Game crashes

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Post Reply
Mistr25
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 4:51 pm
Contact:

Game crashes

Post by Mistr25 » Sat Feb 08, 2014 4:55 pm

Game will open on two seconds then it will close it self.

I have Ubuntu(linux) 13.10 and I use game 0.8.8.

User avatar
cube
Former Staff
Former Staff
Posts: 1111
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Game crashes

Post by cube » Sun Feb 09, 2014 8:44 am

Hi, thanks for the report. If you try to start the game from console, does it write anything?
I have no idea what I'm talking about.

User avatar
Madara Uchiha
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 11:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Game crashes

Post by Madara Uchiha » Sun Feb 09, 2014 3:26 pm

I managed to reproduce.

When running from terminal, I get this:

Code: Select all

madara@Dor-PC:~/Games/factorio/bin/x64$ ./factorio 
libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
radeon: Failed to allocate a buffer:
radeon:    size      : 390070272 bytes
radeon:    alignment : 8192 bytes
radeon:    domains   : 4
radeon: Failed to allocate a buffer:
radeon:    size      : 390070272 bytes
radeon:    alignment : 8192 bytes
radeon:    domains   : 4
/home/madara/Games/factorio/config/config.ini: cannot open file
Segmentation fault (core dumped)
You should place the config files on ~/.config by the way.

User avatar
Madara Uchiha
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 11:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Game crashes

Post by Madara Uchiha » Sun Feb 09, 2014 4:05 pm

Alright, after some checking I found:
  • The directory it's trying to access doesn't exist.
  • After creating the directory and the file (empty) the game crashed one more time (Telling me it's probably out of memory, the setting was changed to lower, and that I should try again)
  • After trying again the game runs.
Haven't tried playing it yet, so not sure of any side effects. But yeah, managed to run the game.

User avatar
cube
Former Staff
Former Staff
Posts: 1111
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Game crashes

Post by cube » Sun Feb 09, 2014 4:41 pm

This looks like there is not enough graphics memory.

Try creating the file config.ini and turn on the low-graphics option in the graphics section:

Code: Select all

[graphics]
low-graphics=true
I have no idea what I'm talking about.

User avatar
Madara Uchiha
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 11:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Game crashes

Post by Madara Uchiha » Sun Feb 09, 2014 5:19 pm

Yeah the game runs for me well now (after creating the file empty and letting the game change it to low-graphic settings).

However, why didn't the game create the directory/file itself if it's missing it? Or perhaps include it in the package?

User avatar
cube
Former Staff
Former Staff
Posts: 1111
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Game crashes

Post by cube » Mon Feb 10, 2014 4:44 pm

Madara Uchiha wrote:Yeah the game runs for me well now (after creating the file empty and letting the game change it to low-graphic settings).

However, why didn't the game create the directory/file itself if it's missing it? Or perhaps include it in the package?
That's a bug. We can't include the file in the package, because not everyone has it in the same location.
Anyway, if someone else encounters this thread, we will be continuing in the bug reports section: https://forums.factorio.com/forum/vie ... f=7&t=2229
I have no idea what I'm talking about.

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users