[Mod Request] auto fishing station

This is the place to request new mods or give ideas about what could be done.
Post Reply
rebirth
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 5:03 pm
Contact:

[Mod Request] auto fishing station

Post by rebirth »

I am currently playing with the hardcorio mod, and from playing with this, I have realized there is one thing you can not automate (I think?), and that is the part where you collect the fish. For that, it would be great if there was a mod that was able to collect the fish when they are grown up, to fully automate this process. Or maybe there is already a mod that can do this, but I don't know... ;)

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7055
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [Mod Request] auto fishing station

Post by bobingabout »

I think inserters can grab fish. Just put one on the waters edge with the pickup location in the water, and when a fish swims into that area the inserter will grab the fish.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 2436
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:20 am
Contact:

Re: [Mod Request] auto fishing station

Post by Bilka »

bobingabout wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 9:10 am
I think inserters can grab fish. Just put one on the waters edge with the pickup location in the water, and when a fish swims into that area the inserter will grab the fish.
Someone trolled you, what you describe is not possible.
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

rebirth
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: [Mod Request] auto fishing station

Post by rebirth »

bobingabout wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 9:10 am
I think inserters can grab fish. Just put one on the waters edge with the pickup location in the water, and when a fish swims into that area the inserter will grab the fish.
I actually tried this a while ago, but it didn't work. I also tried it with filter inserter, bus as Bilka says, it just doesn't work

User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2534
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [Mod Request] auto fishing station

Post by darkfrei »

Why not just deconstruct fish with bots?

But this mod are you looking for: viewtopic.php?t=16618

rebirth
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: [Mod Request] auto fishing station

Post by rebirth »

darkfrei wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 9:32 am
Why not just deconstruct fish with bots?

But this mod are you looking for: viewtopic.php?t=16618
That is indeed what I am looking for, but I think it's not for 0.16, I think? Because I don't find it when I search the mod database.
The deconstruction is possible, but I don't think I can automate it, or can I?

User avatar
Optera
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2479
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 6:41 am
Contact:

Re: [Mod Request] auto fishing station

Post by Optera »

Here's two slightly more up to date mods that add fishing automation.
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/folk-aquarium
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/VersepellesAquaFarm015

GrumpyJoe
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 338
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2018 7:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [Mod Request] auto fishing station

Post by GrumpyJoe »

rebirth wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 9:38 am

The deconstruction is possible, but I don't think I can automate it, or can I?
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/recursive-blueprints
could use a decon plan with only fish, or whatever you setup

the problem would be to either detect if any fish are about, to start a deconstruction job
or to setup an appropriate timer, if fish can respawn, which i wouldn´t know (wiki doesn´t tell)

And ofc covering huge sections of water with a constrution zone of roboports.
I guess you´d need something like https://mods.factorio.com/mod/boblogistics if you are going for bigger water sections

rebirth
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: [Mod Request] auto fishing station

Post by rebirth »

I just tested the suggestion from Optera, but unfortunately it did not work out.
There's an additional problem, because the fish aren't the standard factorio fish, it seems :oops:
Also, there are 3 kinds of fish in the hardcorio mod, tiny fish, small fish, and normal fish. But the normal fish aren't the normal fish from the game, I guess.
So I think it's going to be very difficult to find something that works with i.
But I'll have a look at GrumpyJoe's idea, to see if I can accomplish something with it.

Thank you for the suggestions and idea's everybody, appreciate it!

User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2534
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [Mod Request] auto fishing station

Post by darkfrei »

I can make new universal fishing-inserter, that has one filter and it looks for that item.

rebirth
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: [Mod Request] auto fishing station

Post by rebirth »

darkfrei wrote:
Fri Feb 15, 2019 11:21 am
I can make new universal fishing-inserter, that has one filter and it looks for that item.
That would be fantastic darkfrei!
It would great to be able to also automate that part :D

User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2534
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [Mod Request] auto fishing station

Post by darkfrei »

rebirth wrote:
Fri Feb 15, 2019 11:36 am
darkfrei wrote:
Fri Feb 15, 2019 11:21 am
I can make new universal fishing-inserter, that has one filter and it looks for that item.
That would be fantastic darkfrei!
It would great to be able to also automate that part :D
Try this one
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/FishCatcher
Attachments
2019-02-16 23_54_37-Factorio 0.16.51.png
2019-02-16 23_54_37-Factorio 0.16.51.png (88.75 KiB) Viewed 1022 times

rebirth
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: [Mod Request] auto fishing station

Post by rebirth »

Hello darkfrei,

I just tested it, and he does take the fish out. Which is already great!
But he takes out all fish, the tiny and small fish also, which are supposed to stay in the water untill they are full grown and are fish.
Is there a possibility to add some kind of filter to specify which kind of fish it has to take?

Thanks for your efforts! :D

User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2534
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [Mod Request] auto fishing station

Post by darkfrei »

rebirth wrote:
Sun Feb 17, 2019 2:18 am
Hello darkfrei,

I just tested it, and he does take the fish out. Which is already great!
But he takes out all fish, the tiny and small fish also, which are supposed to stay in the water untill they are full grown and are fish.
Is there a possibility to add some kind of filter to specify which kind of fish it has to take?

Thanks for your efforts! :D
Added own entity with filter; if your target item will be fount in the fish, then Fish Catcher will catch that fish.
Attachments
2019-02-17 12_58_51-Factorio 0.16.51.png
2019-02-17 12_58_51-Factorio 0.16.51.png (195.76 KiB) Viewed 997 times
2019-02-17 13_00_21-Factorio 0.16.51.png
2019-02-17 13_00_21-Factorio 0.16.51.png (283.86 KiB) Viewed 997 times

rebirth
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: [Mod Request] auto fishing station

Post by rebirth »

Fantastic!
This was completely what I was looking for.
Great job darkfrei, thank you very much!

User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2534
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [Mod Request] auto fishing station

Post by darkfrei »

Is it already done in vanilla?

User avatar
MrBadDragon
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 3:33 am
Contact:

Re: [Mod Request] auto fishing station

Post by MrBadDragon »

Can confirm that it works in vanilla. I accidentally left an inserter hanging over the water when I ran out of landfill. Came back and finished my blueprint only to find that that inserter was not working because it was holding a fish!

mmmPI
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 6:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [Mod Request] auto fishing station

Post by mmmPI »

rebirth wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 9:28 am
bobingabout wrote:
Thu Feb 14, 2019 9:10 am
I think inserters can grab fish. Just put one on the waters edge with the pickup location in the water, and when a fish swims into that area the inserter will grab the fish.
I actually tried this a while ago, but it didn't work. I also tried it with filter inserter, bus as Bilka says, it just doesn't work
MrBadDragon wrote:
Wed Jan 29, 2020 12:36 am
Can confirm that it works in vanilla. I accidentally left an inserter hanging over the water when I ran out of landfill. Came back and finished my blueprint only to find that that inserter was not working because it was holding a fish!
I had the same experience as MrBadDragon this week with 0.18 experimental . I didn't understand why some furnaces weren't functionning after i build a thing using landfill, and it happens that some inserters had caught some fish before i finished the build , and they were trying to put them into furnaces and i had like 3 or 4 stuck with some fish grabbed.
I was confused at first but then i remember this profile picture of a famous wizard :
file.gif
file.gif (113.09 KiB) Viewed 273 times
(you need to be patient) .

User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2534
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [Mod Request] auto fishing station

Post by darkfrei »

Here must be the next easteregg: hidden recipe for backed fish. The player will try it, the same as it was expected for
click this plus

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Requests For Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users