[MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Topics and discussion about specific mods
Post Reply
User avatar
Therax
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun May 21, 2017 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by Therax » Sat Dec 29, 2018 4:01 am

Thanks Cadde for the additional pictures. I hope they help future users who run into similar confusion.
Kingdud wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 8:23 pm
Edit: Ok, I get it. The miniloader can *either* load or unload, it cannot unload on one side and load on the other. So it isn't possible to do what I'm doing, unload from a chest into an assembler. I have to have at least one belt unit in between. Lame.
Note that it's possible to get what you're after, 12-beacon cells with 5 belts in and 1 belt out, if you add a tile of width:
manybelts.png
manybelts.png (115.71 KiB) Viewed 200 times
Miniloader — UPS-friendly 1x1 loaders
Bulk Rail Loaders — Rapid train loading and unloading
Beltlayer & Pipelayer — Route items and fluids freely underground

Cadde
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 5:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by Cadde » Sat Dec 29, 2018 12:02 pm

Do note that there's a difference in speed between curved and straight belts right before/after the loader. The difference is noticeable at full belt speed, using double feeds with curves is necessary to maintain full speed for that belt type.

In total you can have 8 chests around the assembler. Which is enough for up to 420 items of input or output per second. (where at least one chest of course is used for the opposite)
Do note that there are recipes out there that (with speed modules and beacons) simply will not run every tick on an assembler as you can't feed them enough items.

However, per tick recipes are bloody awesome!

Locane
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by Locane » Fri Jan 11, 2019 3:08 pm

Is there a way to configure this to "FOOMF" stuff in to a lab up to its maximum hold value the way Loader Redux does?

IE, fill the lab's inventory completely up and THEN stop instead of stopping at 2 of each bottle.

User avatar
Therax
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun May 21, 2017 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by Therax » Fri Jan 11, 2019 5:00 pm

Locane wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 3:08 pm
Is there a way to configure this to "FOOMF" stuff in to a lab up to its maximum hold value the way Loader Redux does?

IE, fill the lab's inventory completely up and THEN stop instead of stopping at 2 of each bottle.
This is determined by the core Factorio logic for inserters. For the behavior you’re describing you need a mod that uses loader entities like LoaderRedux, Deadlock’s Compact Loaders, etc., but you cannot use the same mod for loading vehicles like cargo wagons.
Miniloader — UPS-friendly 1x1 loaders
Bulk Rail Loaders — Rapid train loading and unloading
Beltlayer & Pipelayer — Route items and fluids freely underground

Locane
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by Locane » Fri Jan 11, 2019 9:31 pm

Therax wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 5:00 pm
This is determined by the core Factorio logic for inserters. For the behavior you’re describing you need a mod that uses loader entities like LoaderRedux, Deadlock’s Compact Loaders, etc., but you cannot use the same mod for loading vehicles like cargo wagons.
Ahh that's too bad. Load Redux is what I was using before, and it has a few buggy things with it so I was looking for something cleaner. It loads in to cargo trains just fine, it's what I used the loaders for, primarily.

Thank you for the reply!

User avatar
Therax
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun May 21, 2017 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by Therax » Fri Jan 11, 2019 9:51 pm

Locane wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 9:31 pm
Ahh that's too bad. Load Redux is what I was using before, and it has a few buggy things with it so I was looking for something cleaner. It loads in to cargo trains just fine, it's what I used the loaders for, primarily.

Thank you for the reply!
LoaderRedux can load into cargo wagons, but it's very inefficient when doing so. If you have a look at the portal:
Performance

Don't use Loader Redux with wagons. It uses lua script to find wagons and puts items on belts through script as well.
Disable the option to connect to wagons in mod settings and use wagon > stack inserter > chest > loader > belt for much better performance.
Current versions of Loader Redux disable cargo wagon integration by default.

I wrote Miniloader in the first place to address the performance problems of using Loader Redux with trains. :)
Miniloader — UPS-friendly 1x1 loaders
Bulk Rail Loaders — Rapid train loading and unloading
Beltlayer & Pipelayer — Route items and fluids freely underground

Locane
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.16] Miniloader

Post by Locane » Sun Jan 13, 2019 4:48 pm

Therax wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 9:51 pm
Locane wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 9:31 pm
Ahh that's too bad. Load Redux is what I was using before, and it has a few buggy things with it so I was looking for something cleaner. It loads in to cargo trains just fine, it's what I used the loaders for, primarily.

Thank you for the reply!
LoaderRedux can load into cargo wagons, but it's very inefficient when doing so. If you have a look at the portal:
Performance

Don't use Loader Redux with wagons. It uses lua script to find wagons and puts items on belts through script as well.
Disable the option to connect to wagons in mod settings and use wagon > stack inserter > chest > loader > belt for much better performance.
Current versions of Loader Redux disable cargo wagon integration by default.

I wrote Miniloader in the first place to address the performance problems of using Loader Redux with trains. :)
I'm aware actually! But thank you for pointing it out anyway. I've run 3 different games now of (what I consider to be) relatively medium size compared to how I believe most users play (?), and my CPU is idle 60% of the time. I probably have roughly 100 of them all active on full in my game right now? And it doesn't matter at all.

I had performance issues with Endgame Combat that I had to disable and start a new map over, but never Loader Redux. At least not yet.

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kingarthur and 9 guests