Questions to DEVs about optimization of CPU usage

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.
quadrox
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter

Questions to DEVs about optimization of CPU usage

Post by quadrox »

As a programmer I am quite impressed with how this game can simulate a huge world with thousands of objects interacting with each other. We can have thousands of tiles with transport belts, each of which can contain a mixture of various resources, factories are constantly producing new items, aliens are moving about, and lots more. All of this stuff needs to be constantly updated, and yet everything runs quite smoothly.

I am wondering if everything is simulated in a "brute force" fashion, or if the developers have found a way to optimize the code so that certain calculations/updates can be skipped or simplified? I would love to hear about this.

I would also love to know how often things get refreshed internally, how threading is handled and any technical details the developers would be willing to share.

Finally I am curious as to how much effort the developers spent on optimizing things early in the development, or whether such concerns were only handled later.

I understand if you guys don't have time to respond to this, I am just really curious about how this all works.

kovarex
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff

Re: Questions to DEVs about optimization of CPU usage

Post by kovarex »

Some of the optimisation examples are mentioned here:
https://www.factorio.com/blog/post/fff-82
https://www.factorio.com/blog/post/fff-84

The game is simulated 60 updates per second. The key is to turn off anything that doesn't need to be updated (empty belts, stuck belts, inserters next to empty belts or empty chests, turrets with no enemies in sight etc. etc.)