[MOD 0.2.10] Electric Furnace that actually works

Topics and discussion about specific mods
15Cyndaquil
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:34 pm
Contact:

[MOD 0.2.10] Electric Furnace that actually works

Post by 15Cyndaquil » Thu Mar 14, 2013 8:06 pm

I have created a working electric furnace that "smelts" the ores into the plates

the crafting recipe is 1 stone furnace, 9 iron plates, 5 iron gear wheels, and 3 electronic circuits

no bugs yet found
15Cyndaquil's electric furnace mod.zip
(136.1 KiB) Downloaded 510 times
Last edited by 15Cyndaquil on Fri Mar 15, 2013 6:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
The more complicated the game the better

User avatar
FreeER
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1266
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:26 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.2.10] Finished and working electric furnace

Post by FreeER » Thu Mar 14, 2013 9:24 pm

Hey, not a bad job :) Two things popped out at me when I tested it out, well three but one is to have a slightly better name :)
First was looking at the pictures and noticed it was the same as regular furnace, just bigger. I'd suggest at least adding fire/sparks the the animation :)
Second you didn't correct the collision/selection box (unless you're saying that you can't walk on a shadow :)
<I'm really not active any more so these may not be up to date>
~FreeER=Factorio Modding
- Factorio Wiki
- My Factorio Modding Guide
- Wiki Modding Guide
Feel free to pm me :)
Or drop into #factorio on irc.esper.net

drs9999
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 831
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.2.10] Finished and working electric furnace

Post by drs9999 » Thu Mar 14, 2013 9:27 pm

Nice one!
And now: Custom Textures :D

drs9999
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 831
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.2.10] Finished and working electric furnace

Post by drs9999 » Thu Mar 14, 2013 9:37 pm

Too slow :D

Animation would be nice. But there is a small problem with it.

Because it is an assembly building it wont work like the furnace-animation does (only display fire if in use)
I have the same problem with the cokery in the treemod. I finally managed to adjust the production speed and frame-count of the animation so it will display the first picture of the animation (with includes no fire-texture) after a crafting-process BUT if you dont produce enough power the machines is slowed down and messed up the animation.

And I noticed the collision/ selection thingy as well, but there is also a small problem. But because I have problems with it in my mod and dont want to spam your topic with this I will post a reply refering to this in my thread.

User avatar
FreeER
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1266
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:26 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.2.10] Finished and working electric furnace

Post by FreeER » Thu Mar 14, 2013 9:41 pm

I thought the assemblers displayed their first animation frame when not in use and only played through it when in use? Assuming that, shouldn't it just be slowing it down until one animation loop matched one (slow) recipe completion? Then again I'm horrible at animation myself so if i'm wrong feel free to correct me :)
<I'm really not active any more so these may not be up to date>
~FreeER=Factorio Modding
- Factorio Wiki
- My Factorio Modding Guide
- Wiki Modding Guide
Feel free to pm me :)
Or drop into #factorio on irc.esper.net

15Cyndaquil
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:34 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.2.10] Finished and working electric furnace

Post by 15Cyndaquil » Thu Mar 14, 2013 9:49 pm

drs9999 i actually got the inspiration from your cokery in your mod and i would add custom animation and graphics if i was any good at drawing/photo editing programs. Finally i will try to update the collision box tomorrow but no promises.

Also I'm just really glad i got this out b before anyone else got the idea.
Last edited by 15Cyndaquil on Thu Mar 14, 2013 9:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The more complicated the game the better

drs9999
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 831
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.2.10] Finished and working electric furnace

Post by drs9999 » Thu Mar 14, 2013 9:51 pm

FreeER wrote:I thought the assemblers displayed their first animation frame when not in use and only played through it when in use?
Nope, sadly not, but is hard to see. Also that is impossible at the moment because different recipes need a different amount of time.
FreeER wrote: Assuming that, shouldn't it just be slowing it down until one animation loop matched one (slow) recipe completion? Then again I'm horrible at animation myself so if i'm wrong feel free to correct me :)
Yeah I thought that as well and it makes absolutly sense, but sadly it isnt.
So I can be wrong but I tried to solve fo at least 2 hours, making dummy-animation to see the different frames better and sitting with a stopwatch in front of the notebook :D

User avatar
FreeER
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1266
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:26 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.2.10] Finished and working electric furnace

Post by FreeER » Thu Mar 14, 2013 10:08 pm

ah well. Maybe one of these days we'll have someone make an indepth tutorial/explanation on how the animation works :) (as for the timing, for the electric furnace I believe that both copper and iron smelt at the same rate. but yeah, that would be difficult for crafting recipes)
<I'm really not active any more so these may not be up to date>
~FreeER=Factorio Modding
- Factorio Wiki
- My Factorio Modding Guide
- Wiki Modding Guide
Feel free to pm me :)
Or drop into #factorio on irc.esper.net

ficolas
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1068
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 10:24 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.2.10] Finished and working electric furnace

Post by ficolas » Thu Mar 14, 2013 10:23 pm

15Cyndaquil wrote:drs9999 i actually got the inspiration from your cokery in your mod and i would add custom animation and graphics if i was any good at drawing/photo editing programs. Finally i will try to update the collision box tomorrow but no promises.

Also I'm just really glad i got this out b before anyone else got the idea.
Nope, you didny get this befire anyone got the idea, read all the comments in the other electric furnace mod

drs9999
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 831
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.2.10] Finished and working electric furnace

Post by drs9999 » Thu Mar 14, 2013 10:28 pm

Also funny: If Item A needs X ticks or animation-updates to be processed (what lets say correspond to the animation). So you may think Item B that needs 2*X ticks should work as well.
- Nope :D
It seems like that it needs X+Y updates for item A and 2*X+Y for item B ( I figured it out at some point and believe that Y was 2 additional animation-updates)

User avatar
FreeER
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1266
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:26 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.2.10] Finished and working electric furnace

Post by FreeER » Thu Mar 14, 2013 10:38 pm

if y is 2 then it might be that it skips a couple of updates after last frame, would make some sense since the machine would have to reset itself . Just a guess however.
<I'm really not active any more so these may not be up to date>
~FreeER=Factorio Modding
- Factorio Wiki
- My Factorio Modding Guide
- Wiki Modding Guide
Feel free to pm me :)
Or drop into #factorio on irc.esper.net

15Cyndaquil
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:34 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.2.10] Finished and working electric furnace

Post by 15Cyndaquil » Thu Mar 14, 2013 11:20 pm

Nope, you didny get this befire anyone got the idea, read all the comments in the other electric furnace mod[/quote]

What I was saying was that i got a working electric furnace mod out before anyone else.
The more complicated the game the better

User avatar
FreeER
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1266
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:26 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.2.10] Finished and working electric furnace

Post by FreeER » Thu Mar 14, 2013 11:30 pm

lol, you are probably the first to post one. Most decided to wait until they could do it properly so that they wouldn't have to redo it after the next update :lol:
<I'm really not active any more so these may not be up to date>
~FreeER=Factorio Modding
- Factorio Wiki
- My Factorio Modding Guide
- Wiki Modding Guide
Feel free to pm me :)
Or drop into #factorio on irc.esper.net

15Cyndaquil
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:34 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.2.10] Finished and working electric furnace

Post by 15Cyndaquil » Fri Mar 15, 2013 5:10 am

Well wanted one now so i made it with ingenuity.
The more complicated the game the better

User avatar
FreeER
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1266
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:26 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.2.10] Finished and working electric furnace

Post by FreeER » Fri Mar 15, 2013 5:16 am

Good, the more modders the better :)
<I'm really not active any more so these may not be up to date>
~FreeER=Factorio Modding
- Factorio Wiki
- My Factorio Modding Guide
- Wiki Modding Guide
Feel free to pm me :)
Or drop into #factorio on irc.esper.net

15Cyndaquil
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:34 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.2.10] Finished and working electric furnace

Post by 15Cyndaquil » Fri Mar 15, 2013 6:09 am

I'm thinking to make a macerator to double iron/copper productivity but it would be close to end game materials and very expensive
The more complicated the game the better

ficolas
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1068
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 10:24 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.2.10] Finished and working electric furnace

Post by ficolas » Fri Mar 15, 2013 6:49 pm

15Cyndaquil wrote:I'm thinking to make a macerator to double iron/copper productivity but it would be close to end game materials and very expensive
Sorry to say :( but you cant do that (yet? I hope :) ) if you make an item with two recipes, then the item will be "registered twice" and factorio will send an error message.

15Cyndaquil
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:34 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.2.10] Electric Furnace that actually works

Post by 15Cyndaquil » Fri Mar 15, 2013 8:48 pm

actualy i could it would have to be like i put in one iron ore and get two out
The more complicated the game the better

drs9999
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 831
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.2.10] Electric Furnace that actually works

Post by drs9999 » Fri Mar 15, 2013 8:59 pm

May I ask how you achieve that?
The only way to do that that comes to my mind is that you changed the vanilla-recipe and in that case the furnace will do the same.
15Cyndaquil wrote:actualy i could it would have to be like i put in one iron ore and get two out
I am probably wrong, but I am relative sure that I tried something similar some days ago and receive an error, because of creating a recipe like this

ficolas
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 1068
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 10:24 am
Contact:

Re: [MOD 0.2.10] Electric Furnace that actually works

Post by ficolas » Fri Mar 15, 2013 9:08 pm

15Cyndaquil wrote:actualy i could it would have to be like i put in one iron ore and get two out
put one ore and get two?
Duping...

Post Reply

Return to “Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users