2.0 train interrupts, difficulty getting shunting/waiitng stations and parameterized drop

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
porcupine
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 4:58 am
Contact:

2.0 train interrupts, difficulty getting shunting/waiitng stations and parameterized drop

Post by porcupine »

So I've dug around, and am clearly not the only person who isn't getting it.

I'm many hours into a deathworld 2.0 run, still on Nauvis, 100% default generation, and am picking up all of my resources by train at this point (except space science of course).

I've named all of my resource supply stations "[item parameter] Get", and all of the material drop off locations as "[item parameter] Drop". I'm picking up minerals, plates, oil, etc.

In an effort to streamline the operation, I'm using groups of trains for each material (I tried the free for all, name everything "get" method initially, but immediately back-logged with stone and coal as you would expect, and couldn't find an elegant way out). My stations have combinators to count whats in the chests, and and the train limit sits at 0 until a full train load is available, at which point train limit gets set to 1. The stations are too small to have multiple consecutive trains in wait (largely because -- deathworld).

My schedule is *only* to stop at [material_icon] Get, and fill up. I have 3x interrupts setup:
1x Parameterized refuel, if fuel is below X, go to fueling station [using the fuel parameter], aka "[fuel parameter icon] Get". Not 100% certain if this is working or not, because two engines 100% full of rocket fuel, on an intermittent schedule will run for hours, and its possible they're not fueling, and I'm just not spotting it, but I *think* they're working.

Drop:
Conditions - [item parameter] > 0
Target - [item parameter] Drop, go till empty.

This one definitely works, the one that I can't figure out:

Wait Station:
Conditions - "Destination full or no path"
Target - Wait station: [item parameter] drop is not full [OR] [item parameter] get is not full, allow override is enabled on this one.

The issue here is, trains go to the "wait station", the other stations clear, and they never leave the wait station, while the respective get/drop stations become available, etc.

Pic of a train schedule is attached for reference. Blueprint of a train:

Code: Select all

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
Has anyone figured out how this is actually supposed to work/be done/etc.? I did see someone indicated that you could only use parameterized method for unloading stations (as the item parameter was set based on what was in cargo on the train at that moment), which does leave me questioning the parameterized wait station (because when a train is empty, how does it determine which parameter to look at for an empty pickup station, if there is a qty of 0 in the cargo)?

I could just drop the parameterized bit of the schedules/interrupts/etc., but ... well it seems a shame not to use a feature designed specifically for this.... Right?
Attachments
train schedule.png
train schedule.png (211.25 KiB) Viewed 319 times
waterBear
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2020 2:05 pm
Contact:

Re: 2.0 train interrupts, difficulty getting shunting/waiitng stations and parameterized drop

Post by waterBear »

Hello! I happened to write a short tutorial about this yesterday. It is here: 123723

Please take a look and see if that helps. If not I am happy to take a closer look or try to help.
HadesSupreme
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 3:53 pm
Contact:

Re: 2.0 train interrupts, difficulty getting shunting/waiitng stations and parameterized drop

Post by HadesSupreme »

Item wildcards can ONLY work once a train is loaded with an item. This means your choices are either:

1. Switch to circuit wildcards and use radars to send signals around.
2. Rename ALL of your loading stations to the same thing (for example I use "2x4 Loading" as my station name for cargo trains of that length). Then all trains go to one of these by default and have the item wildcard interrupt active when filled with cargo that sends them to the wildcard unloading station (e.g. this would be "2x4 Unloading iron" if the train has iron).
porcupine
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 4:58 am
Contact:

Re: 2.0 train interrupts, difficulty getting shunting/waiitng stations and parameterized drop

Post by porcupine »

HadesSupreme wrote: Fri Dec 06, 2024 3:04 am Item wildcards can ONLY work once a train is loaded with an item. This means your choices are either:

1. Switch to circuit wildcards and use radars to send signals around.
2. Rename ALL of your loading stations to the same thing (for example I use "2x4 Loading" as my station name for cargo trains of that length). Then all trains go to one of these by default and have the item wildcard interrupt active when filled with cargo that sends them to the wildcard unloading station (e.g. this would be "2x4 Unloading iron" if the train has iron).
To me this sounds like using the wildcard for shunting cannot work (IE: you could shunt wagons for unload station is full with a wildcard, but not for load station is full)?
Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”