it is possible to change
Render an entity during the game
for exemple https://lua-api.factorio.com/latest/Lua ... _animation
but I don't know how to do it
it's possible Render an entity
-
- Manual Inserter
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2020 4:28 am
- Contact:
Re: it's possible Render an entity
I haven't seen anyone using it. Though, if it is done right then in some cases you would just think that it's done with static file modifications so you wouldn't be able to tell how it is actually implemented by just looking at the result.
I haven't used it yet, but I'm thinking of doing it in the future for one of my mod ideas. So I can't really help you that much now since I don't have any code examples I can point to. What kind of modding experience do you have?
I haven't used it yet, but I'm thinking of doing it in the future for one of my mod ideas. So I can't really help you that much now since I don't have any code examples I can point to. What kind of modding experience do you have?
My mods: Capsule Ammo | HandyHands - Automatic handcrafting | ChunkyChunks - Configurable Gridlines
Some other creations: Combinassembly Language GitHub w instructions and link to run it in your browser | 0~drain Laser
Some other creations: Combinassembly Language GitHub w instructions and link to run it in your browser | 0~drain Laser
Re: it's possible Render an entity
You must define a special type called "animation" in data.lua. For example:
In control.lua you can then place the animation anywhere on the map. You cannot edit the animation in control.lua, but it does have some properties like scale and speed that you can adjust.
Code: Select all
data:extend{
{
type = "animation",
name = "my-animation",
filename = "__base__/graphics/entity/electric-furnace/electric-furnace-heater.png",
width = 25,
height = 15,
frame_count = 12,
animation_speed = 0.5,
},
}
-
- Manual Inserter
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2020 4:28 am
- Contact:
Re: it's possible Render an entity
I have little experience.Qon wrote: Sat Sep 12, 2020 7:41 am I haven't seen anyone using it. Though, if it is done right then in some cases you would just think that it's done with static file modifications so you wouldn't be able to tell how it is actually implemented by just looking at the result.
I haven't used it yet, but I'm thinking of doing it in the future for one of my mod ideas. So I can't really help you that much now since I don't have any code examples I can point to. What kind of modding experience do you have?
I made a mod that allows you to recycle the remains of dead entities by returning parts of the recipes
Re: it's possible Render an entity
Like this one?evandro1994 wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 1:45 am I made a mod that allows you to recycle the remains of dead entities by returning parts of the recipes
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/LootingRemnants
-
- Manual Inserter
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2020 4:28 am
- Contact:
Re: it's possible Render an entity
is similar to thatdarkfrei wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 8:59 amLike this one?evandro1994 wrote: Thu Sep 17, 2020 1:45 am I made a mod that allows you to recycle the remains of dead entities by returning parts of the recipes
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/LootingRemnants
then you have to mine the dead entity to get the items
-
- Manual Inserter
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2020 4:28 am
- Contact:
Re: it's possible Render an entity
it is possible to hide an animation from a standard entity and overlay a temporary animation.DaveMcW wrote: Sat Sep 12, 2020 7:55 am You must define a special type called "animation" in data.lua. For example:
In control.lua you can then place the animation anywhere on the map. You cannot edit the animation in control.lua, but it does have some properties like scale and speed that you can adjust.Code: Select all
data:extend{ { type = "animation", name = "my-animation", filename = "__base__/graphics/entity/electric-furnace/electric-furnace-heater.png", width = 25, height = 15, frame_count = 12, animation_speed = 0.5, }, }