Total raw ingredients not displayed for Power Armor

Bugs that are actually features.
Post Reply
NoQ
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 2:01 pm
Contact:

Total raw ingredients not displayed for Power Armor

Post by NoQ » Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:27 am

Strangely, works fine for Power Armor MK2.

Not sure if it's a 0.15 regression or was always like that.
Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 11.20.44 AM.png
Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 11.20.44 AM.png (209.25 KiB) Viewed 514 times
Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 11.22.23 AM.png
Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 11.22.23 AM.png (248.63 KiB) Viewed 514 times

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4617
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Total raw ingredients not displayed for Power Armor

Post by Koub » Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:47 am

Is your Factorio window / screen resolution high enough ?
Power armor
Power armor MkII
I'll move this to "not a bug"
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

NoQ
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 2:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Total raw ingredients not displayed for Power Armor

Post by NoQ » Sat Apr 29, 2017 9:14 am

I can reproduce this issue always, reliably, in all cases:

- I'm on macbook with 2880x1800 (the game is upscaled into a HiDPI mode, so it's actually 1440x900).
- I tried connecting an external monitor, which is standard 1920x1080 with no HiDPI of any sort.
- Tried downscaling the UI in the settings a lot (in this case there's a bunch of room for sure).
- Tried having the production hint appear to the top or to the bottom of the cursor.
-I'm also not using any mods at the moment, so there's nothing that could have altered the recipe.
- I did restart the game after all the changes in UI scale and monitor layout.
- I'm on 0.15.3 at the moment.

NoQ
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 2:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Total raw ingredients not displayed for Power Armor

Post by NoQ » Sat Apr 29, 2017 9:15 am

Also, on your screenshot i'm seeing items that are "too raw" (like oil products) in the list - you can't craft with oil products by hand, so i've never seen these displayed, and i've no idea how you display these stats.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4617
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: Total raw ingredients not displayed for Power Armor

Post by Koub » Sat Apr 29, 2017 9:32 am

You're actually right : depending on whether I'm in Sandbox or in Freeplay/normal game, the tooltip changes :
Power armor Freeplay and normal game
Power armor MkII Freeplay and normal game
I'll move it back to "Bug" until further notice from devs.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 9038
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: Total raw ingredients not displayed for Power Armor

Post by Rseding91 » Sat Apr 29, 2017 4:57 pm

The "total raw" display is the "total" items you need to craft that recipe by hand using the unlocked recipes you're able to craft.

Or, if you're in an assembling machine it's the "total" items the assembling machine needs to craft the recipe using the recipes it has unlocked. If it doesn't show the "total raw" it's because you need those exact items and no sub items are capable of being crafted into those items in that machine (or in your inventory).

When you enable cheat mode it tells the game "I can craft anything" so it degrades the recipe down to the base factorio ingredients and that's why they're different.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3594
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Total raw ingredients not displayed for Power Armor

Post by Klonan » Sat Apr 29, 2017 5:07 pm

Rseding91 wrote:The "total raw" display is the "total" items you need to craft that recipe by hand using the unlocked recipes you're able to craft.

Or, if you're in an assembling machine it's the "total" items the assembling machine needs to craft the recipe using the recipes it has unlocked. If it doesn't show the "total raw" it's because you need those exact items and no sub items are capable of being crafted into those items in that machine (or in your inventory).

When you enable cheat mode it tells the game "I can craft anything" so it degrades the recipe down to the base factorio ingredients and that's why they're different.

To clarify,

Because you can't craft any of the ingredients for the power armor by hand, the total raw does not show, just like with heavy armor, portable fusion reactor etc.

NoQ
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 2:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Total raw ingredients not displayed for Power Armor

Post by NoQ » Wed May 03, 2017 12:33 pm

Yep, right, good point, thanks, truly not a bug.

Post Reply

Return to “Not a bug”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Theikkru