[2.0.11] Circuit signal ALL ignores quality items

Bugs that are actually features.
apriori
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 8:13 pm
Contact:

[2.0.11] Circuit signal ALL ignores quality items

Post by apriori »

My situation:
427520_12.jpg
427520_12.jpg (86.62 KiB) Viewed 737 times
Also found as seeming related: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=116995&p=623925&hil ... ts#p623925
Last edited by apriori on Sun Oct 27, 2024 7:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Any code or mods posted by me are WTFPL, unless otherwise copyrights are specified.
Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 14896
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [2.0.11] Circuitry ignores quality items

Post by Rseding91 »

Thanks for the report. Can you please provide a save file showing this issue?
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.
computeraddict
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 250
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2023 6:44 am
Contact:

Re: [2.0.11] Circuit signal ALL ignores quality items

Post by computeraddict »

Pretty sure this isn't a bug as the higher quality items are their own signals. 490 common + 7 uncommon + 3 rare still satisfies "everything < 500" because all individual signals are <500.

I'm actually taking advantage of this in my game right now to limit common output without having to restrict chest slots.
apriori
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 8:13 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.0.11] Circuit signal ALL ignores quality items

Post by apriori »

Yup. In attachment.
See both yellow chests with bots (next to relevant assemblers) near the player.
Attachments
_autosave3.zip
(10.87 MiB) Downloaded 14 times
Any code or mods posted by me are WTFPL, unless otherwise copyrights are specified.
User avatar
boskid
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3462
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.0.11] Circuit signal ALL ignores quality items

Post by boskid »

I am not seeing any bugs here. Signals of different quality are different signals and "everything" wildcard asks if all signals separately obey the condition.
apriori
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 8:13 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.0.11] Circuit signal ALL ignores quality items

Post by apriori »

Thanks for the feedback.
Well, then I'll take it into account when planning circuitry.
Then is there a wildcard for "sum of all signals"?
Or "sum of all signals for the item regardless its quiality".
Any code or mods posted by me are WTFPL, unless otherwise copyrights are specified.
mmmPI
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3982
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 6:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.0.11] Circuit signal ALL ignores quality items

Post by mmmPI »

apriori wrote: Sun Oct 27, 2024 7:59 pm Then is there a wildcard for "sum of all signals"?
Or "sum of all signals for the item regardless its quiality".
You can use an arithmetic combinator to do "each" + 0 => "signal A", and the ouput will be "signal A" with as value the sum of all signals.
Kasseopey2
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 6:48 am
Contact:

Re: [2.0.11] Circuit signal ALL ignores quality items

Post by Kasseopey2 »

I was about to create a bug report, but I found this post
This situation is really a problem.
In the original game, I was able to make a simple ore loading balancer, calculating the "arithmetic mean" between all chests.

Code: Select all

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
But now it doesn't work, since "ALL" ignores "quality" ore.

There are 48 chests in the scheme and putting a combinator for each is not an option.
If this is not a bug - what are the possible options? (except combinators)

Or maybe the developers will have the opportunity to somehow solve this?
Maybe a new "filter"?
Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 14896
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [2.0.11] Circuit signal ALL ignores quality items

Post by Rseding91 »

Kasseopey2 wrote: Mon Oct 28, 2024 8:58 pm If this is not a bug - what are the possible options? (except combinators)
Options:

* Disable space-age and play base game
* Use combinators.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.
User avatar
Brathahn
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 1:50 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.0.11] Circuit signal ALL ignores quality items

Post by Brathahn »

Kasseopey2 wrote: Mon Oct 28, 2024 8:58 pm I was about to create a bug report, but I found this post
This situation is really a problem.
In the original game, I was able to make a simple ore loading balancer, calculating the "arithmetic mean" between all chests.

Code: Select all

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
But now it doesn't work, since "ALL" ignores "quality" ore.

There are 48 chests in the scheme and putting a combinator for each is not an option.
If this is not a bug - what are the possible options? (except combinators)

Or maybe the developers will have the opportunity to somehow solve this?
Maybe a new "filter"?

you have to use combinators.
with arithmetic combinators you sum up all the signals to "A" or whatever signal you like and work from there
i use this design in mixed ore train stations and it always works like a charm

2024-10-28 22_35_04-Window.png
2024-10-28 22_35_04-Window.png (945.86 KiB) Viewed 596 times
computeraddict
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 250
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2023 6:44 am
Contact:

Re: [2.0.11] Circuit signal ALL ignores quality items

Post by computeraddict »

Kasseopey2 wrote: Mon Oct 28, 2024 8:58 pm I was about to create a bug report, but I found this post
This situation is really a problem.
In the original game, I was able to make a simple ore loading balancer, calculating the "arithmetic mean" between all chests.

Code: Select all

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
But now it doesn't work, since "ALL" ignores "quality" ore.

There are 48 chests in the scheme and putting a combinator for each is not an option.
If this is not a bug - what are the possible options? (except combinators)

Or maybe the developers will have the opportunity to somehow solve this?
Maybe a new "filter"?
Even accounting for the quantity of quality ore like this, the traditional approach will have problems handling different types of items as if they are the same.
Kasseopey2
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 6:48 am
Contact:

Re: [2.0.11] Circuit signal ALL ignores quality items

Post by Kasseopey2 »

Brathahn wrote: Mon Oct 28, 2024 9:37 pm
you have to use combinators.
with arithmetic combinators you sum up all the signals to "A ...
I understand how to do this with combinators.
The point is that what used to be solved by 3 combinators will now require 51 combinators
computeraddict
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 250
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2023 6:44 am
Contact:

Re: [2.0.11] Circuit signal ALL ignores quality items

Post by computeraddict »

Kasseopey2 wrote: Mon Oct 28, 2024 9:46 pm
Brathahn wrote: Mon Oct 28, 2024 9:37 pm
you have to use combinators.
with arithmetic combinators you sum up all the signals to "A ...
I understand how to do this with combinators.
The point is that what used to be solved by 3 combinators will now require 51 combinators
How do you deal with an inserter grabbing common ore, stalling because there's no room, and then not grabbing the uncommon ore that it could load instead? Trying to force a mono item system to work for mixed items is just going to cause you pain even if the circuits worked how you want them to.
Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 9739
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.0.11] Circuit signal ALL ignores quality items

Post by Loewchen »

Open a gameplay help topic if you want to discuss this further.
Post Reply

Return to “Not a bug”