Please add a button to add a new blueprint parameter variable
Moderator: ickputzdirwech
Please add a button to add a new blueprint parameter variable
I would like a button to add a new blueprint parameter in the parametrisation dialog. I think this would be a nice addition in order to introduce variables into formulas which are not present at all after the blueprint is constructed.
Currently I have a constant combinator in some of my blueprints which is not connected to anything else. Its just a placeholder so I can have as many parameters as I need. See the screenshot below for an example.
Here I just want a constant value in my arithmetic combinator which is calculated once during construction via blueprint parametrisation. But I want to have meaningful parameters as well, so I don't have to use the calculator to calculate the constant myself every time I build this blueprint.
Currently I have an unconnected constant combinator with fake signals in order to add more parameters. As soon as I delete the constant combinator from the blueprint, these parameters are gone as well.
Would it be possible, to add an "Add parameter" button in order to use these parameters in formulas for other parameters?
Currently I have a constant combinator in some of my blueprints which is not connected to anything else. Its just a placeholder so I can have as many parameters as I need. See the screenshot below for an example.
Here I just want a constant value in my arithmetic combinator which is calculated once during construction via blueprint parametrisation. But I want to have meaningful parameters as well, so I don't have to use the calculator to calculate the constant myself every time I build this blueprint.
Currently I have an unconnected constant combinator with fake signals in order to add more parameters. As soon as I delete the constant combinator from the blueprint, these parameters are gone as well.
Would it be possible, to add an "Add parameter" button in order to use these parameters in formulas for other parameters?
Re: Please add a button to add a new blueprint parameter variable
I'm doing the same thing on my blueprints, and being able to add parameters that are not used directly on the build would solve the problem.
Re: Please add a button to add a new blueprint parameter variable
Yes please, I was disappointed to find that I couldn't set a generic count variable parameter without needing a combinator. A good example I have is with wanting to set the number of stacks that an inserter will fill a chest with.
I can't have a variable `x` that I can specify on placement and instead have to have a baked in constant or do the item count math myself which defeats the whole point of these parameters. Being able to take in input in the way OP described with a `add parameter` button would fix this issue without adding extra complexity to equations. Needing to have a temporary combinator in a blueprint only to delete it after placement is silly and it shouldn't work this way.Re: Please add a button to add a new blueprint parameter variable
I am also interested in this being implemented. Adding a separate field for "Unassigned Parameter Object" in the blueprint format seems doable, and from the blueprint GUI, a simple "add additional parameter" button to add a new row would allow for in-game interaction with this mechanic.
Blueprint parameters: new "Add Parameter Value" button
The new parameterized blueprints are AWESOME!
I wish there was a button "Add Variable" that adds a simple parameter variable to the parameter list, which is solely usable in other parameter's formulas and otherwise ignored.
For example, my parameter list for my simple "Maker" (one assembler with the classic requester-chest in and buffer chest out)
Here, I wanted to have a variable "x" to be used in subsequent formulas. My work-around was: Adding some useless request to my requestor chest, just to get a number showing up here.
I wish there was a button "Add Variable" that adds a simple parameter variable to the parameter list, which is solely usable in other parameter's formulas and otherwise ignored.
For example, my parameter list for my simple "Maker" (one assembler with the classic requester-chest in and buffer chest out)
Here, I wanted to have a variable "x" to be used in subsequent formulas. My work-around was: Adding some useless request to my requestor chest, just to get a number showing up here.
Re: Blueprint parameters: new "Add Parameter Value" button
I want to second this request. For my train station circuit, I needed to add 3 extra parameters for use in formulas in the parametrisation dialog, but they are not needed as direct inputs in any of the circuit assemblies.
My workaround was to add a superfluous constant combinator with placeholder values just to get them to show up as parameters. Doing it this way, I can delete the extraneous CC after the BP is built with 0 effect on the circuit's operation, but it still feels like an extra step that shouldn't need to happen.
My workaround was to add a superfluous constant combinator with placeholder values just to get them to show up as parameters. Doing it this way, I can delete the extraneous CC after the BP is built with 0 effect on the circuit's operation, but it still feels like an extra step that shouldn't need to happen.
-
- Manual Inserter
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2024 8:07 pm
- Contact:
Re: Blueprint parameters: new "Add Parameter Value" button
I am strongly in favor of this request. Blueprint parameters should not have to be bound to concrete signals or values, requiring us to make dummy requests/combinators when we want a numerical input from the blueprint user that isn't directly bound to something in the blueprint.
I would also like to add that it is highly annoying how numerical values are inferred from unique concrete values. For example, if you put down a constant combinator with 10 different signals all set to 1 and then blueprint it, you will only have one value parameter because the system assumed that all 1s are the same thing. When we actually want one value parameter for each of these 10 signals, we need to go through and assign a unique number to each one, which is extremely tedious.
I would also like to add that it is highly annoying how numerical values are inferred from unique concrete values. For example, if you put down a constant combinator with 10 different signals all set to 1 and then blueprint it, you will only have one value parameter because the system assumed that all 1s are the same thing. When we actually want one value parameter for each of these 10 signals, we need to go through and assign a unique number to each one, which is extremely tedious.
Re: Please add a button to add a new blueprint parameter variable
I would also love this. Currently using the same constant contaminator trick.
-
- Inserter
- Posts: 35
- Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 3:53 pm
- Contact:
Re: Please add a button to add a new blueprint parameter variable
+1. This took me like 30 mins of messing around with blueprinting to figure out why I couldn't set formulas after seeing someone else's blueprints. And if you don't watch youtube videos that show off this feature its possible to never know it exists.
Re: Please add a button to add a new blueprint parameter variable
+1;
It may be implement like this:
every formula have a "value" parameter variable reference to it self.
for example:
When I build this blueprint, it will ask me "what you want to store" and "number of steel chest", if I select :iron-plate: and 2, the result will be :iron-plate: and 9600.
calculate steps:
It may be implement like this:
every formula have a "value" parameter variable reference to it self.
for example:
When I build this blueprint, it will ask me "what you want to store" and "number of steel chest", if I select :iron-plate: and 2, the result will be :iron-plate: and 9600.
calculate steps:
Code: Select all
value = 2
value = value * 48 * p0_s = 2 * 48 * 100 = 9600
construct with value = 9600
Re: Please add a button to add a new blueprint parameter variable
As I posted in another, similar thread, I too would very much like to see this implemented as I also found myself reinventing the exact same solution as the others in this thread: an extra, ultimately unnecessary, constant combinator that can be deleted after the blueprint has been built.
Re: Please add a button to add a new blueprint parameter variable
Yes please, using fake constant combinator variables is a pain
-
- Manual Inserter
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2024 3:45 pm
- Contact:
Re: Please add a button to add a new blueprint parameter variable
Alternatively, consider not collapsing constant values into a single parameter when creating a blueprint. Example: when setting enable/disable condition to `:checkmark: = 1` on a logistics chest, and set `:iron-plate: > 1` in a combinator condition, when creating a blueprint, it collapses both "1s" into a single parameter, even though they are logically separate things. Or perhaps show an option to "split" a parameter for those that have collapsed values.
-
- Manual Inserter
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2024 7:23 pm
- Contact:
Re: Blueprint parameters: new "Add Parameter Value" button
just run into this, wanted to setup a "logistics drone fed assembler" bp with "number of stacks" to be stockpiled as an input to the bp placement (i.e. p0_s * stack_count as the enable/disable cutoff for the assembler) but since that isn't something concrete in the game i've had to add in a constant combinator just to have a signal "thing" to hold a value, and then the combinator has to be deleted after placing the bp
the variable section of the parameter interface is awesome, but sometimes you just need an extra input from the user to calculate from...
the variable section of the parameter interface is awesome, but sometimes you just need an extra input from the user to calculate from...
-
- Manual Inserter
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2024 11:22 am
- Contact:
Re: Blueprint parameters: new "Add Parameter Value" button
Just came here to add that I wanted to do exactly this but the UI doesn't allow you to just create variables. I want the user to be presented with a item and then a number for stack count, everything else would be calculated from there.LeftyRighty wrote: ↑Thu Oct 31, 2024 10:00 pmjust run into this, wanted to setup a "logistics drone fed assembler" bp with "number of stacks" to be stockpiled as an input to the bp placement (i.e. p0_s * stack_count as the enable/disable cutoff for the assembler) but since that isn't something concrete in the game i've had to add in a constant combinator just to have a signal "thing" to hold a value, and then the combinator has to be deleted after placing the bp
the variable section of the parameter interface is awesome, but sometimes you just need an extra input from the user to calculate from...
-
- Manual Inserter
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2024 12:27 pm
- Contact:
Re: Blueprint parameters: new "Add Parameter Value" button
I just want to express my support for this request.
Re: Please add a button to add a new blueprint parameter variable
[Koub] Merged into an older thread with the same suggestion.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.
- NotRexButCaesar
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 1132
- Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 12:47 am
- Contact:
Re: Please add a button to add a new blueprint parameter variable
I also would like a way to add more parameters without adding "dummy combinators."
Ⅲ—Crevez, chiens, si vous n'étes pas contents!
Re: Please add a button to add a new blueprint parameter variable
Adding my +1 for this.
This is especially useful if you want to make something customizable that doesn't even exists as a base value.
Example: Consider the "default" assembler blueprint with a requester and passive provider, where the recipe in the assembler is set via parameter, and the requester requests a stack of each ingredient (using 'ingredient of' and 'pX_s'). If I want to make the number of stacks requested configurable, there is no entry I can customize, so I need to add one so I can have the user enter the number of stacks and assign it a variable (let's say 'm'), and change the formulas for the requested amounts to "pX_s*m'.
Unless I'm a bit slow, and I just might be, there is no way to do this right now, unless I add a request for an unrequestable (item), and misuse it's request amount as this multiplier.
Of course this is just one example, I've wanted to have the ability to have one more variable like this many times already.
This is especially useful if you want to make something customizable that doesn't even exists as a base value.
Example: Consider the "default" assembler blueprint with a requester and passive provider, where the recipe in the assembler is set via parameter, and the requester requests a stack of each ingredient (using 'ingredient of' and 'pX_s'). If I want to make the number of stacks requested configurable, there is no entry I can customize, so I need to add one so I can have the user enter the number of stacks and assign it a variable (let's say 'm'), and change the formulas for the requested amounts to "pX_s*m'.
Unless I'm a bit slow, and I just might be, there is no way to do this right now, unless I add a request for an unrequestable (item), and misuse it's request amount as this multiplier.
Of course this is just one example, I've wanted to have the ability to have one more variable like this many times already.