What makes Foundries able to craft transport belts?

Place to get help with not working mods / modding interface.
Holy-Fire
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 194
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 9:15 am
Contact:

What makes Foundries able to craft transport belts?

Post by Holy-Fire »

Foundries can craft transport belts. And also fast/express and splitter/underground.

I'm trying to figure out what in the data files allows them to do that.

The question isn't about turbo belts, which have a recipe in the metallurgy category craftable by a foundry.

The normal belt recipe seems to be in the default crafting category. And I didn't find anything in the Foundry entity prototype that specifically relates to belts.

What am I missing?
User avatar
Silari
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 567
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2018 10:04 pm
Contact:

Re: What makes Foundries able to craft transport belts?

Post by Silari »

A look through the data.raw dump of prototypes says the transport belt category is 'pressing', not the default one. Pressing is in the list of crafting categories for the foundry.
Holy-Fire
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 194
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 9:15 am
Contact:

Re: What makes Foundries able to craft transport belts?

Post by Holy-Fire »

Silari wrote: Mon Apr 14, 2025 8:44 pm A look through the data.raw dump of prototypes says the transport belt category is 'pressing', not the default one. Pressing is in the list of crafting categories for the foundry.
That would explain it, but I still couldn't find where it's set in the data files.

In Factorio\data\base\prototypes\recipe.lua, I have this:

Code: Select all

{
    type = "recipe",
    name = "transport-belt",
    ingredients =
    {
      {type = "item", name = "iron-plate", amount = 1},
      {type = "item", name = "iron-gear-wheel", amount = 1}
    },
    results = {{type="item", name="transport-belt", amount=2}}
}
I also looked in Factorio\data\space-age\prototypes\recipe.lua to see if it's overwritten, but the only mention of transport-belt I could find is the turbo belts.

I also looked in Factorio\data\base\prototypes\entity\entities.lua at the prototypes for assembling machines, and they don't mention the pressing category. So, as it is, they shouldn't be able to craft transport belts if they're pressing.

So I think there must be some other place where the data for these prototypes is changed, but where is that?
Nidan
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 1:40 am
Contact:

Re: What makes Foundries able to craft transport belts?

Post by Nidan »

Space age changes happen in the space-age mod:

data/space-age/base-data-updates.lua
Holy-Fire
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 194
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 9:15 am
Contact:

Re: What makes Foundries able to craft transport belts?

Post by Holy-Fire »

Nidan wrote: Mon Apr 14, 2025 9:49 pm Space age changes happen in the space-age mod:

data/space-age/base-data-updates.lua
Oh, that's what I've been missing. I looked in the space-age folder, but went directly to the prototypes folder. I didn't notice base-data-updates.lua. It indeed alters all the relevant properties.

Thanks.
Post Reply

Return to “Modding help”