Yellow Inserters are too slow or red ones too fast in 0.17 ?

Place to discuss the game balance, recipes, health, enemies mining etc.
Darkghost
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter

Yellow Inserters are too slow or red ones too fast in 0.17 ?

Post by Darkghost »

Hello Factorians, Hello Devs,

I started playing Factorio very intensive again, after a longer break :mrgreen:

My main issue is, there is a empty gap between yellow and blue inserters:

The most lvl 1 Assembling recipes are produced within 1 sec. ( 0,5 x 0,5 ). However, the yellow inserters can't handle this, they are a bit too slow.
- The Blue insertsers need to much Energy for this job and cost to much. The speed is not needed.
- Building 2 yellow insters is not always possible and is wasting space & ressources.

It turns out, that a Long handed inserter has exactly the right speed, a fair energy consumption, and the resources cost/production effort is also cheap/fair. However, they are not useful in many situations or waste of space. So they don't are a solution.

In addtion, i think its wrong that the Long handed inserter have a speed bonus in addtion to the increased range (in comparison to the low production effort and low energy consumption. ) This makes no sense in comaprison to yellow inserters.

There are two/three possible solutions for this in my opinion.

- Buff the yellow inserter speed, so that it can handle lvl 1 assemblies or add a Red/Green Science research which gives this buff.
or
- Add a new inserter, which has the ressource and energy costs of the red one and increase the costs of the red one a bit.

If this issue is intented to increase the complexity of the Game, please let me know this. Otherwise it would make no sense.

Note:

For a new player or someone coming back, it would be very helpful if there is a speed indication for respective inserters in the Game.
I know that the calculation seem very complex https://wiki.factorio.com/Inserters .