[2.0.13] Stack inserter stuck grabbing from mixed belt (MR)

Bugs that are actually features.
qweytr_1
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2024 4:41 am
Contact:

[2.0.13] Stack inserter stuck grabbing from mixed belt (MR)

Post by qweytr_1 »

For a normal inserter, they move all the items into machines, but for stack-inserter, things become different.

When the belt has 2 different items (with limit 4+16 = 19 for example). And thus the machine accept at most 4+max_stack items.

For stack-inserters, it will grab exact 16 items, but in case machine has more than 4 of item 1, the condition `(item 1's count) < 4 + max_stack` still holds, thus the stack-inserter will still grab item1.

The problem is that, if item 2 is used out, but item 1 have the count more than 4, the stack inserter will grab at most `max_stack + 4 - (item 1's count) < 16` items, then stuck since it cannot grab more items since it will exceed the 4+max_stack limit, and thus it cannot put all the items into the machine (since it cannot grab 16 items.)

This thing is tested under [2.0.12] and [2.0.13], which prevent using stack inserter for a mixed belt.

(Cannot really reproduce it under a small blueprint, but it could be easily triggered by put extra items into the machine)
the stack inserter holds pipes, but there are no more free spaces for pipes.
the stack inserter holds pipes, but there are no more free spaces for pipes.
屏幕截图_20241101_102926.png (480.27 KiB) Viewed 604 times
bonuspunkt
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2024 8:33 am
Contact:

Re: [2.0.13] stack-inserter got stuck while grabbing from a mixed belt.

Post by bonuspunkt »

11-01-2024, 09-59-21.png
11-01-2024, 09-59-21.png (1003.15 KiB) Viewed 595 times

this is really makes the stack inserters unusable at Gleba with the spoilage challenge
changing a recipe an also trigger this
Last edited by bonuspunkt on Fri Nov 01, 2024 9:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 14828
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [2.0.13] stack-inserter got stuck while grabbing from a mixed belt.

Post by Rseding91 »

Thanks for the report. That is intended and part of the limitations of using stack inserters.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.
namiraj
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2024 9:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.0.13] Stack inserter stuck grabbing from mixed belt (MR)

Post by namiraj »

Is this documented somewhere that I missed? I didn't see anything in the stack inserter configuration window, the Tips & Tricks tab, or the Factoriopedia. If not, can it be added to these places?

I was only able to find out after hours of confusion and finally searching here that stack inserters will ONLY PICK UP A FULL HAND-STACK (16 items) before placing any items down as layers on a belt (4 stacks of 4 layers). All other inserters, will wait 20 ticks to check for lagging belt items then give up, placing down however many they had in their hand at the time.

Not sure if this is related, but I am also confused why the "Override stack size" numbers skip around. Is this correct behavior?

Code: Select all

Override set to  1, then output is 1 stack  of items 1 layer  high

Override set to  2, then output is 1 stack  of items 2 layers high

Override set to  3, then output is 1 stack  of items 3 layers high

Override set to  4, then output is 1 stack  of items 4 layers high
Override set to  5, then output is 1 stack  of items 4 layers high
Override set to  6, then output is 1 stack  of items 4 layers high
Override set to  7, then output is 1 stack  of items 4 layers high

Override set to  8, then output is 2 stacks of items 4 layers high
Override set to  9, then output is 2 stacks of items 4 layers high
Override set to 10, then output is 2 stacks of items 4 layers high
Override set to 11, then output is 2 stacks of items 4 layers high

Override set to 12, then output is 3 stacks of items 4 layers high
Override set to 13, then output is 3 stacks of items 4 layers high
Override set to 14, then output is 3 stacks of items 4 layers high
Override set to 15, then output is 3 stacks of items 4 layers high

Override set to 16, then output is 4 stacks of items 4 layers high

Code: Select all

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
Post Reply

Return to “Not a bug”