Changing colour of animations

Place to get help with not working mods / modding interface.
danielbrauer
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter

Changing colour of animations

Post by danielbrauer »

Hi, I'm just getting started with modding documentation and I was wondering if someone could point me to where it is defined what an entity looks like?

Specifically, I was inspired by the 0.17 tutorial where a science lab was flashing red. How is this accomplished? Could I make labs flash different colours depending on their recipe?

darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Re: Changing colour of animations

Post by darkfrei »

danielbrauer wrote:
Mon Mar 04, 2019 2:19 pm

Specifically, I was inspired by the 0.17 tutorial where a science lab was flashing red. How is this accomplished? Could I make labs flash different colours depending on their recipe?
LuaRendering.draw_light

Code: Select all

rendering.draw_light(table)
Where table is

table = {sprite = "utility/light_small", color={r = 1, g = 0, b = 0},
      surface = entity.surface,
      target = entity}

danielbrauer
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter

Post by danielbrauer »

Thanks! That seems like it will handle the light effect, and then I can probably use the tint parameter in the animation call to change its colour.

I’ll try these things out.

darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter

Post by darkfrei »

danielbrauer wrote:
Tue Mar 05, 2019 10:34 pm
Thanks! That seems like it will handle the light effect, and then I can probably use the tint parameter in the animation call to change its colour.
See also https://lua-api.factorio.com/latest/Lua ... _animation

danielbrauer
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter

Post by danielbrauer »

Thanks. Looking at the data (the sprite sheets in base/graphics/entity/lab/) it seems I'll have to duplicate and tint the animation in its entirety, since the colour is baked in. Hopefully straightforward enough, though.

danielbrauer
Long Handed Inserter