Compact 4.8 GW Nuclear Reactor

Power Plants, Energy Storage and Reliable Energy Supply. All about efficient energy production. Turning parts of your factory off. Reliable and self-repairing energy.
Feltcherab
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Compact 4.8 GW Nuclear Reactor

Post by Feltcherab »

Super! I'm deploying it immediately!

Although for my taste there is a lot of unnecessary items, like walls, concrete and lasers, so laying it down will take a while. But the design looks so nice, it's worth the wait!

Your efforts are very much appreciated!!

Feltcherab
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Compact 4.8 GW Nuclear Reactor

Post by Feltcherab »

Super! I've deployed it immediately yesterday evening!

For my taste, there is a lot of unnecessary items, like walls, concrete and lasers. Specifically the concrete is a huge load, like 6 cargowagons full of concrete :D It's almost worth while to setup it's own small concrete factory locally. So laying it down will take a while, but the design looks so nice, it's worth the wait!

An additional point I had to consider is the location, due to my personal map settings the lakes are rather small and plentiful. I placed the plant between two lakes, one above and one below to make sure enough water can be fed into this beast.

I really appreciate this design!!

vanatteveldt
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 930
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 11:44 am
Contact:

Re: Compact 4.8 GW Nuclear Reactor

Post by vanatteveldt »

if you open the blueprint and (right?) click on the walls, concrete etc in the top overview they are all removed from the print

User avatar
Ranger_Aurelien
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 1:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Compact 4.8 GW Nuclear Reactor

Post by Ranger_Aurelien »

Lisp Wizard wrote:
Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:33 pm
I finally found enough time to create a new version of the reactor. As usual, feedback is most welcome. Have fun!
A suggestion for the next print version: please include landfill tiles under so we can paste it as a new island exact size as intended with the dozens of pipes at the sides... (or over small water features in the center).


(I do know about waterfill mods so we can create water as needed, but the above is more compatible with vanilla)

Thanks!
-
Ranger Aurelien
"Knowledge Brings Fear" -- Motto of Mars University, Futurama

vanatteveldt
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 930
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 11:44 am
Contact:

Re: Compact 4.8 GW Nuclear Reactor

Post by vanatteveldt »

There's a mod that adds landfill to all tiles under a blueprint, quite useful for situations like this!

User avatar
Nosferatu
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Compact 4.8 GW Nuclear Reactor

Post by Nosferatu »

Thanks. This reactor has powered my base for more than 200 hours now ;)

However now that I'm running it at full capacity I noticed a glitch with the reactor feeding.
Once in a while a reactor misses it's fuel intake.

I monitored the combinator that calculates the numbers of reactors - it constantly outputs 32 so all should be running.
Eventually I noticed that the command for intake is only issued for one tick. I changed that to 5 ticks and it looks better now.
(Combinator is located on the right side next to the radar - the bottom one - changed from C=0 to C<5)

Will monitor the situation and also try to test it again when it is no longer running on fuel load ;)

User avatar
SeigneurAo
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 11:13 am
Contact:

Re: Compact 4.8 GW Nuclear Reactor

Post by SeigneurAo »

Nosferatu wrote:
Sat Nov 14, 2020 6:41 pm
Thanks. This reactor has powered my base for more than 200 hours now ;)

However now that I'm running it at full capacity I noticed a glitch with the reactor feeding.
Once in a while a reactor misses it's fuel intake.

I monitored the combinator that calculates the numbers of reactors - it constantly outputs 32 so all should be running.
Eventually I noticed that the command for intake is only issued for one tick. I changed that to 5 ticks and it looks better now.
(Combinator is located on the right side next to the radar - the bottom one - changed from C=0 to C<5)

Will monitor the situation and also try to test it again when it is no longer running on fuel load ;)
Could you please elaborate regarding which combinator is to change ?
Thanks in advance !

User avatar
Nosferatu
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Compact 4.8 GW Nuclear Reactor

Post by Nosferatu »

Clipboard04.png
Clipboard04.png (1.77 MiB) Viewed 210 times
The one in the yellow brackets. And as you can see on the screenshot I changed it to C < 20 now.

I think I will revisit this later.
First:
I will try to remove dependence on the logistic system working accurately.
Instead I will try to control the inserters that feed the reactors directly.
This should also eliminate the 32 decider combinators that control the requester chests.

Second:
I will try to power the rest of the combinators by an independent power supply.
This should guard the reactor against malfunction on an deep brownout or complete loss of power.

User avatar
SeigneurAo
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 11:13 am
Contact:

Re: Compact 4.8 GW Nuclear Reactor

Post by SeigneurAo »

Ok this explains why I was confused.
In your first post, you mentioned that the signal was only issued for 1 tick, and that you changed from C=0 to C<5.
But in my setup (fresh blueprint install), this combinator checks C<=32, so I'm unsure if I should set it to C<20 as per your screenshot...

User avatar
Nosferatu
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Compact 4.8 GW Nuclear Reactor

Post by Nosferatu »

Oh! My reactors blueprint says V1.1 - the newest one is V1.4
I didn't update the control systems on my nuclear reactor :shock:

Nope. Don't change anything.

User avatar
SeigneurAo
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 11:13 am
Contact:

Re: Compact 4.8 GW Nuclear Reactor

Post by SeigneurAo »

Nosferatu wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 11:12 am
Oh! My reactors blueprint says V1.1 - the newest one is V1.4
I didn't update the control systems on my nuclear reactor :shock:

Nope. Don't change anything.
This explains that ^^
Thanks for your input nonetheless, it made me have a closer look at the whole circuitry, so that's not lost at all !

Post Reply

Return to “Energy Production”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users