Experienced builders' help needed.

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Losash
Inserter
Inserter

Experienced builders' help needed.

Post by Losash »

Hello. Community, I need your help in solving my today's "puzzle". Saying it short, solving an issue the eligant way may result in being helpful for me. So, consider this as a thing to do, if you have nothing else to do.
I will definitly try to solve this one myself (mainly because I need this for my planwork), but I am absolutely sure I am not the smartest and most resourceful guy in this game, and community will come up with better solutions.
I am not a novice either, I have solved dosens of this-kind-of issues, which looked harder at the first glance, than this one. But spent over 30 minutes of trying to create a stable theoretical plan, and came up with nothing working like it should.

So it is either hard puzzle, or I've got a brain lag, and can't see an obvious solution.

Here is the puzzle description:

- Create a belt mechanism with specifications: 2 blue belt inputs, 2 blue belt outputs. Let's specify, that outputs are called O1 and O2, inputs - I1 and I2. Let's also specify, that "1" is a fully loaded output (max throughput is achieved with no gaps), "0" - is an empty belt, and all the possible throughputs are fractions.
- Mechanism's logic:
Informal explanation:
Create a durable throughput sorter, which supplies maximum throughput to O1, pushing whats left to O2.
Formal explanation:
if (O1 is not filled externally) then
_{if (I1 + I2 <= 1) then
__{O1 = I1 + I2; O2 = 0} else
__{O1 = 1; O2 = I1 + I2 -1}} else
_{O1 = 0 (O1 is filled); if (O2 is not filled externally) then
__{O2 = I1 + I2} else
__{O2 = 0 //Which results in a whole mechanism blocked}}
- Inputs can have any combination of incoming throughputs, example "1+0", "0+1", "1+X", "X+0", ect. It should be stable in any case.
- No usage of mods. Vanilla solution is required.