With the introduction of parameters and using them to create blueprints with dynamic recipes, I've found that while it does work with assemblers it doesn't work in chemical plants nor electric furnaces. The electric furnace I've not been able to figure out a way to use parameters since you can't set the recipe with them, but when utilizing parameters for blueprints it would be nice to include. As for chemical plants, I'm not sure why it doesn't want to work when you can set the recipe. I've found a youtube video that explains how to set up parameters pretty well when it comes to making bot mall blueprints. Video. The only difference between this video and what i do is I set the recipe and requester chests to use parameter signals since setting it up in the blueprint will set these requests/recipe to these signals anyway. But this method does not work with chemical plants for some reason. The parameterise/reconfigure blueprint section does not recognize the recipe parameter, whether or not I only set the parameter signal in the chemical plant to be the only one with that signal or not, none of the other parameters will recognize it as a viable recipe and wont let you set other parameters to be ingredients of that recipe signal. I did think it could be a liquid recipe issue, but considering you can set the Foundry recipes to use parameters properly even with lava/molten metal recipes, this doesn't seem to be the case. So I'm at a bit of a loss when it comes to why the chemical plant doesn't work.
Blueprint for the attempt to set chemical plant as a parameterised blueprint:
Here is a blueprint I have set up with both the foundry and assembler 2 with parameters set up in the method mentioned above. Electric furnace is also included in this book but parameters aren't set on it due to the issue mentioned above:
[Kovarex] [2.0.13] Parameterized system doesn't work with Chemical Plant or Electric Furnaces
- Skellitor301
- Fast Inserter
- Posts: 158
- Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:04 pm
- Contact:
- Skellitor301
- Fast Inserter
- Posts: 158
- Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:04 pm
- Contact:
Re: [2.0.13] Parameterized system doesn't work with Chemical Plant or Electric Furnaces
Follow up can also confirm this does not work with the Biochamber either. None of the parameter icons will attach itself to the parameter set in the Biochamber which is expected. Blueprint string below for a Biochamber version of the blueprints above. What is expected is parameter 0 being set to the machine's recipe would in turn cause parameter 1-6 to set themselves as ingredients to parameter 0. But the system does not recognize parameter 0 to be a viable recipe to attach ingredient parameters to.
- Skellitor301
- Fast Inserter
- Posts: 158
- Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:04 pm
- Contact:
Re: [2.0.13] Parameterized system doesn't work with Chemical Plant or Electric Furnaces
So that does fix the issue, not sure why setting the parameter in the inserters to the same as the recipe doesn't work since p0 has ingredients. Might be an ordering issue on how the logic for reading the parameters is done.
btw, updated to include the math used for the bot mall logic:
btw, updated to include the math used for the bot mall logic:
Re: [2.0.13] Parameterized system doesn't work with Chemical Plant or Electric Furnaces
Skellitor301 wrote: ↑Sat Nov 09, 2024 12:42 am So that does fix the issue, not sure why setting the parameter in the inserters to the same as the recipe doesn't work since p0 has ingredients. Might be an ordering issue on how the logic for reading the parameters is done.
btw, updated to include the math used for the bot mall logic:
Sorry, I should have explained what I did. Yes, it is an ordering issue. It looks like parameters can only be used as ingredients of recipes set as other parameters if that recipe is a parameter above them in the list. In your original blueprint I just moved the parameter 0 to the top of the list and set the other parameters to be ingredients of it without an issue.
- Skellitor301
- Fast Inserter
- Posts: 158
- Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:04 pm
- Contact:
Re: [2.0.13] Parameterized system doesn't work with Chemical Plant or Electric Furnaces
Looking through the suggestions page I did see that other people have been running into this issue as well, and from what they consider the issue, it seems just as likely the issue stems from the recipe and the output item not being considered separate items as we've discussed in the other thread. So when you select a processing recipe like unbarreling, you can't really set that in inserters or put those in chests as that's a processing recipe and not an actual item.