[Klonan] [1.1.6] Issues with empty furnace input slot tooltip
- Deadlock989
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 2529
- Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:41 pm
[Klonan] [1.1.6] Issues with empty furnace input slot tooltip
This was partly picked up in the 1.1.1 release thread but I don't think it ever got formally reported.
1.1.1 added a tooltip to empty furnace input slots. If (in a modded situation) the list of furnace recipes is large enough, the tooltip just shows a massive vertical list that's cut off by available screen space.
In addition, if the "furnace" has fluid boxes and multiple input slots (one for the single allowed solid ingredient, one or more for the fluid box inputs) then the list is completely unpopulated. The item ingredient slot shows the empty tooltip shown below despite multiple valid recipes being unlocked; the fluid slots just say "Ingredient". Furnace recipes are only permitted one item ingredient but there is no restriction on fluid ingredients: the "furnace" (or whatever it is the entity represents) switches correctly between recipes as long as it never gets "blocked" by having the wrong fluid in it. (Please don't change this. It works very well.)
To be honest - I think you could lose this feature completely and few folks would be particularly exercised by it. That's why we have the "Made in:" part of recipe tooltips. Ammo slots need the attention more than furnace slots ever did.
1.1.1 added a tooltip to empty furnace input slots. If (in a modded situation) the list of furnace recipes is large enough, the tooltip just shows a massive vertical list that's cut off by available screen space.
In addition, if the "furnace" has fluid boxes and multiple input slots (one for the single allowed solid ingredient, one or more for the fluid box inputs) then the list is completely unpopulated. The item ingredient slot shows the empty tooltip shown below despite multiple valid recipes being unlocked; the fluid slots just say "Ingredient". Furnace recipes are only permitted one item ingredient but there is no restriction on fluid ingredients: the "furnace" (or whatever it is the entity represents) switches correctly between recipes as long as it never gets "blocked" by having the wrong fluid in it. (Please don't change this. It works very well.)
To be honest - I think you could lose this feature completely and few folks would be particularly exercised by it. That's why we have the "Made in:" part of recipe tooltips. Ammo slots need the attention more than furnace slots ever did.
Re: [Klonan] [1.1.6] Issues with empty furnace input slot tooltip
Ok, I am working on this, what do you think of this solution:
- Deadlock989
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 2529
- Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:41 pm
Re: [Klonan] [1.1.6] Issues with empty furnace input slot tooltip
I think that looks really good.
Re: [Klonan] [1.1.6] Issues with empty furnace input slot tooltip
Making some attempt at making the large categories work, some sucess:
The scrapping however is obviously too much, not sure how to solve it, probably not worth any deeper effort:
Re: [Klonan] [1.1.6] Issues with empty furnace input slot tooltip
I guess we will just tell people to buy a 4k monitor
- Deadlock989
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 2529
- Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:41 pm
Re: [Klonan] [1.1.6] Issues with empty furnace input slot tooltip
I mean, on the one hand, I don't think this feature needs to exist in the first place, though you've made it a lot better by the looks of it.
Some random ideas off the top of my head:
1. Don't show a tooltip at all if the number of items in the list is above X. I don't really know what X would be, maybe some gueestimate about whether or not the tooltip blots out more than half the screen or something, maybe actually base it on the number of item prototypes in the game - e.g. when you hit the point where it would be economical to show what can't be put in this slot
2. Don't show these tooltips for crafting categories that have an opt-out flag in their RecipeCategory prototype. Or you could even make it opt-in, and set it to true for the vanilla "smelting" category which (IIRC) is the only category used in furnace-type entities in vanilla.
3. Call it good enough / done and do the same thing with ammo tooltips
Re: [Klonan] [1.1.6] Issues with empty furnace input slot tooltip
Yea I am already working on the ammo Next question, how far do we feature creep? Should gun slots have it? Armor slots? Module slots?Deadlock989 wrote: ↑Tue Jan 12, 2021 12:27 pm 3. Call it good enough / done and do the same thing with ammo tooltips
- Deadlock989
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 2529
- Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:41 pm
Re: [Klonan] [1.1.6] Issues with empty furnace input slot tooltip
Those vanilla items ("Shotgun shells", "Piercing shotgun shells") have both the {"hidden","hide-from-bonus-gui"} flags set on them to stop them from appearing anywhere else, because there is no unlockable recipe for them in that mod - I guess these tooltips should be looking at one of those too?
Gun slots - maybe? Eh.
Armour slots - don't reckon so.
Module slots - would get messy due to recipe limitations on specific modules.
Ammo slots is the one I've seen people asking for for years and I reckon it would really help in mods that have unfamiliar weapons and turrets, loads of different ammo categories etc. Armour - can it even have categories? Isn't there only one armour slot in the game, period?
Re: [Klonan] [1.1.6] Issues with empty furnace input slot tooltip
Alright, they will check the "hidden" flag:Deadlock989 wrote: ↑Tue Jan 12, 2021 12:39 pm Those vanilla items ("Shotgun shells", "Piercing shotgun shells") have both the {"hidden","hide-from-bonus-gui"} flags set on them to stop them from appearing anywhere else, because there is no unlockable recipe for them in that mod - I guess these tooltips should be looking at one of those too?
If in the future it needs some more precise differentiation, we can add a specific flag like the fuel tooltip flag
- Deadlock989
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 2529
- Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:41 pm
Re: [Klonan] [1.1.6] Issues with empty furnace input slot tooltip
I never even noticed that fuel one, good to know. Might be a nice thing to have for the massive scrapping recipe issue as well. If there was something like "hide-from-furnace-tooltip" then we could just set it on every item that isn't something genuinely furnace-y if we want to prevent tooltips from blotting out the sun accidentally.
Re: [Klonan] [1.1.6] Issues with empty furnace input slot tooltip
This attention to detail, responsiveness, and player engagement, set you in a class of your own - no-one else comes close. You are amazing! Thank you!
@Deadlock989: how about blotting out the sun deliberately? Like fog of war only better...
@Klonan: oh yeah a reason to say I _need_ a 4k monitor!
@Deadlock989: how about blotting out the sun deliberately? Like fog of war only better...
@Klonan: oh yeah a reason to say I _need_ a 4k monitor!
My own personal Factorio super-power - running out of power.
Re: [Klonan] [1.1.6] Issues with empty furnace input slot tooltip
hard disagree.Deadlock989 wrote: ↑Mon Dec 28, 2020 6:00 pm To be honest - I think you could lose this feature completely and few folks would be particularly exercised by it. That's why we have the "Made in:" part of recipe tooltips.
feature request, not a bug - but i agree.Ammo slots need the attention more
Re: [Klonan] [1.1.6] Issues with empty furnace input slot tooltip
you could make the ingredient slot a clickable entity that brings up a UI similar to the Logistics overview with a scrollbar for vertical overflow.
Re: [Klonan] [1.1.6] Issues with empty furnace input slot tooltip
I did gun and modules, because why not if i'm already here doing it
Re: [Klonan] [1.1.6] Issues with empty furnace input slot tooltip
So all of this is now in the next release