[0.13] Display Turret Range

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.
Post Reply
Compboy
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 11:48 am
Contact:

[0.13] Display Turret Range

Post by Compboy »

Future request.

Display Turret range of already placed turrets while holding a new turret in hand. (only the once close to "player")

User avatar
Ranakastrasz
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2041
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:05 am
Contact:

Re: [0.13] Display Turret Range

Post by Ranakastrasz »

+1
My Mods:
Modular Armor Revamp - V16
Large Chests - V16
Agent Orange - V16
Flare - V16
Easy Refineries - V16

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 10689
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13] Display Turret Range

Post by ssilk »

Like the pole-ranges of the poles?
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Compboy
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 11:48 am
Contact:

Re: [0.13] Display Turret Range

Post by Compboy »

ssilk wrote:Like the pole-ranges of the poles?
Yes, but I can imagine that if you do it like that on a MP game with 10 players holding a turret. It might be a performance hit.
(not sure)

but yes like that..

User avatar
Ranakastrasz
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2041
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:05 am
Contact:

Re: [0.13] Display Turret Range

Post by Ranakastrasz »

Eh, it would be more like how when you hold a train signle it shows all the spots you can place it in range. Except when you hold any turret it shows all turret ranges.
Would be EXTREMELY useful. Could also be done totally locally, no need for it to effect any other player, after all, only you are holding the turret and need the UI enhancement.

Would let you space turrets correctly before getting blueprints at least.
My Mods:
Modular Armor Revamp - V16
Large Chests - V16
Agent Orange - V16
Flare - V16
Easy Refineries - V16

Kane
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Contact:

[0.13] When Holding Turret. Show other Turret Hit Range!

Post by Kane »

joined with existing suggestion --daniel34

Would be nice if when holding a turret in your hand or placing it that it would show other turrets radius of hit to help you strategically place the turrets better.

Kane
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13] Display Turret Range

Post by Kane »

Thanks daniel34 :)

I know that the rendering can be taxing. Even if we could just at least highlight the base of the other turrets like when you hover over a machine something like that happens for the rest of the turrets would even be a good start.

roy7
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 4:24 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13] Display Turret Range

Post by roy7 »

Ahh I came to post this suggestion as well but I see it's already been suggested. :) (To show other turret coverage ranges when placing another one.)

Harkonnen604
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 285
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 5:56 am
Contact:

Turret damage range should be shown for all turrets

Post by Harkonnen604 »

joined with existing suggestion --daniel34

When hovering a turret or placing new turret damage range should be visible for all of them to ensure full coverage, especially in early game when turrets are sparse.

Compboy
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 11:48 am
Contact:

Re: [0.13] Display Turret Range

Post by Compboy »

Thank you for implementing this.

EarnestErnest
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2017 9:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13] Display Turret Range

Post by EarnestErnest »

Compboy wrote:
Wed Apr 26, 2017 6:18 pm
Thank you for implementing this.
It was implemented? I can't find it anywhere. Only one mod though : viewtopic.php?t=14783
but is there anything more recent? (map mode doesn't count)

User avatar
Ranger_Aurelien
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 1:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13] Display Turret Range

Post by Ranger_Aurelien »

EarnestErnest wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 11:53 pm
Compboy wrote:
Wed Apr 26, 2017 6:18 pm
Thank you for implementing this.
It was implemented? I can't find it anywhere. Only one mod though : viewtopic.php?t=14783
but is there anything more recent? (map mode doesn't count)
There is this off-hand remark in 0.17.00:
https://wiki.factorio.com/Version_history/0.17.0
"Optimized rendering of turret ranges when zoomed in to map."
-
Ranger Aurelien
"Knowledge Brings Fear" -- Motto of Mars University, Futurama

EarnestErnest
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2017 9:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.13] Display Turret Range

Post by EarnestErnest »

Well, it's not exactly the same as what I look for..
Anyway, the closest to achieve what I want is using the map view mode

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Olacken