[2.0.14] Decider combinator 'Each' signal outputs wrong signal count in combination with red and green only checkboxes

Bugs that are actually features.
exabyte
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2024 5:00 pm
Contact:

[2.0.14] Decider combinator 'Each' signal outputs wrong signal count in combination with red and green only checkboxes

Post by exabyte »

For each of the input signals (only green channel input ticked! => 2 input signals) the condition is true.
Thus it should output A=2 not A=3.

Maybe the current implementation is intended, but in combination with the possiblity to toggle R and G input it sure isn't intuitive .
11-04-2024, 14-02-03.png
11-04-2024, 14-02-03.png (240.56 KiB) Viewed 452 times
Edit: typo
Attachments
factorio-current.log
(10.6 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
SpaceAge_028.zip
(34.38 MiB) Downloaded 9 times
Last edited by exabyte on Mon Nov 04, 2024 2:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 9742
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.0.14] Decider combinator 'Each' signal outputs wrong signal count in combination with red and green only checkbox

Post by Loewchen »

exabyte wrote: Mon Nov 04, 2024 1:09 pm For each of the input signals (only green channel input ticked! => 2 input signals) the condition is true.
Thus it should output A=3 not A=2.
I take it you mean "A=2 not A=3"?
exabyte
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2024 5:00 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.0.14] Decider combinator 'Each' signal outputs wrong signal count in combination with red and green only checkbox

Post by exabyte »

Loewchen wrote: Mon Nov 04, 2024 1:43 pm
exabyte wrote: Mon Nov 04, 2024 1:09 pm For each of the input signals (only green channel input ticked! => 2 input signals) the condition is true.
Thus it should output A=3 not A=2.
I take it you mean "A=2 not A=3"?
Yes thx, I've updated the description
credomane
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 311
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.0.14] Decider combinator 'Each' signal outputs wrong signal count in combination with red and green only checkbox

Post by credomane »

3 is correct.
A "missing" signal isn't actually missing. It is zero. Combinators just ignore signals with value 0 for performance, I'd assume, unless something specifically checks against them in which case they are "0".

So when the combinator evaluates the "each" on red and hits the fast inserters it checks for them on green and gets "0".

speed mod: 4 <= 11 which outputs A = 1
assembler: 2 <= 6 which outputs A = 1
inserter: 0 <= 2 which outputs A = 1

Final output from the combinator is A=3
User avatar
boskid
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 3462
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.0.14] Decider combinator 'Each' signal outputs wrong signal count in combination with red and green only checkbox

Post by boskid »

3 is correct. If you want 2, you can change the conditions into `Each[G] <= Each[R] AND Each[G] != 0`
exabyte
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2024 5:00 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.0.14] Decider combinator 'Each' signal outputs wrong signal count in combination with red and green only checkbox

Post by exabyte »

boskid wrote: Mon Nov 04, 2024 3:22 pm 3 is correct. If you want 2, you can change the conditions into `Each[G] <= Each[R] AND Each[G] != 0`
Thanks maybe there is a way to convey this a bit better for circuit network newbies =)
Post Reply

Return to “Not a bug”