pY Raw Ores Discussion

pyanodon's mods are here

Moderator: pyanodon

Post Reply
TwentyEighty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:11 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by TwentyEighty » Sun Jan 20, 2019 9:27 pm

Start buffering tin and glass and soil. You can automate wood boards pretty early. Also automate tinned wire ASAP. The beginning is slog but it's a drop in the bucket. You can do red science by like 8 hours and blue is like...80? IDK lol

spitfire_23
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 3:36 am
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by spitfire_23 » Sun Jan 20, 2019 10:17 pm

Yeah, seems crazy difficult to get enough glass. My starting quartz patch has room for about 2 crystal mines, so it's going to be slow going until I get to trains to bring in more quartz.

host65
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2018 2:17 am
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by host65 » Mon Jan 21, 2019 12:58 am

Just saying I LOVE IT.

Got niobium running now and having a blast.

Pyanadon. The recipes seem really good now. Its a challenge to get all the borax (because iron needs a lot) but I like it. Will find a huge patch and get train loads of that stuff.

Continue, no complains about any recipe so far.

aklesey1
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by aklesey1 » Tue Jan 22, 2019 3:13 pm

New update
So u decided to return worse variant in iron chain - 20 iron oxide for iron slime but 6 iron oxide - so now i'm absolutly sure that making iron slime from iron oxide have no sense :roll: - yeah yeah i thought that the 6 iron oxide was right decision from ur side but i mistaked
Smelting iron oxide directly to iron plates gives more iron plates then process it with ALL IRON PULPS from pulp 01 to pulp 07
Pyanodon i remeber u changed recipe for iron plate from raw ore - for now it 10 iron ore for 1 plate, I urge you to do something similar with iron oxide - let it be 4 iron oxide for 1 iron plate

ALL CHAINS for all ores looks good but iron chain is some broken i think - all we need todo is define iron slime production ;)

immortal_sniper1
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 433
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by immortal_sniper1 » Tue Jan 22, 2019 5:29 pm

aklesey1 wrote:
Tue Jan 22, 2019 3:13 pm
New update
So u decided to return worse variant in iron chain - 20 iron oxide for iron slime but 6 iron oxide - so now i'm absolutly sure that making iron slime from iron oxide have no sense :roll: - yeah yeah i thought that the 6 iron oxide was right decision from ur side but i mistaked
Smelting iron oxide directly to iron plates gives more iron plates then process it with ALL IRON PULPS from pulp 01 to pulp 07
Pyanodon i remeber u changed recipe for iron plate from raw ore - for now it 10 iron ore for 1 plate, I urge you to do something similar with iron oxide - let it be 4 iron oxide for 1 iron plate

ALL CHAINS for all ores looks good but iron chain is some broken i think - all we need todo is define iron slime production ;)
there was a infinite iron loop there that is why he changed it . the loop was 625% so 525% income per cicle.

aklesey1
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by aklesey1 » Tue Jan 22, 2019 6:38 pm

immortal_sniper1 wrote:
Tue Jan 22, 2019 5:29 pm
aklesey1 wrote:
Tue Jan 22, 2019 3:13 pm
New update
So u decided to return worse variant in iron chain - 20 iron oxide for iron slime but 6 iron oxide - so now i'm absolutly sure that making iron slime from iron oxide have no sense :roll: - yeah yeah i thought that the 6 iron oxide was right decision from ur side but i mistaked
Smelting iron oxide directly to iron plates gives more iron plates then process it with ALL IRON PULPS from pulp 01 to pulp 07
Pyanodon i remeber u changed recipe for iron plate from raw ore - for now it 10 iron ore for 1 plate, I urge you to do something similar with iron oxide - let it be 4 iron oxide for 1 iron plate

ALL CHAINS for all ores looks good but iron chain is some broken i think - all we need todo is define iron slime production ;)
there was a infinite iron loop there that is why he changed it . the loop was 625% so 525% income per cicle.
Explain as much as possible - can't understand with this %
Past variant with 6 iron oxide was very very good :D

immortal_sniper1
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 433
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by immortal_sniper1 » Tue Jan 22, 2019 7:04 pm

aklesey1 wrote:
Tue Jan 22, 2019 6:38 pm
immortal_sniper1 wrote:
Tue Jan 22, 2019 5:29 pm
aklesey1 wrote:
Tue Jan 22, 2019 3:13 pm
New update
So u decided to return worse variant in iron chain - 20 iron oxide for iron slime but 6 iron oxide - so now i'm absolutly sure that making iron slime from iron oxide have no sense :roll: - yeah yeah i thought that the 6 iron oxide was right decision from ur side but i mistaked
Smelting iron oxide directly to iron plates gives more iron plates then process it with ALL IRON PULPS from pulp 01 to pulp 07
Pyanodon i remeber u changed recipe for iron plate from raw ore - for now it 10 iron ore for 1 plate, I urge you to do something similar with iron oxide - let it be 4 iron oxide for 1 iron plate

ALL CHAINS for all ores looks good but iron chain is some broken i think - all we need todo is define iron slime production ;)
there was a infinite iron loop there that is why he changed it . the loop was 625% so 525% income per cicle.
Explain as much as possible - can't understand with this %
Past variant with 6 iron oxide was very very good :D
3iron > 6 oxide > full processing > 18.75 plates

aklesey1
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by aklesey1 » Tue Jan 22, 2019 7:16 pm

I had the misconception that pyanodon has added a new variant recipe for iron slime after one of my discussions with him - I don't know where he got the code for the recipe after editing the code was right only he and Nexela
Here's my message in spoiler - coz too big:
Discussion about iron slime and my suggestion
Donno where's missing screenshots but okey

Lurve
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:08 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by Lurve » Tue Jan 22, 2019 9:19 pm

mrbaggins wrote:
Sun Jan 20, 2019 12:43 am
Arfarazon wrote:
Tue Jan 15, 2019 5:50 pm

t1 - Ore > processed > molten > plates
t2 - Same as t1 because it just unlocks steel and few recipes for graded iron which are unusable at this point.
t3 - Ore > processed > graded iron > iron dust > slime + useless pulp at this point which is burned away > unslimed > plates (with some byproducts than can be refined back to graded iron or iron dust)
OR
t3 - same as t1, because you need steel anyway.
t4 - Ore > processed > graded iron > iron dust > pulp way to high grade etc + slime > unslimed as byproducts
I feel like I'm mssing something....

T1, yep, ore, processed - molten - plates.
T2 makes no sense though for half of it. It opens the steel improvment, but all the iron grading crap is completely useless until you get to T3.

Either some stuff from T3 needs to come back to T2 so that grade 1/2/3 is useful, or the grade stuff in T2 needs to push back to T3.
I want to draw attention to these posts.

Judging from the iron industry diagram in the imgur album, I gather that we're supposed to have some way of smelting grade 1 iron directly into plates. We don't. Instead, the Iron 2 tech gives us a recipe for smelting plates from unslimed iron, which we can't actually make until Iron 3. I suspect the recipes got jumbled around a little at some point.

aeemnrsu
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 10:42 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by aeemnrsu » Thu Jan 24, 2019 6:09 am

Just started trying out Full Py and I'm getting some weird CPU usage spikes. Removing other mods leads me to believe it's one of Pyanodon's mods, probably Raw Ores, maybe HighTech.

When loading factorio, the status bar gets stuck for about 5-10min at 40%-60% and Loading Sprites. This also slows my entire computer and mkaes it difficult to type even this.

Then, while playing, placing a couple pY objects and walking around leads to again more CPU usage spikes/Factorio not responding, getting to the point of becoming unplayable.

Any ideas on fixes? I'm not too far into the game, and my angelbob run seems to still be running fine.

Rue99
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:07 am
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by Rue99 » Thu Jan 24, 2019 10:03 am

Ore is very heavy on video memory.

Cardoyle
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2018 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by Cardoyle » Thu Jan 24, 2019 10:13 am

aeemnrsu wrote:
Thu Jan 24, 2019 6:09 am
Just started trying out Full Py and I'm getting some weird CPU usage spikes. Removing other mods leads me to believe it's one of Pyanodon's mods, probably Raw Ores, maybe HighTech.

When loading factorio, the status bar gets stuck for about 5-10min at 40%-60% and Loading Sprites. This also slows my entire computer and mkaes it difficult to type even this.

Then, while playing, placing a couple pY objects and walking around leads to again more CPU usage spikes/Factorio not responding, getting to the point of becoming unplayable.

Any ideas on fixes? I'm not too far into the game, and my angelbob run seems to still be running fine.
Hi

I too had this problem, it was when raw ores was enabled. A fix for me was go to options -> Graphics then on the left haand side towards the bottom change sprite resolution from high to normal. It made my load times go from around 5 - 10 minutes like yourself to around 30 seconds :)

immortal_sniper1
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 433
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by immortal_sniper1 » Thu Jan 24, 2019 10:24 am

Cardoyle wrote:
Thu Jan 24, 2019 10:13 am
aeemnrsu wrote:
Thu Jan 24, 2019 6:09 am
Just started trying out Full Py and I'm getting some weird CPU usage spikes. Removing other mods leads me to believe it's one of Pyanodon's mods, probably Raw Ores, maybe HighTech.

When loading factorio, the status bar gets stuck for about 5-10min at 40%-60% and Loading Sprites. This also slows my entire computer and mkaes it difficult to type even this.

Then, while playing, placing a couple pY objects and walking around leads to again more CPU usage spikes/Factorio not responding, getting to the point of becoming unplayable.

Any ideas on fixes? I'm not too far into the game, and my angelbob run seems to still be running fine.
Hi

I too had this problem, it was when raw ores was enabled. A fix for me was go to options -> Graphics then on the left haand side towards the bottom change sprite resolution from high to normal. It made my load times go from around 5 - 10 minutes like yourself to around 30 seconds :)
wierd i got a long loading time problem after win 10 update but ill try to lower from high to med the rez to see if it works

zizzleswomp
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by zizzleswomp » Thu Jan 24, 2019 6:52 pm

Since ammo now requires lead, and mining lead requires acetylene, there is quite a long chain of products to get going before you can make any ammo at all. The time spent, and more importantly, the pollution generated to get any new ammo basically guarantees that I have already fended off enough biter attacks to have run out of the initial ammo.

My solution was to add back the vanilla recipe (4 iron plate -> 1 firearm magazine) as a slow handcraft-only recipe to help get through the early game. The amount of ammo needed for turrets or even just feeding an SMG for any length of time is still a very strong incentive to get lead mining up and running so you can automate ammo production.

What does everyone else do? Do most people just turn on Peaceful Mode when using pY mods?

immortal_sniper1
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 433
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by immortal_sniper1 » Thu Jan 24, 2019 7:36 pm

zizzleswomp wrote:
Thu Jan 24, 2019 6:52 pm
Since ammo now requires lead, and mining lead requires acetylene, there is quite a long chain of products to get going before you can make any ammo at all. The time spent, and more importantly, the pollution generated to get any new ammo basically guarantees that I have already fended off enough biter attacks to have run out of the initial ammo.

My solution was to add back the vanilla recipe (4 iron plate -> 1 firearm magazine) as a slow handcraft-only recipe to help get through the early game. The amount of ammo needed for turrets or even just feeding an SMG for any length of time is still a very strong incentive to get lead mining up and running so you can automate ammo production.

What does everyone else do? Do most people just turn on Peaceful Mode when using pY mods?
i play peacefull but i agree with the hand crafting only recipe py did a sumilar thing when it came to circuit1

TwentyEighty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:11 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by TwentyEighty » Thu Jan 24, 2019 8:01 pm

I turned off pollution. I really don't think it's possible to play the full py suite with normal biter settings. And it would be miserable if you did

host65
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2018 2:17 am
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by host65 » Thu Jan 24, 2019 8:39 pm

I turn of biters completely. Pyanadon is hard enough by itself and I do not enjoy dealing with biters. Same true for cliffs, that is also turned off

TwentyEighty
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:11 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by TwentyEighty » Fri Jan 25, 2019 1:04 am

pyanodon, I think I found an actual bug. In your PyCharts, the outlet-gas-1 recipe gives tar as a result. In the actual outlet-gas-1 recipe, it takes tar as an input. That's a rather large difference. I guess no one has done the new coke chain yet to notice? All of the other outlet gas filtering gives a useful output so I assume this one was meant to as well

kingarthur
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 885
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 11:39 am
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by kingarthur » Fri Jan 25, 2019 8:24 am

is it intended that sand extractor 1 is unlocked with excavation one which is science 3 lvl when sand extractor 2 is unlocked in mining machines 2 in science 2 lvl?

User avatar
pyanodon
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1593
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: pY Raw Ores Discussion

Post by pyanodon » Fri Jan 25, 2019 1:00 pm

kingarthur wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 8:24 am
is it intended that sand extractor 1 is unlocked with excavation one which is science 3 lvl when sand extractor 2 is unlocked in mining machines 2 in science 2 lvl?
i will check it out.
pY Coal processing mod
Discord: Pyanodon #5791

Post Reply

Return to “PyMods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users