Turbines not working. Why?

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Post Reply
Aardwolf
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:05 pm
Contact:

Turbines not working. Why?

Post by Aardwolf » Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:57 pm

See the screenshot:

4 turbines are working, but 4 turbines to the right are not working.

They also don't work at night, and there is too little power production then (too little power available at night), so it's not due to not consuming enough electricity.

Is it the pipes (which are for walkthrough-ability)? Does steam not go through pipes and require the turbines to all touch?

Or what could be wrong with them?

Thanks
Attachments
turbinesnotworking.png
turbinesnotworking.png (6.88 MiB) Viewed 454 times

User avatar
themadgunman
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 5:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Turbines not working. Why?

Post by themadgunman » Tue Mar 05, 2019 10:15 pm

Your not generating enough steam to actually power the right turbines, 1 heat exchanger only provides enough steam for about 1.8 turbines, you can check https://wiki.factorio.com/Tutorial:Nuclear_power for how many exchangers/turbines per reactor you need :)

Aardwolf
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Turbines not working. Why?

Post by Aardwolf » Tue Mar 05, 2019 11:27 pm

Thanks for that! I improved the layout now, 4 heat exchangers per reactor with two turbines for each heat exchanger. Much more power :)

bobucles
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1578
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Turbines not working. Why?

Post by bobucles » Wed Mar 06, 2019 6:48 pm

Reactors ALSO have a special bonus for sitting next to each other. A plain reactor will generate 40MW of power. However those two reactors will boost each other by adding another 100% output! So:
- 1 reactor : 40MW
- 1x2 reactor: (40 MW x 2) + 100% each => 160MW
- 2x2 reactor: (40 MW x 4) + 200% each => 480MW

Aardwolf
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Turbines not working. Why?

Post by Aardwolf » Thu Mar 07, 2019 4:08 pm

Great, so that means I can add 4 more heat exchangers per reactor in my setup (8 heat exchangers per reactor, 16 turbines per reactor, for 1x2 reactors), and if I later upgrade to 2x2 reactor, I should be able to get 12 heat exchangers per reactor (for a total of 48), correct?

With so much power, one never needs the green modules anymore :D

User avatar
themadgunman
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 5:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Turbines not working. Why?

Post by themadgunman » Thu Mar 07, 2019 7:44 pm

Yes, a 2x2 reactor setup (4 reactors) will handle 48 heat exchangers and 83 turbines for a total power of just under 500MW, remember when designing your setup that a pipe can only handle so much steam throughput though, i think its about 24 turbines per pipe. Hope you have plenty of Kovarex enrichment going on ;)

Serenity
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 467
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 6:16 am
Contact:

Re: Turbines not working. Why?

Post by Serenity » Fri Mar 08, 2019 12:35 am

One offshore pump produces 1200 water/s and a turbine consumes 60 steam/s. So 1 pump, 12 heat exchangers and 20 turbines work very well. For large scale plants with a long double row of reactors you can place these in a single row

One heat exchanger consumes 10MW. That tells you the reactor : exchanger ratio.

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users