[1.1.5] Hover states of toggle buttons are the same

Post your ideas and suggestions how to improve the game.

Moderator: ickputzdirwech

Post Reply
DrParanoia
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 6:25 pm
Contact:

[1.1.5] Hover states of toggle buttons are the same

Post by DrParanoia »

In 1.0 there is a clear difference between the ON and OFF state of the button when you hover it, in 1.1 that difference is virtually gone.

So in 1.0, when you enable the "Personal roboport", for example, the state is pretty obvious.
hover_1.0.png
hover_1.0.png (1.99 KiB) Viewed 1118 times

In 1.1, the states are virtually indistinguishable (aside from the ON icon being one pixel lower) which leads to a bad UX (most of the time I don't understand did I enable or disable the roboport?)
icons.png
icons.png (3.45 KiB) Viewed 1118 times

The suggestion is to either remove the "hover" state for the enabled button, or make it more clear (as it was in 1.0). Thanks! :D
Last edited by DrParanoia on Tue Dec 15, 2020 5:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Klonan
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 5040
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.5] Hover states of toggle buttons

Post by Klonan »

Not really a bug

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 5202
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1.5] Hover states of toggle buttons

Post by eradicator »

Not really true either, the two hover states are subtly different ;).
hover.png
hover.png (1.99 KiB) Viewed 1274 times
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.

DrParanoia
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 6:25 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.5] Hover states of toggle buttons

Post by DrParanoia »

Klonan wrote:
Mon Dec 14, 2020 11:38 am
Not really a bug
Where could I post such suggestions? :shock:
eradicator wrote:
Mon Dec 14, 2020 2:18 pm
Not really true either, the two hover states are subtly different ;).
Your second image is not a hover, it's an "enabled" state. I am talking about how the button looks when you hover the mouse in both states. The buttons are the same (the only difference is that the "enabled" buttons has the icon ONE pixel lower :D)
icons.png
icons.png (3.45 KiB) Viewed 1234 times

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 5202
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1.5] Hover states of toggle buttons

Post by eradicator »

DrParanoia wrote:
Mon Dec 14, 2020 10:34 pm
Your second image is not a hover, it's an "enabled" state.
My picture is infact of both the hovered enabled and hovered disabled states. But i naively took the picture in 1.0, and it looks like 1.1 fixed the "missing" glow on the hovered enabled state.
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.

DrParanoia
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 6:25 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.5] Hover states of toggle buttons

Post by DrParanoia »

eradicator wrote:
Mon Dec 14, 2020 10:45 pm
My picture is infact of both the hovered enabled and hovered disabled states. But i naively took the picture in 1.0, and it looks like 1.1 fixed the "missing" glow on the hovered enabled state.
So basically it is in fact a bug in 1.1? :D

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 5202
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1.5] Hover states of toggle buttons

Post by eradicator »

DrParanoia wrote:
Tue Dec 15, 2020 12:15 am
eradicator wrote:
Mon Dec 14, 2020 10:45 pm
My picture is infact of both the hovered enabled and hovered disabled states. But i naively took the picture in 1.0, and it looks like 1.1 fixed the "missing" glow on the hovered enabled state.
So basically it is in fact a bug in 1.1? :D
I'm not a dev ;).
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.

Koub
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 6797
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: [1.1.5] Hover states of toggle buttons

Post by Koub »

[Koub] Moved to Ideas and suggestions. Not a bug, but can be made into a change request.
@OP : can you rephrase your post into a Suggestion, using the usual template to help make ckear the issue and what you're suggesting to change ?
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.

DrParanoia
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2019 6:25 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.5] Hover states of toggle buttons are the same

Post by DrParanoia »

So, no one is facing the same issue? :D

User avatar
ssilk
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 12754
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1.5] Hover states of toggle buttons are the same

Post by ssilk »

Yes, yesterday (actual version). I turned robots “off”, but in truth I turned them on. I need some clicks on the icon, to understand what’s on and what’s off.

And I mean the suggestion is clear: make that more obvious. For example tint the button darker, if off. Make the buttons “light”, if on. Many possibilities.
Cool suggestion: Eatable MOUSE-pointers.
Have you used the Advanced Search today?
Need help, question? FAQ - Wiki - Forum help
I still like small signatures...

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Suggestions”