[0.17.79] Placing train signal over its ghost does not adopt its direction

Things that we don't consider worth fixing at this moment.
Post Reply
Blacky007
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

[0.17.79] Placing train signal over its ghost does not adopt its direction

Post by Blacky007 »

I was building with ghost planer and building the signal manualy
but in this case the planer preselected the wrong signal position that hasn't even be planed by ghost.
railghost-error0.png
railghost-error0.png (1.64 MiB) Viewed 704 times
railghost-error1.png
railghost-error1.png (2.19 MiB) Viewed 704 times
is this as designet or wrong order of preselection?

PyroFire
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2016 8:18 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17.79] wrong preselection on placeing ghost signals

Post by PyroFire »

plz give blueprint string

Blacky007
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.79] wrong preselection on placeing ghost signals

Post by Blacky007 »

BP doesn't matter

build a strait rail with a signal - create a ghost siderail with the two signals like in picture 1
try to build the chainsignal by hand.

Squelch
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 157
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2016 5:31 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.79] wrong preselection on placeing ghost signals

Post by Squelch »

I believe this is by design.

The chain signal that the arrow points to is in a location that it has two valid orientations. If you look closely, its orientation shows it will connect to the ghosted branch, and not the existing track. The ghost track does not yet have a direction defined, so is therefore treated as bidirectional - the other ghost rail signal is not treated as a valid signal yet, so therefore has not constrained the direction of travel.

This happens often where two tracks intersect at an angle. Especially if one is bidirectional, or not yet constrained by existing signals. Use the rotate button to force the chain signal to attach to the correct track in this case.

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5821
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.79] wrong preselection on placeing ghost signals

Post by Loewchen »

Can you confirm, that what you consider the bug is, that when attempting to place the non ghost signal entity on the ghost signal its direction is not the same as the ghosts direction?

Blacky007
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.79] wrong preselection on placeing ghost signals

Post by Blacky007 »

Loewchen wrote:
Sun Dec 29, 2019 5:30 pm
Can you confirm, that what you consider the bug is, that when attempting to place the non ghost signal entity on the ghost signal its direction is not the same as the ghosts direction?
yes it is not the ghost direktion when you try to build the Signal - it creates a signal on the ghost track from the south-west - you need to choose the second option with rotating the signal

Blacky007
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.79] Placing train signal over its ghost does not adopt its direction

Post by Blacky007 »

the same bug happens on rail tracks that are crossing under 90 degres north-south // east-west
railghost-error2.png
railghost-error2.png (415.82 KiB) Viewed 555 times

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 4212
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.79] Placing train signal over its ghost does not adopt its direction

Post by Klonan »

I don't really see a major problem here

User avatar
planetmaker
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 179
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:30 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17.79] Placing train signal over its ghost does not adopt its direction

Post by planetmaker »

I think this is a general feature of "Manually you can place stuff as you wish and it generally ignores blueprints in the location". The same applies to rails and signals... so you have to rotate them appropriately before placing them.

Overall this behaviour is more advantegous than disadvantegous :)

mrvn
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 4045
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17.79] Placing train signal over its ghost does not adopt its direction

Post by mrvn »

planetmaker wrote:
Mon Feb 03, 2020 9:36 am
I think this is a general feature of "Manually you can place stuff as you wish and it generally ignores blueprints in the location". The same applies to rails and signals... so you have to rotate them appropriately before placing them.

Overall this behaviour is more advantegous than disadvantegous :)
I think the default rotation should be the one of the ghost if there is one though.

Squelch
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 157
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2016 5:31 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.79] Placing train signal over its ghost does not adopt its direction

Post by Squelch »

mrvn wrote:
Mon Feb 03, 2020 10:37 am
planetmaker wrote:
Mon Feb 03, 2020 9:36 am
I think this is a general feature of "Manually you can place stuff as you wish and it generally ignores blueprints in the location". The same applies to rails and signals... so you have to rotate them appropriately before placing them.

Overall this behaviour is more advantegous than disadvantegous :)
I think the default rotation should be the one of the ghost if there is one though.
This report has been on my mind since it was posted, and only now do I see how there might be some confusion in assuming that the ghost's rotation would be assumed. Therefore, I feel it might be prudent to clarify how the process works for anyone else having a similar problem with manual building over ghosts and blueprints.

If the item in hand is taken directly from your inventory or item shortcut used, and placed over the ghosted entity. it will adopt the default rotation for that item. However, if the dropper/picker/pipette (Q by default on English layout KB's) is used to bring the item to hand while hovering over the ghost, only then will the item will adopt the ghost's rotation.

valneq
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 242
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 7:43 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17.79] Placing train signal over its ghost does not adopt its direction

Post by valneq »

Squelch wrote:
Mon Feb 17, 2020 11:09 pm
If the item in hand is taken directly from your inventory or item shortcut used, and placed over the ghosted entity. it will adopt the default rotation for that item. However, if the dropper/picker/pipette (Q by default on English layout KB's) is used to bring the item to hand while hovering over the ghost, only then will the item will adopt the ghost's rotation.
But this is also exactly the behavior of inserters, miners, refineries and chemplants. Why would anyone assume that especially rail signals behave differently in that regard?

Squelch
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 157
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2016 5:31 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.79] Placing train signal over its ghost does not adopt its direction

Post by Squelch »

valneq wrote:
Tue Feb 18, 2020 3:47 am
Squelch wrote:
Mon Feb 17, 2020 11:09 pm
If the item in hand is taken directly from your inventory or item shortcut used, and placed over the ghosted entity. it will adopt the default rotation for that item. However, if the dropper/picker/pipette (Q by default on English layout KB's) is used to bring the item to hand while hovering over the ghost, only then will the item will adopt the ghost's rotation.
But this is also exactly the behavior of inserters, miners, refineries and chemplants. Why would anyone assume that especially rail signals behave differently in that regard?
It seems to be the most plausible reason for the bug report.

@Blacky007 can probably confirm or otherwise if this is the case.

Blacky007
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.79] Placing train signal over its ghost does not adopt its direction

Post by Blacky007 »

why is this moved to Won't fix?
the signal is taking the orientation from the ghost rail on the opposide direction where no signal is ghostprinted.
this signals makes NO SENCE in this situation!

for me this is clearly a bug that need to be fixed

ptx0
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 238
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 7:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.79] Placing train signal over its ghost does not adopt its direction

Post by ptx0 »

use Ghost Placer Express mod, problem solved.

Post Reply

Return to “Won't fix.”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users