[0.15.1][Solved] Server not showing up in Public Browser

Anything that prevents you from playing the game properly. Do you have issues playing for the game, downloading it or successfully running it on your computer? Let us know here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Phantom329
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 11:44 pm
Contact:

[0.15.1][Solved] Server not showing up in Public Browser

Post by Phantom329 »

HI.
I am trying to run a vanilla dedicated server on Linux and I don't know why it doesn't show up in the public browser. I think the port forwarding is still good from when I last ran the server but I can't check since the server is at my parents house. Does everything look normal or did I do something wrong? I haven't run the server in a long time. Any help is appreciated, thanks.

Code: Select all

   0.066 Write data path: /home/factorio/QC_Public
   0.066 Binaries path: /home/factorio/QC_Public/bin
   0.077 System info: [CPU:         Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2100 CPU @ 3.10GHz, 4 cores, RAM: 3863MB]
   0.077 Running in headless mode
   0.084 Loading mod core 0.0.0 (data.lua)
   0.090 Loading mod base 0.15.1 (data.lua)
   0.200 Loading mod base 0.15.1 (data-updates.lua)
   0.278 Checksum for core: 530912544
   0.278 Checksum of base: 2731413614
   0.405 Info PlayerData.cpp:55: Local player-data.json available, timestamp 1493092937
   0.405 Info PlayerData.cpp:62: Cloud player-data.json unavailable
   0.406 Custom inputs active: 0
   0.406 Factorio initialised
   0.406 Info ServerSynchronizer.cpp:27: nextHeartbeatSequenceNumber(0) initialized Synchronizer nextTickClosureTick(0).
   0.406 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:663: mapTick(-1) changing state from(Ready) to(PreparedToHostGame)
   0.406 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:663: mapTick(-1) changing state from(PreparedToHostGame) to(CreatingGame)
   0.407 Loading map /home/factorio/QC_Public/saves/QC_Public.zip: 806002 bytes.
   0.407 Error FileUtil.cpp:291: Can't remove /home/factorio/QC_Public/temp/currently-playing: No such file or directory
   0.416 Loading Level.dat: 1156977 bytes.
   0.422 Info Scenario.cpp:133: Map version 0.15.1-0
   0.453 Loading script.dat: 190 bytes.
   0.455 Checksum for script /home/factorio/QC_Public/temp/currently-playing/control.lua: 1622069129
   0.456 Info UDPSocket.cpp:27: Opening socket at (0.0.0.0:34197)
   0.456 Hosting game at 0.0.0.0:34197
   0.456 Info HttpSharedState.cpp:44: Downloading https://auth.factorio.com/generate-server-padlock
   0.612 Info HttpSharedState.cpp:111: Status code: 200
   0.612 Info AuthServerConnector.cpp:106: Obtained serverPadlock for serverHash (por3X1Uyt6pGM8K4Zb5oTSwWmlK3Gwib) from the auth server.
   0.612 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:663: mapTick(22) changing state from(CreatingGame) to(InGame)

Code: Select all

{
  "name": "QC Public",
  "description": "A public server for Quack Cocaine and friends!",
  "tags": [],

  "_comment_max_players": "Maximum number of players allowed, admins can join even a full server. 0 means unlimited.",
  "max_players": 8,

  "_comment_visibility": ["public: Game will be published on the official Factorio matching server",
                          "lan: Game will be broadcast on LAN"],
  "visibility":
  {
    "public": true,
    "lan": true
  },

  "_comment_credentials": "Your factorio.com login credentials. Required for games with visibility public",
  "username": "[REDACTED]",
  "password": "[REDACTED]",

  "_comment_token": "Authentication token. May be used instead of 'password' above.",
  "token": "",

  "game_password": "[REDACTED]",

  "_comment_require_user_verification": "When set to true, the server will only allow clients that have a valid Factorio.com account",
  "require_user_verification": true,

  "_comment_max_upload_in_kilobytes_per_second" : "optional, default value is 0. 0 means unlimited.",
  "max_upload_in_kilobytes_per_second": 0,

  "_comment_minimum_latency_in_ticks": "optional one tick is 16ms in default speed, default value is 0. 0 means no minimum.",
  "minimum_latency_in_ticks": 0,

  "_comment_ignore_player_limit_for_returning_players": "Players that played on this map already can join even when the max player limit was reached.",
  "ignore_player_limit_for_returning_players": false,

  "_comment_allow_commands": "possible values are, true, false and admins-only",
  "allow_commands": "admins-only",

  "_comment_autosave_interval": "Autosave interval in minutes",
  "autosave_interval": 30,

  "_comment_autosave_slots": "server autosave slots, it is cycled through when the server autosaves.",
  "autosave_slots": 6,

  "_comment_afk_autokick_interval": "How many minutes until someone is kicked when doing nothing, 0 for never.",
  "afk_autokick_interval": 15,

  "_comment_auto_pause": "Whether should the server be paused when no players are present.",
  "auto_pause": true,

  "only_admins_can_pause_the_game": true,

  "_comment_autosave_only_on_server": "Whether autosaves should be saved only on server or also on all connected clients. Default is true.",
  "autosave_only_on_server": true,

  "_comment_admins": "List of case insensitive usernames, that will be promoted immediately",
  "admins": []
}
Valrandir wrote:I resolved the problem.

The path to the server setting file must be manually specified. It wasn't.

For example, start the server with:
bin/x64/factorio --server-settings ~/factorio/data/server-settings.json --start-server path_to_savefile.zip
Last edited by Phantom329 on Thu Apr 27, 2017 7:30 am, edited 2 times in total.

MaZy
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.1] Server not showing up in Public Browser

Post by MaZy »

I can confirm it. Have some problem.

User avatar
CyricV
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 1:05 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15.1] Server not showing up in Public Browser

Post by CyricV »

Same problem here as well. Server runs just fine, but it wont show up in the public listings and gives no feedback as to why. Or it probably does, I just don't know where to look for it yet. I get the same error that you have here as well:

Code: Select all

0.407 Error FileUtil.cpp:291: Can't remove /home/factorio/QC_Public/temp/currently-playing: No such file or directory
...but I don't think that has any thing to do with the visibility problem.

Valrandir
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:24 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.1] Server not showing up in Public Browser

Post by Valrandir »

Same issue here with 0.15.02, headless server on linux debian.

User avatar
CyricV
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 1:05 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15.1] Server not showing up in Public Browser

Post by CyricV »

Updated to 0.15.2, still have the problem. I'm on Debian as well.

Valrandir
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:24 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.1] Server not showing up in Public Browser

Post by Valrandir »

I resolved the problem.

The path to the server setting file must be manually specified. It wasn't.

For example, start the server with:
bin/x64/factorio --server-settings ~/factorio/data/server-settings.json --start-server path_to_savefile.zip

User avatar
CyricV
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 1:05 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15.1] Server not showing up in Public Browser

Post by CyricV »

Valrandir wrote:...For example, start the server with:
bin/x64/factorio --server-settings ~/factorio/data/server-settings.json --start-server path_to_savefile.zip
Thank you! This did the trick! But fixing that exposed a new problem. Players can still connect directly by IP but get "Couldn't establish network communication with server" when trying to join through the public game browser.

User avatar
Phantom329
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 11:44 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.15.1] Server not showing up in Public Browser

Post by Phantom329 »

Valrandir wrote:I resolved the problem.

The path to the server setting file must be manually specified. It wasn't.

For example, start the server with:
bin/x64/factorio --server-settings ~/factorio/data/server-settings.json --start-server path_to_savefile.zip
That worked, thanks.

User avatar
CyricV
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 1:05 am
Contact:

Re: [0.15.1][Solved] Server not showing up in Public Browser

Post by CyricV »

I left the server running for about 8 hours and I got a few of this error:

Code: Select all

14323.189 code:28, 1c; Operation too slow. Less than 1 bytes/sec transferred the last 20 seconds
14323.189 Info HttpSharedState.cpp:109: Downloading https://multiplayer.factorio.com/post-game-heartbeat/1669779
14323.189 Info HttpSharedState.cpp:111: Status code: 0
14323.189 Info MatchingServer.cpp:142: Failed to sendHeartbeat to the multiplayer matching server: Operation too slow. Less than 1 bytes/sec transferred the last 20 seconds
14328.693 Info ServerMultiplayerManager.cpp:592: Matching server connection resumed
So it seems like my server is having difficulties talking to the matchmaking server for some reason.

Should I make my own thread as this one is now listed as solved? Probably yeah.

Post Reply

Return to “Technical Help”