[2.1.17] Replacing blueprint contents proceeds even if action 'cancelled'

Things that has been reported already before.
Iodine1931
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2025 12:40 pm
Contact:

[2.1.17] Replacing blueprint contents proceeds even if action 'cancelled'

Post by Iodine1931 »

If you go to overwrite the contents of a blueprint, but then do any action which would normally be conceived as a cancel / not to proceed / no confirmation, the blueprint will still be overwritten.

To reproduce;
1) Have a blueprint with any contents, then use the "Select new contents for this blueprint" button from the blueprint's screen.
2) Select any new differing contents for the blueprint
3) Observe the preview window has updated with the new contents

~ Bug Trigger ~
Now do any action which would normally be conceived as a cancel
4) Click "X", hit "Esc" or otherwise exit the blueprint without clicking "Save blueprint" or affirmation actions such as hitting "Enter"

~ Bug ~
5) Reopen the previous blueprint, observe that the contents are not the original, but contain the replacement selection regardless that this action was never confirmed or "saved"

Perhaps there should be a prompt "Unsaved changes have been made to this blueprint, do you want to cancel?" etc when a user attempts to close the blueprint without confirmation, but otherwise changes that have not been actively confirmed should not persist.
User avatar
boskid
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 4881
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.1.17] Replacing blueprint contents proceeds even if action 'cancelled'

Post by boskid »

Thanks for the report. This is a duplicate of 87343. As far as i know, nothing changed in the classification of this behavior.
Iodine1931
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2025 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.1.17] Replacing blueprint contents proceeds even if action 'cancelled'

Post by Iodine1931 »

This is very unexpected UX behaviour though, and not even consistent with other parts of the blueprint planner. Eg if I make a change to absolute co-ordinates and then go to cancel there's the prompt "There are unconfirmed changes" : Back | Discard

Considering there's no version history or diff functionality this means blueprint contents can be lost very easily / unexpectedly.
Post Reply

Return to “Duplicates”