[0.12.x][v0.12.10] Bob's Logistics mod

Some mods, made by Bob. Basically streaks every Factroio-area.

Moderator: bobingabout

What should go where?

Poll ended at Sat Jul 16, 2016 7:41 pm

Add everything to the logistics mod
12
40%
Everything inserter related in the new inserters mod
9
30%
Only the new adjustment functionallity in the inserters mod
9
30%
 
Total votes: 30

Laevras
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 7:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x][v0.12.7] Bob's Logistics mod

Post by Laevras »

Ok thx for the informations, i'll look on the others forum's mods too.

Here is a list of my mods installed as you ask

air-filtering_0.3.1
bobassembly_0.12.7
bobconfig_0.12.2
bobelectronics_0.12.6
bobenemies_0.12.6
boblibrary_0.12.3
bobmining_0.12.3
bobmodules_0.12.9
bobores_0.12.7
bobplates_0.12.10
bobpower_0.12.6
bobtech_0.12.4
bobwarfare_0.12.9
Crafted Artifacts_1.2.2
hardCrafting_0.3.3
marathon_1.0.0 (disabled yesterday for a kick advance in tech tree to check my translations)
Treefarm-Lite_0.3.2
WaiTex_1.0.0

pieppiep
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 8:52 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x][v0.12.7] Bob's Logistics mod

Post by pieppiep »

I've found the problem, it's in the HardCrafting mod.

The cargo-wagon-2 has an inventory_size = 45 that gets divided by 2 in the HardCrafting mod.
This results in a non integer value.

The fix for now is to extract the HardCrafting mod and edit the file in the folder prototypes with the name easier-but-more-trains.lua

Replace

-- enforce Smaller inventory for trains
for name,table in pairs(data.raw["cargo-wagon"]) do
table.inventory_size = table.inventory_size / 2
table.weight = table.weight / 2
end

with

-- enforce Smaller inventory for trains
for name,table in pairs(data.raw["cargo-wagon"]) do
table.inventory_size = math.ceil(table.inventory_size / 2)
table.weight = math.ceil(table.weight / 2)
end

Save the file.
I removed the zip file also, I don't know what factorio does if it finds a mod in both folder and zip form.

I'll post this info also in the HardCrafting thread.

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x][v0.12.7] Bob's Logistics mod

Post by bobingabout »

pieppiep wrote: I removed the zip file also, I don't know what factorio does if it finds a mod in both folder and zip form.
it crashs out, with a duplicate mod error message.
pieppiep wrote:I'll post this info also in the HardCrafting thread.
good idea, I'd call it a coding oversight. The fact that Lua assumes all numbers are floats doesn't help.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

Laevras
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 7:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x][v0.12.7] Bob's Logistics mod

Post by Laevras »

Thx a lot guys, just modified like you said, works like a charm :)

pieppiep
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 8:52 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x][v0.12.7] Bob's Logistics mod

Post by pieppiep »

Laevras wrote:Thx a lot guys, just modified like you said, works like a charm :)
The author of HardCrafting made an update, 0.3.7 that works correctly.

Randonx
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 5:31 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x][v0.12.7] Bob's Logistics mod

Post by Randonx »

Hello people. First post here in the Factorio forums.

Bob, this work you've undertaken is pretty damn amazing. I fell in love with this game the first 5 minutes of playing it, and I thought it was the tits. Until I started playing with your mods. Now I love the game even more, and hate it in equal quantities.

I have a question about Logistics robots. Is there a concise way to upgrade my Logistics robots that are currently in the field? So far I've been playing bug catcher and just grabbing the ones that fly by me in order to put them into an assembler to upgrade them to the next tier. Is there a better way to do this?

User avatar
Arch666Angel
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1636
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 11:52 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x][v0.12.7] Bob's Logistics mod

Post by Arch666Angel »

Smart inserter pulling out old bots from the roboports into a provider chest

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x][v0.12.7] Bob's Logistics mod

Post by bobingabout »

Randonx wrote:Is there a concise way to upgrade my Logistics robots that are currently in the field?
There is no guaranteed easy way to do it. The best way is to basically do what was previously suggested, use a smart inserter to remove old bots from a roboport.

the only advice I can give on top of that is to examine your robot paths, you'll find that due to the nature of robots being chosen based on proximity from the source item, and then just docking at the nearest roboport to the destination, you would be able to find a likely destination roboport, and take from there, perhaps even empty the roboport entirely to encourage more to come here, and manually put them back in the network somewhere else.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

Supercheese
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2015 7:40 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x][v0.12.7] Bob's Logistics mod

Post by Supercheese »

You can also just create one central robo-depot with a bunch of robochests, and only use zone expanders everywhere else, so that you will always know where your bots dock, without having to hunt all over for them.

Randonx
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 5:31 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x][v0.12.7] Bob's Logistics mod

Post by Randonx »

Thank you for the responses, everybody.

I'll have to give your ideas a shot. I guess sticking a provider chest next to each roboport and then having all of the MK1s delivered to a requester chest will work. ;D Or do it manually, of course. (Ugh)

User avatar
Jackalope_Gaming
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x][v0.12.7] Bob's Logistics mod

Post by Jackalope_Gaming »

The OP forgets to mention you've added Armoured versions of locomotives and cargo wagons in addition to the MK2 and MK3 versions.

Lochar
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x][v0.12.7] Bob's Logistics mod

Post by Lochar »

Bob, what file would I update to turn off the logistics network expander's ability to charge bots?

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x][v0.12.7] Bob's Logistics mod

Post by bobingabout »

There's currently no config option for it, so you'd have to mod my mod.

And I can't tell what the file is from here, but I think it's in prototypes/entities/roboports.lua, or something along those lines. I sometimes use a different file structure.

Keep in mind that only works in version 0.12.31, which is why I haven't done it myself yet.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

User avatar
Arch666Angel
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1636
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 11:52 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x][v0.12.7] Bob's Logistics mod

Post by Arch666Angel »

Lochar wrote:Bob, what file would I update to turn off the logistics network expander's ability to charge bots?
Correct me if I'm wrong but I don't think that there is an option to totally deactivate the charging ability?

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x][v0.12.7] Bob's Logistics mod

Post by bobingabout »

Arch666Angel wrote:Correct me if I'm wrong but I don't think that there is an option to totally deactivate the charging ability?
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=24354
Line 3
FactorioBot wrote:
  • Fixed that modded roboports with no charging slots were still considering as charging candidates. (23289)
It doesn't seem to stop them trying to charge there if they want to actually dock though. It means the LZE can now be made without a charge port, but the Robochest still needs one.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

User avatar
Arch666Angel
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1636
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 11:52 am
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x][v0.12.7] Bob's Logistics mod

Post by Arch666Angel »

bobingabout wrote:
Arch666Angel wrote:Correct me if I'm wrong but I don't think that there is an option to totally deactivate the charging ability?
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=24354
Line 3
FactorioBot wrote:
  • Fixed that modded roboports with no charging slots were still considering as charging candidates. (23289)
It doesn't seem to stop them trying to charge there if they want to actually dock though. It means the LZE can now be made without a charge port, but the Robochest still needs one.
:o AT LAST, now I can make the zone extender puzzle pieces :D

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2634
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x][v0.12.7] Bob's Logistics mod

Post by steinio »

Hello bobingabout,

the fast inserter has a aquivalent called fast near handed inserter, but the aquivalent of the fast long handed inserter
is called fast far handed inserter, which places items near.
Same by the smart inserter and smart far inserter.

Is this intented?

Greetings steinio
Image

Transport Belt Repair Man

View unread Posts

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x][v0.12.7] Bob's Logistics mod

Post by bobingabout »

I understand that it is a bit of a confusing name, I was thinking about renaming them, but not sure what to.
Just think as Far as further than normal.

Basically, I wanted a single word for Long and Near, rather than saying a Near Longhanded inserter.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

User avatar
steinio
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2634
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x][v0.12.7] Bob's Logistics mod

Post by steinio »

Just add a (TM) behind the name and its by design :D
Image

Transport Belt Repair Man

View unread Posts

User avatar
bobingabout
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 7352
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.12.x][v0.12.7] Bob's Logistics mod

Post by bobingabout »

Well, I'll be looking at updating this one shortly, so I'm open to suggestions.
Creator of Bob's mods. Expanding your gameplay since version 0.9.8.
I also have a Patreon.

Post Reply

Return to “Bob's mods”