Trains are my current stumbling block. I can't seem to get a world past 3-4 trains before I get frustrated with trying to make them dynamic. Thankfully, v1.1 is bringing the train limit to train stations.
I've started building a "big" train network in my v1.0 world to accommodate the v1.1 changes. I think an extra setting would compliment the v1.1 train limit very well:
A train wait condition for the availability of the next station. That is, "Next station is active". This would allow per-station anti-skip. An alternative would be a whole-train setting of "don't skip stations" which would be equivalent to having a "Next station is active" wait condition on every station.
I'm aware that using the circuit network to setting the train-limit to 0 would be a similar effect. However, that's on a station basis, this change would be on a individual train basis. If provided per station wait condition entry, then it would be on a per-train-per-station basis.
I think this would provide flexibility and compliment the v1.1 update well.
[Train] New wait condition to compliment v1.1 — condition to not skip stations
Moderator: ickputzdirwech
-
- Burner Inserter
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2016 2:15 am
- Contact:
Re: [Train] New wait condition to compliment v1.1 — condition to not skip stations
Kind of off topic, but I think you meant complement instead of compliment
Now back to the core of the stuff : If I understand your need, you want to have conditions for deciding if a train should go to a station in addition to the existing conditions to leave a station, like in this suggestion.
Now back to the core of the stuff : If I understand your need, you want to have conditions for deciding if a train should go to a station in addition to the existing conditions to leave a station, like in this suggestion.
Koub - Please consider English is not my native language.
-
- Burner Inserter
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2016 2:15 am
- Contact:
Re: [Train] New wait condition to compliment v1.1 — condition to not skip stations
Not quite. When you turn off all stations in a train's list—and when it's time for that train to path to that station—it will skip that station. In my case I want the train to wait at it's current location until the next location is available.
I posted on the 'train-help' section of discord and the answer I got was simply: Place a no-path'able station with the same name as the station you don't want skipped.
The result is that when the train goes to leave it's station, it get's a no-path error because none of the pathable stations are open, only the no-path'able.
This is on a per-station (group) basis. Instead of using a no-path'able station, My recommendation is a wait condition for a per-train-per-condition basis.
Here's an example manifest:
Code: Select all
> Iron Pickup
- Full Cargo inventory
> Iron Dropoff
- Empty Cargo Inventory
> Exit Stacker
- Next station is active
-
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 261
- Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 10:44 pm
- Contact:
Re: [Train] New wait condition to compliment v1.1 — condition to not skip stations
1.1 trains will be great.
In the mean time, are you building single or dual directional trains? Dual directional single track trains are quite a bit more difficult to signal correctly for 3+ trains.
However two lane single directional track is much easier for beginner players to master. Have you tried them?
Admittedly there is a learning curve, but following the basic rules...
Use a regular signal after a merge, and at regular intervals of your max train length
Use a chain signal before a split or a merge
You will soon figure it out with some persistence.
In the mean time, are you building single or dual directional trains? Dual directional single track trains are quite a bit more difficult to signal correctly for 3+ trains.
However two lane single directional track is much easier for beginner players to master. Have you tried them?
Admittedly there is a learning curve, but following the basic rules...
Use a regular signal after a merge, and at regular intervals of your max train length
Use a chain signal before a split or a merge
You will soon figure it out with some persistence.
Factorio Towns... https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLf5d ... -ps9WNZOCe
- NotRexButCaesar
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 1133
- Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 12:47 am
- Contact:
Re: [Train] New wait condition to compliment v1.1 — condition to not skip stations
I don’t think he has a signaling issue. It seems to me he just wants a train to be forced to visit every station in order, but also be able to disable stations in the schedule.MassiveDynamic wrote: ↑Sun Oct 18, 2020 4:59 pm 1.1 trains will be great.
In the mean time, are you building single or dual directional trains? Dual directional single track trains are quite a bit more difficult to signal correctly for 3+ trains
I don’t think there is an issue with having to place a copy unpathable station, but the op seems to want another way for convenience.
Ⅲ—Crevez, chiens, si vous n'étes pas contents!