Radar channels
Moderator: ickputzdirwech
-
- Burner Inserter
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2024 3:47 pm
- Contact:
Re: Radar channels
You can use an encoding technique to encode your input signal into 32 bits of the carrier signal. First arithmetic combinator will take your input signal and mask (truncate) it with "AND" operation by a constant "2^N - 1", where "N" is a number of bits you want to transmit. Second arithmetic combinator will "shift-left" the value by a number of bits "M". That way if you encode your signals in a way that carrier bits will not add-up on the wire, you can then decode them back by "shift-right" and "AND" mask again.
It will cut down on a range the original value can have to the number of bits "N", but you either way constrained by 32 bits in original (more precisely, 31 bits + 1 for sign). Also you will need to encode each distinct signal by each separate pair of combinators.
There is also a way to encode signals across time and saving updates with S-R latch, but I stop post here.
It will cut down on a range the original value can have to the number of bits "N", but you either way constrained by 32 bits in original (more precisely, 31 bits + 1 for sign). Also you will need to encode each distinct signal by each separate pair of combinators.
There is also a way to encode signals across time and saving updates with S-R latch, but I stop post here.
Кусаки жрут конвейеры - это просто полуфабрикатное болоньезе.
Re: Radar channels
I'd recommend using Schall Virtual Signal mod.
That mod adds A LOT of new virtual signals.
Just feed the signal you want to 'modulate' through an Arithmetic combinator set to * 1, then `demodulate` it on the consuming side with another Arithmetic * 1.
That mod adds A LOT of new virtual signals.
Just feed the signal you want to 'modulate' through an Arithmetic combinator set to * 1, then `demodulate` it on the consuming side with another Arithmetic * 1.
-
- Burner Inserter
- Posts: 18
- Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2024 4:33 am
- Contact:
Re: Radar channels
+1
When I only get 2 radar channels (2 wires), it makes me value them so highly that it makes me not use the feature at all. Because that is all you get for the surface, and if I use it for one thing, then I can’t add anything more without having the signals all mixed up!
imo, it would work best like in AAI signal transmission, where the radar has a string to identify separate channels. Then it would make more sense to have interplanetary/interstellar radar connections.
When I only get 2 radar channels (2 wires), it makes me value them so highly that it makes me not use the feature at all. Because that is all you get for the surface, and if I use it for one thing, then I can’t add anything more without having the signals all mixed up!
imo, it would work best like in AAI signal transmission, where the radar has a string to identify separate channels. Then it would make more sense to have interplanetary/interstellar radar connections.
Re: Radar channels
I believe that multi channel radar would be something for this mode. I really like the mod and having a smaller receiving dish (=> the radar) would be really nice.
Re: Radar channels
While neat, this takes a lot of combinators to implement - and several Ticks of delay to un/pack signals from each Bit. I had to scrap my implementation after chasing down too many Timing and Off-by-One errors....R060 wrote: Sun Jan 19, 2025 5:29 pm You can use an encoding technique to encode your input signal into 32 bits of the carrier signal. First arithmetic combinator will take your input signal and mask (truncate) it with "AND" operation by a constant "2^N - 1", where "N" is a number of bits you want to transmit. Second arithmetic combinator will "shift-left" the value by a number of bits "M". That way if you encode your signals in a way that carrier bits will not add-up on the wire, you can then decode them back by "shift-right" and "AND" mask again.
It will cut down on a range the original value can have to the number of bits "N", but you either way constrained by 32 bits in original (more precisely, 31 bits + 1 for sign). Also you will need to encode each distinct signal by each separate pair of combinators.
There is also a way to encode signals across time and saving updates with S-R latch, but I stop post here.
Instead, try using the Quality dots! You can have up to 10 channels (one per Level * Color). The Selector Combinator has special modes to Transfer or Filter signals based upon these flags, with minimal Lag.
-
- Long Handed Inserter
- Posts: 86
- Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2024 11:00 pm
- Contact:
Re: Radar channels
here is a simple way of transmitting data on different channel using radar: 112723eugenekay wrote: Thu Apr 03, 2025 4:11 pm While neat, this takes a lot of combinators to implement - and several Ticks of delay to un/pack signals from each Bit. I had to scrap my implementation after chasing down too many Timing and Off-by-One errors....