* Log in to MacOS (doesn't matter, but i'm on Sonoma 14.6.1)
* Launch Factorio (consistent since Space Age, but I'm currently on 2.0.14)
* Switch to another (non-Factorio) app (ex: Finder)
* Without logging out, switch to a 2nd user (I have my "work" user and my "play" user; switching to do some quick paperwork then return to play is my common scenario)
* Switch back to original user,; return to Factorio
EXPECTED: Factorio continues as normal (possibly auto-paused; that would not be terrible)
ACTUAL: Factorio hangs -- goes in to "NOT RESPONDING" mode and must be forced-quit in order to continue.
100% reproducable (by me )
[strangepan] [2.0.14] Factorio hangs if you switch users (MacOS)
-
- Long Handed Inserter
- Posts: 69
- Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 9:17 pm
- Contact:
Re: [2.0.14] Factorio hangs if you switch users (MacOS)
I tried on MacBook M1 Pro with macOS 15.0.1 - couldn't reproduce
-
- Long Handed Inserter
- Posts: 69
- Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 9:17 pm
- Contact:
Re: [2.0.14] Factorio hangs if you switch users (MacOS)
I'll do some more digging. I wonder if there's a time constraint (like: maybe it only happens if you've been "other user" for 5+ minutes or some such).teiriko wrote: Mon Nov 04, 2024 9:42 pm I tried on MacBook M1 Pro with macOS 15.0.1 - couldn't reproduce
Also, to clarify, I'm 2.4Ghz 8 core i9 MPB 15" 2029, running Sonoma 14.6.1. Older MBP -- but not ancient! -- and latest SWUs.
-
- Long Handed Inserter
- Posts: 69
- Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 9:17 pm
- Contact:
Re: [strangepan] [2.0.14] Factorio hangs if you switch users (MacOS)
Ok, just tried it again. Two things of note:
* I was only "other user" for about 1.5 minutes -- I just switched, checked a web site, then switched back.
* I left the game at "Game Menu", but it still hung. That is, I...
... Left game
... Saved game
... (Choose to overwrite previous save game)
... Stay at menu that starts with "Resume" -- do not resume!
... Switch users, switch back, hung.
BTW, I did today's update, so this is now [2.0.28]
* I was only "other user" for about 1.5 minutes -- I just switched, checked a web site, then switched back.
* I left the game at "Game Menu", but it still hung. That is, I...
... Left game
... Saved game
... (Choose to overwrite previous save game)
... Stay at menu that starts with "Resume" -- do not resume!
... Switch users, switch back, hung.
BTW, I did today's update, so this is now [2.0.28]
Re: [strangepan] [2.0.14] Factorio hangs if you switch users (MacOS)
See also viewtopic.php?p=645262#p645262 , which has a slightly simpler reproduction, and an analysis of which code is hanging (some graphics code).
It might not help in your specific situation, but running headless doesn't hang:
If you want the game to make progress, your server settings should contain:
It might not help in your specific situation, but running headless doesn't hang:
Code: Select all
./factorio --verbose --start-server-load-latest --server-settings /Users/steam/Library/Application\ Support/factorio/config/server-settings.json
Code: Select all
{
"_comment_auto_pause": "Whether should the server be paused when no players are present.",
"auto_pause": false
}
-
- Long Handed Inserter
- Posts: 69
- Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 9:17 pm
- Contact:
Re: [strangepan] [2.0.14] Factorio hangs if you switch users (MacOS)
Oh, interesting.tinker9 wrote: Thu Jan 09, 2025 8:02 pm See also viewtopic.php?p=645262#p645262 , which has a slightly simpler reproduction, and an analysis of which code is hanging (some graphics code).
It might not help in your specific situation, but running headless doesn't hang:If you want the game to make progress, your server settings should contain:Code: Select all
./factorio --verbose --start-server-load-latest --server-settings /Users/steam/Library/Application\ Support/factorio/config/server-settings.json
Code: Select all
{ "_comment_auto_pause": "Whether should the server be paused when no players are present.", "auto_pause": false }
So, my hope is to...
* Play the game, locally, single user.
* Pause briefly to switch to my "work" user.
* Return after a very short time.
* Continue the same, all without quitting.
Does adding this "server" line help with that scenario? "Playing headless" sounds like "running a server and being the only user in a, technically, multi-user game" which, even if it works, seems an annoying work around.
Perhaps my feature-request is: may single-player mode automatically do this.
Re: [strangepan] [2.0.14] Factorio hangs if you switch users (MacOS)
Factorio currently hangs when you do this, which is a bug.Chumfactor wrote: Fri Jan 17, 2025 5:15 am So, my hope is to...
* Play the game, locally, single user.
* Pause briefly to switch to my "work" user.
* Return after a very short time.
* Continue the same, all without quitting.
Yep, it is like a multiplayer game with only one player.Chumfactor wrote: Fri Jan 17, 2025 5:15 am Does adding this "server" line help with that scenario? "Playing headless" sounds like "running a server and being the only user in a, technically, multi-user game" which, even if it works, seems an annoying work around.
With that setting, the server would keep your game running, then you could connect to it from another Factorio instance when you came back. But that doesn't sound like what you want here - it seems like you want it to pause (which is the default server behaviour with no config, when you disconnect from a Factorio client).
Pausing sounds like a useful feature request, but fixing the hanging bug would at least let you pause the game manually before you switch.Chumfactor wrote: Fri Jan 17, 2025 5:15 am Perhaps my feature-request is: may single-player mode automatically do this.