Introducing myself and a mod question

Place to get help with not working mods / modding interface.
nicholas80
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter

Introducing myself and a mod question

Post by nicholas80 »

Hello, hope all is well and everyone is looking forward to the weekend. I have been playing factorio for a while now and I have been looking into building a mod that intruduces a load more vehicles. I am a senior programmer and have been for 20 years so the coding is no issue for me apart from learning where to put stuff ect and I am looking forward to getting started.

Ok for my mod question, as I said I want to build a mod to introduce a load of vehicles and these vehicles will have their own set of parameters like capacity, acceleration, handelling and the last one is my question. In the car or vehicle profile I can't see any fields to do with grip ect. My thought was that I wanted the vehicles to have their own character and driving feel but I can't see how that would be achieved. I'm sure you vetrans will point me to where I need to be.

Although further looking at the documentation I am getting less convinced that a realistic (as much as a top down can be) driving experience may not be possible using the vehicle profile. If that is the case is it possible to hook into some events and get there that was.

Look forward to chatting to you and maybe even collaboration with some of you.

Deadlock989
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Re: Introducing myself and a mod question

Post by Deadlock989 »

nicholas80 wrote:
Fri Nov 13, 2020 5:01 pm
In the car or vehicle profile I can't see any fields to do with grip ect.
Cars inherit friction or friction_force from the abstract vehicle prototype if that's at all close to what you're looking for. As far as I know they are not much more than acceleration/deacceleration modifiers. https://wiki.factorio.com/Prototype/Car