[Rseding91] [2.0.13] Space platforms trying to construct ghosts belonging to different force

This subforum contains all the issues which we already resolved.
Post Reply
azaghal
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2020 11:13 am
Contact:

[Rseding91] [2.0.13] Space platforms trying to construct ghosts belonging to different force

Post by azaghal »

Description
When a ghost entity is placed on a space platform that does not match the space platform's force, the platform will keep "trying" to construct the said entity, including requesting the missing item for entity's construction. If the item is available, the platform will start the audio-visual cues for construction, but it will not be able to actually construct the entity.
Reproductions steps
  1. Start a new game with Space Age expansions enabled.
  2. Create additional force using the console (friend status helps for actually seeing the ghost created later on):

    Code: Select all

    /c game.create_force("not-player")
    /c game.forces["not-player"].set_friend("player", true)
    /c game.forces["player"].set_friend("not-player", true)
    
  3. Create the space platform itself:

    Code: Select all

    /c game.player.force.create_space_platform{name = "test-platform", planet = "nauvis", starter_pack = "space-platform-starter-pack"}
    /c game.player.force.platforms[1].apply_starter_pack()
    
  4. Switch to the platform remote view.
  5. Order construction of a single belt entity on the platform surroundings:

    Code: Select all

    /c game.player.force.platforms[1].surface.create_entity{name = "entity-ghost", position = {4.5, 4.5}, force = "not-player", inner_name = "transport-belt"}
    
  6. Click on the space platform hub, and observe content of the Requests for constructions section.
  7. Insert transport belts into space platform hub inventory:

    Code: Select all

    /c game.player.force.platforms[1].hub.insert({name = "transport-belt", count=100})
    
  8. Observe space platform hub behaviour.
Expected results
  • In step (6), no items are requested for construction.
  • In step (8), nothing happens on the platform.
Actual results
  • In step (6), space platform requests a single transport belt.
  • In step (8), space platform keeps producing audio-visual construction cues for the transport belt ghost entity.
Additional information
It does not seem to matter what the friend status of the ghost entity's force is. Same behaviour can be observed even if the force is not friendly. Similar behaviour can be observed even when placing tile ghosts that "belong" to a different force.

By "audio-visual cues", I mean you should take off your earphones and/or lower the volume. :)

Rseding91
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 13958
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:23 am
Contact:

Re: [Rseding91] [2.0.13] Space platforms trying to construct ghosts belonging to different force

Post by Rseding91 »

Thanks for the report. This is now fixed for the next release.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.

azaghal
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2020 11:13 am
Contact:

Re: [Rseding91] [2.0.13] Space platforms trying to construct ghosts belonging to different force

Post by azaghal »

Always a pleasure, thank you for addressing this one. :)

User avatar
jockeril
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 369
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 11:04 am
Contact:

Re: [Rseding91] [2.0.13] Space platforms trying to construct ghosts belonging to different force

Post by jockeril »

azaghal wrote:
Fri Nov 01, 2024 4:43 pm
Description
When a ghost entity is placed on a space platform that does not match the space platform's force, the platform will keep "trying" to construct the said entity, including requesting the missing item for entity's construction. If the item is available, the platform will start the audio-visual cues for construction, but it will not be able to actually construct the entity.
Reproductions steps
[ Truncated...]

By "audio-visual cues", I mean you should take off your earphones and/or lower the volume. :)
Impressive work with all that code to reproduce the issue... can you help me do the same with a mod issue I have ?
My mods

Formerly Hebrew translator for FARL & EvoGUI - two mods I highly recommend for anyone to check-out

join me on
- Twitter[@jockeril],
- Twitch.tv/jockeril,
- Youtube/jocker-il (or JoCKeR-iL)
- and steam !
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Resolved Problems and Bugs”