[0.17.11] (minor) mining prod research prerequisite

Bugs that are actually features.
Post Reply
ruy16109
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 7:05 pm
Contact:

[0.17.11] (minor) mining prod research prerequisite

Post by ruy16109 » Tue Mar 12, 2019 3:52 pm

Finite miner researches do not yet require respective science packs. This is contrary to the common practice where you first unlock the science pack then the techs that use it. See picture.
Untitled-1.png
Untitled-1.png (4.45 MiB) Viewed 207 times

ruy16109
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 7:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.11] (minor) mining prod research prerequisite

Post by ruy16109 » Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:10 pm

Additionally, the following techs also have the same issue:

worker speed 3-5, inserter stack 3-7, laser turret speed 3-7, energy damage 4-6, character trash slot 2-5, character logistic slot 3-6, follower count 3-4, brake force 3-6, worker cargo 2-3. No picture for those because that would be excessive, but one can check them in game.

ruy16109
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 7:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.11] (minor) mining prod research prerequisite

Post by ruy16109 » Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:12 pm

My suggestion is to auto-require science packs which can also help modding, but manually putting those prerequisites in would also be fine.

ruy16109
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 7:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.11] (minor) mining prod research prerequisite

Post by ruy16109 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:52 pm


ManaUser
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 9:41 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.11] (minor) mining prod research prerequisite

Post by ManaUser » Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:11 pm

My understanding is that they made a deliberate decision not to make the extra science packs a formal requirement for the higher levels of multi-level research. The main reasoning being that it seems obvious enough anyway and that adding these would make the tech tree over-complicated and ugly.

ruy16109
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 7:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.11] (minor) mining prod research prerequisite

Post by ruy16109 » Thu Mar 14, 2019 12:16 am

ManaUser wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:11 pm
My understanding is that they made a deliberate decision not to make the extra science packs a formal requirement for the higher levels of multi-level research. The main reasoning being that it seems obvious enough anyway and that adding these would make the tech tree over-complicated and ugly.
This, however, does not explain why infinite researches require space science to unlock, from 0.17.2 (viewtopic.php?f=3&t=65580). My point is that sticking with either strategy is fine, but having both strategies in different parts is not.

ruy16109
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 7:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.11] (minor) mining prod research prerequisite

Post by ruy16109 » Thu Mar 14, 2019 12:22 am

Also when I was digging through release notes, I found this post (viewtopic.php?p=401129) that is marked solved and mentioned in 0.17.2. It seems that said post was pointing at essentially the same issue as I had pointed out, but the fix in 0.17.2 was so specific that only first tiers were requiring science packs, whereas I am pointing out that all tiers should.

ManaUser
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 9:41 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.11] (minor) mining prod research prerequisite

Post by ManaUser » Thu Mar 14, 2019 2:18 am

ruy16109 wrote:
Thu Mar 14, 2019 12:16 am
This, however, does not explain why infinite researches require space science to unlock, from 0.17.2 (viewtopic.php?f=3&t=65580). My point is that sticking with either strategy is fine, but having both strategies in different parts is not.
You're right. That does seem a bit weird.

User avatar
Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1564
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:20 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17.11] (minor) mining prod research prerequisite

Post by Bilka » Fri Apr 05, 2019 1:29 pm

See viewtopic.php?p=401353#p401353:
V453000 wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 9:27 am
Other mid-tiers of number upgrades do not get all the pre-requisites as that should already be obvious from science pack icons under the technology icons, and it would probably make the technology tree look way too messy.
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

Post Reply

Return to “Not a bug”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests