Page 1 of 3

Version 0.17.2

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:03 pm
by FactorioBot
Notice
The automatic updater was causing errors, so it has been unlisted from the site. Please update through Steam or by downloading the whole game again.
Sorry for the inconvenience and delay it will cause in playing the latest version,
We will work to resolve the updater issues as soon as possible.


Changes
  • Reverted default renderer on Windows to Direct3D on all configurations.
  • All infinite technologies have Space science pack as a pre-requisite.
  • Added textual error message when player tries to clean cursor but it isn't possible as inventory is full.
  • Added /unlock-shortcut-bar console command to unlock all shortcuts at once. This command does not disable achievements.
  • Keyboard shortcut for in-game undo feature will default to Ctrl+W on AZERTY keyboard layouts. (65083)
  • Control settings will revert to defaults when starting the game with pre-0.17.2 config with AZERTY keyboard layout.
Bugfixes
  • Fixed Join Game through Steam Friend would fail to connect to a game with an error saying Steam Networking is disabled.
  • Fixed LuaGameScript::take_technology_screenshot() would crash the game.
  • Fixed a crash when trying to use async-saving when hosting multiplayer games on Windows. (65146)
  • Fixed electric mining drill coverage area visualization was not drawn correctly. (65249)
  • Fixed missing sprites on DirectX on GPUs supporting only feature level 10.0. (65263)
  • Fixed that the GUI would be hidden if the game was saved and loaded while the technology GUI was open. (65274)
  • Fixed a crash related to non gun/weapon items getting into the gun/weapon inventories. (65339)
  • Fixed a crash when bringing up the escape menu in multiplayer while in the middle of using blueprints/deconstruction. (65256)
  • Fixed a crash when mining ghosts built in the latency state. (65361)
  • Fixed every incremental change of sound volume would save the full config file. (65318)
  • Fixed that the category dropdown in the install mods GUI would only work the first time it was used. (65398)
  • Fixed that mod thumbnails in zipped mods wouldn't show in the mods GUI. (65419)
  • Fixed pre-requisites for the first tier of all upgrade technologies so that the required science packs are unlocked first. (viewtopic.php?p=401129)
  • Fixed electric inserter technology description in the tutorial. (viewtopic.php?f=7&t=65229)
  • Fixed that the undo shortcut tooltip didn't reflect latency hiding values and invalid entries filtering.
  • Fixed a desync when deconstructing item request proxies in the latency state. (65420)
  • Fixed crash related to the hand logic and switching controllers. (65330)
  • Fixed a crash when lamp with non-electrical energy source (modded) is viewed in the blueprint preview/tooltip.
  • Fixed that read-only multi-line text boxes wouldn't wrap text. (65413)
  • Fixed that the fast and express loader entity icons had the wrong colors. (65347)
  • Fixed that the autosave interval setting was off by one. (65373)
  • Fixed map preview would not be cleared to black before preview is generated on some PCs. (65423)
  • Fixed that active blueprint in a book was not preserved when using the book directly from the blueprint library. (65258)
  • Fixed that the tutorial specific assembler was shown in the "made in in" row in the crafting queue tooltip. (65447)
  • Fixed that the map type selection changed done by reset or changing the preset didn't update the sliders properly. (65077)
  • Fixed a rare issue with migration of fluid mixing in a modded save. (65137)
  • Fixed that the provided map-gen-settings.example.json contained invalid settings. (65311)
  • Fixed that checking for updates could crash the game. (65264)
  • Solved, that blueprint library link from quickbar appeared as an empty slot when the target blueprint wasn't available anymore and it wasn't possible to assign a new item to it.
  • Fixed PvP scenario error when updating space race frame with no silos present. (65492)
  • Fixed drawing of some wires and wire shadows (65469)
  • Fixed a possibility to mix fluid through fast replacing / upgrading a pipe with underground pipe. (65298)
  • Fixed drawing of some wires and wire shadows. (65469)
  • Fixed crash when opening the map generator preview for the first time with invalid settings. (65434)
Modding
  • Renamed EntityPrototypeFlag "hide-from-bonus-gui" to "hidden" and made it also hide entities from the made in property of recipe tooltips.

Re: Version 0.17.2

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:09 pm
by Sn1gger
Thank you for the prompt fixes

Re: Version 0.17.2

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:11 pm
by TackleMcClean
What does this mean:
  • Reverted default renderer on Windows to Direct3D on all configurations.
Something happened with the rendering?

Re: Version 0.17.2

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:17 pm
by Gergely
FactorioBot wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:03 pm
Changes
  • Added /unlock-shortcut-bar console command to unlock all shortcuts at once. This command does not disable achievements.
Please... PLEASE do the same for the research queue!

Re: Version 0.17.2

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:17 pm
by brunzenstein
Like in 0.17.1 also 0.17.2 Mac version won't auto update but requests endlessly to update - I have to download the game anew from WUBE's website

Re: Version 0.17.2

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:23 pm
by SeaStorm
brunzenstein wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:17 pm
Like in 0.17.1 also 0.17.2 Mac version won't auto update but requests endlessly to update - I have to download the game anew from WUBE's website
Same for me, but on Windows Version.
Its not the installed, but the ZIP Package Version for me

Re: Version 0.17.2

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:27 pm
by VuiMuich
brunzenstein wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:17 pm
Like in 0.17.1 also 0.17.2 Mac version won't auto update but requests endlessly to update - I have to download the game anew from WUBE's website
Hopefully this:
Fixed that checking for updates could crash the game. (65264)

Re: Version 0.17.2

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:27 pm
by ChurchOrganist
brunzenstein wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:17 pm
Like in 0.17.1 also 0.17.2 Mac version won't auto update but requests endlessly to update - I have to download the game anew from WUBE's website
Also happening in Windows 10. I get an error

Code: Select all

Value must be a list or dictionary in property tree at ROOT.update.
Guess something's screwed on the update server??

Re: Version 0.17.2

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:29 pm
by donfussl
you fluid mixing bugfix
Fixed a possibility to mix fluid through fast replacing / upgrading a pipe with underground pipe. (65298)
introduced a new bug. see
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=65586
for image and video

Re: Version 0.17.2

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:30 pm
by fishycat
ChurchOrganist wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:27 pm
brunzenstein wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:17 pm
Like in 0.17.1 also 0.17.2 Mac version won't auto update but requests endlessly to update - I have to download the game anew from WUBE's website
Also happening in Windows 10. I get an error

Code: Select all

Value must be a list or dictionary in property tree at ROOT.update.
Guess something's screwed on the update server??

There is already a bug report, see here

Re: Version 0.17.2

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:39 pm
by myricaulus
Gergely wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:17 pm
Please... PLEASE do the same for the research queue!
I strongly agree. I created a new map and realized afterwards the setting for the queue was reset to "after ...". I actually wanted to try this feature out :-( While its only half an our in, i still don't want to grind the beginning AGAIN for the 1033426th time in my life :-D

Re: Version 0.17.2

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 7:27 pm
by Merssedes
FactorioBot wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:03 pm
We will work to resolve the updater issues as soon as possible.
Does it means in 0.17.2 built-in updater disabled?

Re: Version 0.17.2

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 7:29 pm
by brunzenstein
Merssedes wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 7:27 pm
FactorioBot wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:03 pm
We will work to resolve the updater issues as soon as possible.
Does it means in 0.17.2 built-in updater disabled?
it means that the updater doesn't work - you have to download the whole game anew for the moment to get 0.17.2

Re: Version 0.17.2

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 7:32 pm
by Merssedes
brunzenstein wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 7:29 pm
Merssedes wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 7:27 pm
FactorioBot wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:03 pm
We will work to resolve the updater issues as soon as possible.
Does it means in 0.17.2 built-in updater disabled?
it means that the updater doesn't work - you have to download the whole game anew for the moment to get 0.17.2
Will i have to download 0.17.3 from site too or in 0.17.2 built-in update works correctly?

Re: Version 0.17.2

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 7:38 pm
by Koub
Merssedes wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 7:32 pm
Will i have to download 0.17.3 from site too or in 0.17.2 built-in update works correctly?
We'll know when 0.17.3 is out :)

Re: Version 0.17.2

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 7:53 pm
by exi2163
TackleMcClean wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:11 pm
What does this mean:
  • Reverted default renderer on Windows to Direct3D on all configurations.
Something happened with the rendering?
viewtopic.php?f=182&t=65096

Re: Version 0.17.2

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 10:58 pm
by Bene8493
Is this a bug?
Image

Whenever I try to move the furncaces it makes a copy to that slot. Maybe related to this?
Only compatible results of a furnace are manually placeable in the result slot. (Mainly to avoid confusion of new players)

Re: Version 0.17.2

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 11:13 pm
by Koub
Bene8493 wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 10:58 pm
Whenever I try to move the furncaces it makes a copy to that slot. Maybe related to this?
Only compatible results of a furnace are manually placeable in the result slot. (Mainly to avoid confusion of new players)
Not linked. What this says is "you can not insert into a furnace's output something that can not be made into the furnace".

The behaviour you describe is not a bug, works as intended. If you want to clear a quickbar slot, empty it with mousewheel click (by default).

Re: Version 0.17.2

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 11:16 pm
by Nova
The quickbar at the bottom is no inventory anymore, but just a list of "links" to items in your main inventory. "Moving" the furnaces in there just creates more links to your inventory.

Re: Version 0.17.2

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 11:42 pm
by McDuff
Just want to say that whatever you did here fixed a big performance issue on the Mac version. 17.1 was running really sluggishly and 17.2 fixed it. Just thought I'd mention it as there's nothing in the changenotes that related to that issue, so it was probably a second-order effect of something.