[0.17.74] Possible bug - Cliff gaps

Bugs that are actually features.
Post Reply
Eleenrood
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 2:53 pm
Contact:

[0.17.74] Possible bug - Cliff gaps

Post by Eleenrood »

Attached screenshot.

Basically i can walk between two cliffs (graphics looks like its completely impassable).

Game is modded (alien biomes is possible culprit too) so not sure if this is caused by mod of bug in map generation.

Gap next to player when loaded save:
026 - Space 22 - next bug space.zip
(7.92 MiB) Downloaded 18 times
cliff gap next to save.PNG
cliff gap next to save.PNG (903.57 KiB) Viewed 295 times
Previous pictures
Cliff gap with player in between (+ build validation)
Cliff gap with player in between (+ build validation)
cliff gap.PNG (498.39 KiB) Viewed 382 times
Next to cliff gap
Next to cliff gap
cliff gap2.PNG (322.82 KiB) Viewed 382 times
Last edited by Eleenrood on Sat Nov 16, 2019 9:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.

valneq
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 7:43 am
Contact:

Re: Possible bug - Cliff gaps

Post by valneq »

… to me sounds more like it is caused by squeak through …

Eleenrood
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 2:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Possible bug - Cliff gaps

Post by Eleenrood »

I was hugging the cliff, looking at youtube while running when my char jarred into the gap.
It took me few seconds, but basically i can walk through it consistently with up yo two failed tries to get into the gap.

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5616
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.74] Possible bug - Cliff gaps

Post by Loewchen »

Post the save please.

User avatar
Ranakastrasz
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2041
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:05 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17.74] Possible bug - Cliff gaps

Post by Ranakastrasz »

I had this same issue. Removing squeakthrough fixed it. Ignoring it is also an option, albiet less satisfying.

In any case, list the mods you used. Kinda hard to help otherwise.
My Mods:
Modular Armor Revamp - V16
Large Chests - V16
Agent Orange - V16
Flare - V16
Easy Refineries - V16

valneq
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 7:43 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17.74] Possible bug - Cliff gaps

Post by valneq »

Now that I think of it: There were some weird problems occuring with both alien biomes and squeak through. Maybe this is actually a known issue with that combination.

Eleenrood
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 2:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.74] Possible bug - Cliff gaps

Post by Eleenrood »

Loewchen wrote:
Sat Nov 16, 2019 7:00 pm
Post the save please.
Posted.
valneq wrote:
Sat Nov 16, 2019 9:16 pm
Now that I think of it: There were some weird problems occuring with both alien biomes and squeak through. Maybe this is actually a known issue with that combination.
Not sure what you mean by " squeak through"? If another mod than either it is bundled into one of the ones I have active or I'm not using it. If its an option somewhere, i have no idea if I have it enabled :)

valneq
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 7:43 am
Contact:

Re: [0.17.74] Possible bug - Cliff gaps

Post by valneq »

Squeak Through is a mod:
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/Squeak%20Through

It changes the collision boxes, so that you can walk between solar panels, through pipes, etc.
Many people use it. Since your problem is about collision boxes this is what I was thinking about is happening in your case as well.

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5616
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.74] Possible bug - Cliff gaps

Post by Loewchen »

The gap is not big enough for the vanilla player collision box to pass through.

Eleenrood
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 2:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.17.74] Possible bug - Cliff gaps

Post by Eleenrood »

Loewchen wrote:
Sat Nov 16, 2019 11:46 pm
The gap is not big enough for the vanilla player collision box to pass through.
Thank you for information! Wasn't aware one of mods modified playersize.

Post Reply

Return to “Not a bug”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users