Switch to disable logistic slots

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3740
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Switch to disable logistic slots

Post by mrvn » Mon Aug 20, 2018 10:32 am

TL;DR
One should be able to disable the logistic slots (+trash slots?) temporarily without having to remove all slots and later fill them again.
What ?
The logistic slots should have a on/off button next to them or below them so one can stop logistic bots from launching when unwelcome.
Why ?
There are many situations where logistic bots starting to deliver items to the player is harmful or a nuisance. The simplest example is probably when you die. Suddenly all logistic bots in the system launch and bring you a million things. This is a huge drain on the bot, the power and resources. And then you go and want to pick up your corpse and have no space. Or you pick it up first and then the logistic bots bring you all the stuff you already got from your corpse, again.

And if you where killed by aliens and retrieving your corpse means leaving the logistic network then all those bots that have picked something up to bring you now return it to the storage chests, which quickly overflows. They do not put it back into the provider chests they got them from. And most common setup is for the production to run till the provider chest has a certain number of items. So now more are produced while tons of them are still in storage.

Darklaser
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 6:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Switch to disable logistic slots

Post by Darklaser » Mon Aug 20, 2018 11:23 am

That's a great idea!

User avatar
Philuminati
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 1:04 am
Contact:

Re: Switch to disable logistic slots

Post by Philuminati » Mon Aug 20, 2018 12:11 pm

I also think that this is a good idea, also for the trash slots. If you want to build e.g. a new outpost and you take far more resources with you than normal, it would be nice if the bots would simply let you... :roll:

Zavian
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1452
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: Switch to disable logistic slots

Post by Zavian » Mon Aug 20, 2018 12:18 pm

Well trash slots aren't intended to be used as extra inventory slots, that would be sort of encouraging their abuse. The best way is to set up a proper outpost train.

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3740
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: Switch to disable logistic slots

Post by mrvn » Mon Aug 20, 2018 12:28 pm

With trash slots I was more thinking about driving around in a train and the logistic bots starting and returning every time you pass into or out of a logistic zone.

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3740
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: Switch to disable logistic slots

Post by mrvn » Mon Aug 20, 2018 12:29 pm

With the new inventory setup for 0.17 aren't trash slots just links to real items and you don't gain extra space from them?

User avatar
Philuminati
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 1:04 am
Contact:

Re: Switch to disable logistic slots

Post by Philuminati » Mon Aug 20, 2018 2:25 pm

Sorry I didn't mean the trash slots but the auto-trash section. Let's say for example that you only let 300 belts of each colour be in your inventory. This way it is - for example - easier to replace all your belts in your mainbus without running out of space. Now you want to take more belts to your new outpost because who can built an outpost with only 300 belts? :D Of course you could just remove the belts from the auto-trash section but what if you have more than just belts in this section?

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2267
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Switch to disable logistic slots

Post by steinio » Mon Aug 20, 2018 2:30 pm

Philuminati wrote:Sorry I didn't mean the trash slots but the auto-trash section. Let's say for example that you only let 300 belts of each colour be in your inventory. This way it is - for example - easier to replace all your belts in your mainbus without running out of space. Now you want to take more belts to your new outpost because who can built an outpost with only 300 belts? :D Of course you could just remove the belts from the auto-trash section but what if you have more than just belts in this section?
How about save and load different auto trash configs for different use cases?
Image
Transport Belt Repair Man
My little mods: Link | My favourite mods: Bob's Mods | Angel's Mods | Yuoki Railway Core | EvoGUI | Logistic Train Network
Factorio Cheat Sheet by Denis Zholob

View unread Posts

User avatar
Philuminati
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 1:04 am
Contact:

Re: Switch to disable logistic slots

Post by Philuminati » Mon Aug 20, 2018 2:59 pm

steinio wrote:How about save and load different auto trash configs for different use cases?
Can you explain what you are saying? I never heard about auto trash configs... :?

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2267
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Switch to disable logistic slots

Post by steinio » Mon Aug 20, 2018 4:49 pm

Philuminati wrote:
steinio wrote:How about save and load different auto trash configs for different use cases?
Can you explain what you are saying? I never heard about auto trash configs... :?
Yes, why they don't exist... so far.
Image
Transport Belt Repair Man
My little mods: Link | My favourite mods: Bob's Mods | Angel's Mods | Yuoki Railway Core | EvoGUI | Logistic Train Network
Factorio Cheat Sheet by Denis Zholob

View unread Posts

User avatar
Philuminati
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 1:04 am
Contact:

Re: Switch to disable logistic slots

Post by Philuminati » Mon Aug 20, 2018 5:29 pm

Wouldn't a turn on/off option be easier to use than loading a whole new config? I mean normally you won't change everything, just a few items.

Darklaser
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 6:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Switch to disable logistic slots

Post by Darklaser » Thu Aug 23, 2018 9:55 am

something like blocking/unblocking a slot with smth? so you can turn on/off 1 slot not all of them? they are visible but not in use?

User avatar
Philuminati
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 1:04 am
Contact:

Re: Switch to disable logistic slots

Post by Philuminati » Thu Aug 23, 2018 3:40 pm

Darklaser wrote:something like blocking/unblocking a slot with smth? so you can turn on/off 1 slot not all of them? they are visible but not in use?
Exactly.

Ghoulish
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 351
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 8:40 am

Re: Switch to disable logistic slots

Post by Ghoulish » Thu Aug 23, 2018 6:21 pm

I like the idea of being able to turn off logistic requests, but not individually, rather a button / checkbox to turn them all on or off, I don't see the need to suspend one or 2 requests - just remove it.. and readd it's not hard, but as in the OP having bots flood you with new goodies after you die is a pain, you have to quickly cancel them all [edit, and run out of supply range] (sigh, only to readd later) Otherwise you get back to your body and run out of inventory space..

It would also be useful when you're at an outpost which has its own unique roboport set up (perhaps to move items from trains - repair packs, ammo etc) It's most likely you don't want to deplete the outposts resources, or for the logistic bots to empty your trash. So being able to turn off logistic requests / auto trashing would be very useful. An awesome mod is https://mods.factorio.com/mod/AutoTrash which lets you pause logistic requests, and a hell of a lot more besides (pre-made logistic request configs) And like his oil tanker mod eventually getting into vanilla so should this one.. It's more recommended than condoms for a gang bang on an STD hospital ward.

I really don't like the whole There's a mod for that ™, as I wonder if it's less likely to get added because the mod exists, if that makes sense. But like on/off for exoskeletons, personal roboports, belt immunity or night vision, a toggle for logistic requests/trashing would be very useful and should be in vanilla and not only available to those who mod-all-the-things.
See the daily™ struggles with my Factory! :D https://www.twitch.tv/fruityrob

adam_bise
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 181
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 10:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Switch to disable logistic slots

Post by adam_bise » Fri Aug 24, 2018 3:51 pm

Or better yet, the ability to set logistic slot profiles.

I like the idea of disabling as well.

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3740
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: Switch to disable logistic slots

Post by mrvn » Tue Aug 28, 2018 9:35 am

Ghoulish wrote: I really don't like the whole There's a mod for that ™, as I wonder if it's less likely to get added because the mod exists, if that makes sense. But like on/off for exoskeletons, personal roboports, belt immunity or night vision, a toggle for logistic requests/trashing would be very useful and should be in vanilla and not only available to those who mod-all-the-things.
Things with a mod a re more likely to be added. The problem is: There isn't a mod for this. Afaik there can't be a mod for this. The only way to mod this would be to remove the roboports and then you loose charge in the roboports making it basically useless.

Zavian
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1452
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: Switch to disable logistic slots

Post by Zavian » Tue Aug 28, 2018 9:53 am

mrvn wrote:Afaik there can't be a mod for this. The only way to mod this would be to remove the roboports and then you loose charge in the roboports making it basically useless.
How about remove the construction bots from the player inventory and replace them with a placeholder item when the the player roboport is switched off, and do the reverse when the roboport is switched on.

Ghoulish
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 351
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 8:40 am

Re: Switch to disable logistic slots

Post by Ghoulish » Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:05 am

mrvn wrote:
Ghoulish wrote: I really don't like the whole There's a mod for that ™, as I wonder if it's less likely to get added because the mod exists, if that makes sense. But like on/off for exoskeletons, personal roboports, belt immunity or night vision, a toggle for logistic requests/trashing would be very useful and should be in vanilla and not only available to those who mod-all-the-things.
Things with a mod a re more likely to be added. The problem is: There isn't a mod for this. Afaik there can't be a mod for this. The only way to mod this would be to remove the roboports and then you loose charge in the roboports making it basically useless.
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/AutoTrash does;
Hotkeys:
Shift + P: Pauses Autotrash
Shift + O: Pause logistic requests
Shift + T: Add item on cursor to temporary trash. Pause/Unpause Autotrash if cursor is empty
For logistic request and if you want to pause your bots, you can use his (choumiko's) https://mods.factorio.com/mod/EquipmentHotkeys_fixed
See the daily™ struggles with my Factory! :D https://www.twitch.tv/fruityrob

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3740
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: Switch to disable logistic slots

Post by mrvn » Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:10 am

Zavian wrote:
mrvn wrote:Afaik there can't be a mod for this. The only way to mod this would be to remove the roboports and then you loose charge in the roboports making it basically useless.
How about remove the construction bots from the player inventory and replace them with a placeholder item when the the player roboport is switched off, and do the reverse when the roboport is switched on.
Possible. But what about bots currently outside the inventory? Or bots you pick up while the roboport is off? I think there is an event for inventory changes so it might be possible to catch those.

Zavian
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1452
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: Switch to disable logistic slots

Post by Zavian » Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:57 am

mrvn wrote:But what about bots currently outside the inventory? Or bots you pick up while the roboport is off? I think there is an event for inventory changes so it might be possible to catch those.
Not sure what would happen to the players construction bots that are already flying when you disable the player's roboports, but I think it's likely that they would start heading to the nearest available roboport, in which case disabling the roboport with bots out is problematic. (You could always simply tell players "Don't do that", but at least with the placeholder method the problems aren't any worse than current vanilla if bots launch before you remember to turn your roboport off).

Even if the event isn't practical, you should be able to check the players inventory once per tick to catch any the player picks up. (Yes, I know a lua call every tick gets expensive, so the event would be preferable).

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users