Map/minimap hiding objects.

Place to get help with not working mods / modding interface.
KaraUL!
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 7:59 pm
Contact:

Map/minimap hiding objects.

Post by KaraUL! »

Hi. Are there any way to make entity resources invisible on map/minimap? For example needed parameter for iron-ore is:

Code: Select all

map_color = {r=0.337, g=0.419, b=0.427}
Map_color is required parameter and game dont allow to delete it from the code. Making the brackets empty (

Code: Select all

map_color = {}
) equals RGB = 0, so we have black fields on map. Maybe someone knows the way how to solve this?
KaraUL!
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 7:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Map/minimap hiding objects.

Post by KaraUL! »

I can find 2 possible methods.
1. We can create 10 almost identical entity of "iron-ore" with different map_color parameters, which are equals map_color parameters of surface tiles (grass, dirt, sand, etc.). So while map is generated, we start findentities of "iron-ore" entity in huge radius. After that for each entity we get its tile properties and swap "iron-ore" entity to needed (with needed map_color params)
2. In autoplace settings we can restrict tiles, on which iron-ore can be generated. We can allow only one tile type (sand e.g.) and set map_color parameters of iron-ore equal to sand. So iron-ore will be invisible on sand and not generated on other surface types.

I dont like both methods, 1st is slow and non-elegant, 2nd imposes restrictions to map generation and gameplay in particular.

SO question is still opened, i'll be happy to hear any ideas
Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 15251
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: Map/minimap hiding objects.

Post by Rseding91 »

Have you tried setting the "a" value in the color?

color = {r=0,g=0,b=0,a=0}

Or 1, I'm not sure which is clear.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.
KaraUL!
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 7:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Map/minimap hiding objects.

Post by KaraUL! »

Lol i feel so stupid, so simple and fast solution) Great thanks, a = 0 works as needed
Post Reply

Return to “Modding help”