybe something like this could work? (mspaint illustration)
Image

Another possibility is maybe the whole metal bottom part could be slightly colored?

User avatar
ThaPear
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:05 am
Contact:

Re: Bottom leds to belts to distinquish belt types?

Post by ThaPear »

If the belt is being fully utilized, you'll see where the belt speeds up again after a slower piece of belt. If it's not, then the slow piece is apparently keeping up with demand just fine.
Honestly, I don't see the added value of this suggestion, other than cluttering up the visuals.

Additionally, you can use the upgrade planner to check an entire belt at once.

foamy
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:14 am
Contact:

Re: Bottom leds to belts to distinquish belt types?

Post by foamy »

It is incredibly annoying trying to troubleshoot a loaded belt for glitches. Making something that can be seen even when the belt's loaded -- and those arrows look pretty unobtrusive otherwise -- would help me a lot.

I like this idea.

conn11
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 385
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Bottom leds to belts to distinquish belt types?

Post by conn11 »

An upgrade planner, configured for belt Updates already takes care of it. Either by fixing it directly or at least highlighting lower tiers of belt if bots are not avaliable.
Anyway any modestly sufficient throughput makes the problem obvious.

Mendel
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 262
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 1:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Bottom leds to belts to distinquish belt types?

Post by Mendel »

This is going to sound dumb but I haven't actually used the upgrade planner, nor do I know how to. Nor do I know exactly what it is but...
Before I ask, I'm going to try to see if I can find out what it is and how to use it :)

Mendel
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 262
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 1:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Bottom leds to belts to distinquish belt types?

Post by Mendel »

Okay so I found the "make new upgrade planner" feature and found out how to use that.

But if I got it right, I still have to stop and drag a box around belts to see what is what.

I would really prefer just easily spotting individual wrong colored belts while just running through the area. It shouldn't be any less obvious than spotting different colored assembling machines for example.

conn11
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 385
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Bottom leds to belts to distinquish belt types?

Post by conn11 »

Mendel wrote:
Sat Nov 30, 2019 1:31 pm
Okay so I found the "make new upgrade planner" feature and found out how to use that.

But if I got it right, I still have to stop and drag a box around belts to see what is what.

I would really prefer just easily spotting individual wrong colored belts while just running through the area. It shouldn't be any less obvious than spotting different colored assembling machines for example.
true, it's a kind of workaround. But as mentioned before, relevant throughput issues are easably spottable. And you can drag and run an technically upgrade the whole factory at once.

User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2903
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Bottom leds to belts to distinquish belt types?

Post by darkfrei »

Maybe some covers for belts?

Mendel
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 262
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 1:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Bottom leds to belts to distinquish belt types?

Post by Mendel »

conn11 wrote:
Sat Nov 30, 2019 2:06 pm

true, it's a kind of workaround. But as mentioned before, relevant throughput issues are easably spottable. And you can drag and run an technically upgrade the whole factory at once.
Another funny thing is... I don't like to use bots. I prefer belt spaghetti. Which kind of makes my problem distinguishing belt colors a lot worse.
I use bots in like once in five factories or so :) I know. That's my problem. So uh... I guess this is kind of pointless but could be a mod? And I'd probably have to do it myself. So it would have to be a big enough problem for me to justify spending that time on modding instead of playing. Which it isn't :)

User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2903
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Bottom leds to belts to distinquish belt types?

Post by darkfrei »

Mendel wrote:
Sat Nov 30, 2019 3:03 pm
I guess this is kind of pointless but could be a mod? And I'd probably have to do it myself. So it would have to be a big enough problem for me to justify spending that time on modding instead of playing. Which it isn't :)
Yes, you can use the LuaRendering just as small line near of the belts. It needs a little bit more time by save/loading, but works.

theolderbeholder
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 5:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Bottom leds to belts to distinquish belt types?

Post by theolderbeholder »

Maybe something which can be toggled using ALT.

User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2903
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Bottom leds to belts to distinquish belt types?

Post by darkfrei »

Not tested, but must working:

Code: Select all

local tabl = -- colors
  {
    ['transport-belt'] = {r=1,g=1,b=0}, -- yellow
    ['fast-transport-belt'] = {r=1,g=0,b=0}, -- red
    ['express-transport-belt'] = {r=0,g=1,b=1} -- cyan
  }

function on_built (event)
  local entity = event.created_entity
  if entity and tabl[entity.name] then
    -- draw_circle{color=…, radius=…, width=…, filled=…, target=…, target_offset=…, surface=…, time_to_live=…, forces=…, players=…, visible=…, draw_on_ground=…, only_in_alt_mode=…}
    rendering.draw_circle
      {
        color=tabl[entity.name], -- from table
        radius=4/32, -- in pixels
        filled=true, 
        target=entity, 
        surface=entity.surface, 
        forces={entity.force.name}, 
        only_in_alt_mode=true
      }
  end
end

script.on_event(defines.events.on_built_entity, function(event)
  on_built (event)
end)

script.on_event(defines.events.on_robot_built_entity, function(event)
  on_built (event)
end)
Last edited by darkfrei on Sat Nov 30, 2019 8:43 pm, edited 2 times in total.

theolderbeholder
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 5:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Bottom leds to belts to distinquish belt types?

Post by theolderbeholder »

darkfrei wrote:
Sat Nov 30, 2019 8:26 pm
Not tested, but must working:
:lol: I will treasure this line until that wonderful day I am able to code as confident as you. And then I´ll cite you.

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2632
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Bottom leds to belts to distinquish belt types?

Post by steinio »

So literally the bottleneck mod for belts.
Image

Transport Belt Repair Man

View unread Posts

User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2903
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Bottom leds to belts to distinquish belt types?

Post by darkfrei »

For Factorio 0.17
Attachments
2019-11-30T21_41_15-Factorio 0.17.79.png
2019-11-30T21_41_15-Factorio 0.17.79.png (113.39 KiB) Viewed 3525 times
WhatTheBelt_0.0.1.zip
for 0.17
(19.81 KiB) Downloaded 58 times

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”