[0.18] Please post bugs and balance issues here.
Moderator: bobingabout
Re: [0.18] Please post bugs and balance issues here.
stdlib's Technology:remove_prereq nullifies prerequisites value of Technology if there's no values left in it.
This could possibly break boblibrary's bobmods.lib.tech.replace_prerequisite, as it has no check for nil value. I'm not sure whose bug this is, but I'm reported to both of you.
This could possibly break boblibrary's bobmods.lib.tech.replace_prerequisite, as it has no check for nil value. I'm not sure whose bug this is, but I'm reported to both of you.
- bobingabout
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 7352
- Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
- Contact:
Re: [0.18] Please post bugs and balance issues here.
A bit odd because quite a few other functions in the same file do check for it.aberro wrote: ↑Sun May 10, 2020 5:25 pmstdlib's Technology:remove_prereq nullifies prerequisites value of Technology if there's no values left in it.
This could possibly break boblibrary's bobmods.lib.tech.replace_prerequisite, as it has no check for nil value. I'm not sure whose bug this is, but I'm reported to both of you.
I'll make the change.
Re: [0.18] Please post bugs and balance issues here.
I get an error with Bob's Character Classes.
There is a technology with the name
[edit]: Just realized the same is true for
There is a technology with the name
Is an english locale string missing?Unknown key: "technology-name.engineer-body"
[edit]: Just realized the same is true for
Unknown key: "technology-name.prospector-body"
- bobingabout
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 7352
- Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
- Contact:
Re: [0.18] Please post bugs and balance issues here.
Yeah, I actually found this one myself. I've fixed it but not released it yet.
Re: [0.18] Please post bugs and balance issues here.
Great to hear that it's fixed already.bobingabout wrote: ↑Tue May 19, 2020 1:15 amYeah, I actually found this one myself. I've fixed it but not released it yet.
- bobingabout
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 7352
- Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
- Contact:
Re: [0.18] Please post bugs and balance issues here.
And thank you for the report. Although it wasn't needed this time, there's probably other things out there that I'm not aware of.valneq wrote: ↑Tue May 19, 2020 2:06 amGreat to hear that it's fixed already.bobingabout wrote: ↑Tue May 19, 2020 1:15 amYeah, I actually found this one myself. I've fixed it but not released it yet.
Prototype error for burner-generators
Hello Bob,
I found a problem in your prototype definition for "bob-burner-generator"
Found in bobpower 0.18.5
Description: according to wiki definition of BurnerGenerator and EnergySource, I expected the field 'burner' to have defined the type as "burner". Instead it does not have the field defined at all.
That field is mandatory for EnergySource, even for energy sources that are forced to a type by the enclosing prototype, 'burner-generator' in this case.
I also checked definition in other mods (Klonan's KS_Power) and found is correctly defined.
While not game-breaking, it kinda breaks one of my personal libraries that expects conforming definition. It would be nice if you could fix it on your side.
I am not sure if that applies only to "bob-burner-generator", once I encountered the problem I fixed heavy handed for all prototypes I read.
I found a problem in your prototype definition for "bob-burner-generator"
Found in bobpower 0.18.5
Description: according to wiki definition of BurnerGenerator and EnergySource, I expected the field 'burner' to have defined the type as "burner". Instead it does not have the field defined at all.
That field is mandatory for EnergySource, even for energy sources that are forced to a type by the enclosing prototype, 'burner-generator' in this case.
I also checked definition in other mods (Klonan's KS_Power) and found is correctly defined.
While not game-breaking, it kinda breaks one of my personal libraries that expects conforming definition. It would be nice if you could fix it on your side.
I am not sure if that applies only to "bob-burner-generator", once I encountered the problem I fixed heavy handed for all prototypes I read.
- bobingabout
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 7352
- Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
- Contact:
Re: Prototype error for burner-generators
From somebody who's seen the source code... type = "burner" etc is not needed on a burner = tag, as the type tag is only needed to determine what type of energy source it is.clampi wrote: ↑Wed May 20, 2020 12:17 pmHello Bob,
I found a problem in your prototype definition for "bob-burner-generator"
Found in bobpower 0.18.5
Description: according to wiki definition of BurnerGenerator and EnergySource, I expected the field 'burner' to have defined the type as "burner". Instead it does not have the field defined at all.
That field is mandatory for EnergySource, even for energy sources that are forced to a type by the enclosing prototype, 'burner-generator' in this case.
I also checked definition in other mods (Klonan's KS_Power) and found is correctly defined.
While not game-breaking, it kinda breaks one of my personal libraries that expects conforming definition. It would be nice if you could fix it on your side.
I am not sure if that applies only to "bob-burner-generator", once I encountered the problem I fixed heavy handed for all prototypes I read.
This is because internally, instead of actually having an "energy_source" type (the dynamic one that can be any), they do actually have a burnerEnergySource defined instead, the same that would be applied if you have energy_source {type = "burner"} except it's pre-defined to be that.
Even though it only says energy_source as the tag, and all the base game entities then have type = "electric" in the data code, certain objects like Equipment can only be powered by Electric, and therefore are pre-defined to be that, so if you remove the type="electric" tag, they don't crash.
To further make my point, look at the Locomotive, that doesn't have a type="burner" tag on it's burner= table.
Re: [0.18] Please post bugs and balance issues here.
As a programmer, I understood why it worked. However, as a user of another code, there is always the conflict: what should be supported, the documented behavior or the real implemented behavior. Either can change without notice.
I come to hate seeing code like the following though
Especially when the first test is really a switch for multiple, different, behaviors.
To come back to the reported issue, as said, I know how to work around and understood that the expected-of-type-X should be applied.
Maybe a defect for wiki documentation which is incorrect.
The same applies to fluid boxes, the field 'production_type' does by default has the value of whatever-is-expected from the enclosing prototype, not 'None' as documented.
I come to hate seeing code like the following though
Code: Select all
if(software_version == special_undocumented_number) {
apply_fix()
} else {
expected_documented_behavior_which_works_at_best_70percent_of_times()
}
To come back to the reported issue, as said, I know how to work around and understood that the expected-of-type-X should be applied.
Maybe a defect for wiki documentation which is incorrect.
The same applies to fluid boxes, the field 'production_type' does by default has the value of whatever-is-expected from the enclosing prototype, not 'None' as documented.
-
- Inserter
- Posts: 40
- Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 6:06 pm
- Contact:
Re: [0.18] Please post bugs and balance issues here.
I am running a save from .17 and just updated to .18 and latest bobs mods, but this should apply to any bobs metals... migration from 0.18.7 -> 0.18.8.
Since 0.18.8 the enriched fuel block is researched via the `advanced-oil-processing` tech instead of the `chemical-processing-3` tech, but when loading a pre 0.18.8 game with 0.18.8 factorio doesn't properly recognize this.
This causes the enriched fuel block to be not craftable according to FNEI and the only way to setup new production for the enriched fuel block is by copying over the setup from another machine, you cant select it from the menus.
Is this something I should report to the factorio devs? Or is there something you can do from the mod side of things.
ps
You have line to add `enriched-fuel-from-liquid-fuel` to the advanced oil processing tech in the block for oil processing not advanced oil processing
prototypes/technology-updates.lua:28
Since 0.18.8 the enriched fuel block is researched via the `advanced-oil-processing` tech instead of the `chemical-processing-3` tech, but when loading a pre 0.18.8 game with 0.18.8 factorio doesn't properly recognize this.
This causes the enriched fuel block to be not craftable according to FNEI and the only way to setup new production for the enriched fuel block is by copying over the setup from another machine, you cant select it from the menus.
Is this something I should report to the factorio devs? Or is there something you can do from the mod side of things.
ps
You have line to add `enriched-fuel-from-liquid-fuel` to the advanced oil processing tech in the block for oil processing not advanced oil processing
prototypes/technology-updates.lua:28
- bobingabout
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 7352
- Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
- Contact:
Re: [0.18] Please post bugs and balance issues here.
do you have bobplates (Bob's Metals, Chemicals and Intermediates mod) installed?theMightyMan wrote: ↑Thu May 28, 2020 6:18 pmI am running a save from .17 and just updated to .18 and latest bobs mods, but this should apply to any bobs metals... migration from 0.18.7 -> 0.18.8.
Since 0.18.8 the enriched fuel block is researched via the `advanced-oil-processing` tech instead of the `chemical-processing-3` tech, but when loading a pre 0.18.8 game with 0.18.8 factorio doesn't properly recognize this.
This causes the enriched fuel block to be not craftable according to FNEI and the only way to setup new production for the enriched fuel block is by copying over the setup from another machine, you cant select it from the menus.
Is this something I should report to the factorio devs? Or is there something you can do from the mod side of things.
ps
You have line to add `enriched-fuel-from-liquid-fuel` to the advanced oil processing tech in the block for oil processing not advanced oil processing
prototypes/technology-updates.lua:28
I mean, I presume you do if you have that item, but that mod contains a function that runs "force.reset_technology_effects()" on every force, this SHOULD fix the issue. If it isn't, that's probably a base game issue.
Try running the command manually. open up the console and type:
Code: Select all
/c game.player.force.reset_technology_effects()
-
- Inserter
- Posts: 40
- Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 6:06 pm
- Contact:
Re: [0.18] Please post bugs and balance issues here.
Yes I have Bob's Metals, Chemicals and Intermediates mod installed, I just wrote "bobs metals..." because I didn't want to write it al out and didn't know if bobplates would bring up confusion.bobingabout wrote: ↑Thu May 28, 2020 7:58 pmdo you have bobplates (Bob's Metals, Chemicals and Intermediates mod) installed?
I mean, I presume you do if you have that item, but that mod contains a function that runs "force.reset_technology_effects()" on every force, this SHOULD fix the issue. If it isn't, that's probably a base game issue.
Try running the command manually. open up the console and type:Code: Select all
/c game.player.force.reset_technology_effects()
Sadly this doesn't work, since all other things work properly with regards to tech should I report this as a bug for factorio?
I didnt save/reload the save after running
Code: Select all
/c game.player.force.reset_technology_effects()
- bobingabout
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 7352
- Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
- Contact:
Re: [0.18] Please post bugs and balance issues here.
I'm honestly not sure what's going on, it seems to work fine for me, you're sure you've researched advanced oil processing, right? You don't have bobrevamp installed, which moves it to fuel-blocks research?theMightyMan wrote: ↑Thu May 28, 2020 8:47 pmYes I have Bob's Metals, Chemicals and Intermediates mod installed, I just wrote "bobs metals..." because I didn't want to write it al out and didn't know if bobplates would bring up confusion.bobingabout wrote: ↑Thu May 28, 2020 7:58 pmdo you have bobplates (Bob's Metals, Chemicals and Intermediates mod) installed?
I mean, I presume you do if you have that item, but that mod contains a function that runs "force.reset_technology_effects()" on every force, this SHOULD fix the issue. If it isn't, that's probably a base game issue.
Try running the command manually. open up the console and type:Code: Select all
/c game.player.force.reset_technology_effects()
Sadly this doesn't work, since all other things work properly with regards to tech should I report this as a bug for factorio?
I didnt save/reload the save after runningbut I assume it is able to hot-reload since it didn't ask me to.Code: Select all
/c game.player.force.reset_technology_effects()
Re: [0.18] Please post bugs and balance issues here.
Hi Bob, not sure who to take this to, but I've been doing a run with space exploration and everything was going great til I wanted to launch a rocket. With bob's warfare it requires the rocket engine item that requires tungsten, processing of which is locked behind space science which requires you to go to space and being able to launch rockets. I'm getting around it by removing the recipe update from steel to tungsten for rocket engine.
-
- Inserter
- Posts: 40
- Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 6:06 pm
- Contact:
Re: [0.18] Please post bugs and balance issues here.
bobingabout wrote: ↑Fri May 29, 2020 12:37 amI'm honestly not sure what's going on, it seems to work fine for me, you're sure you've researched advanced oil processing, right? You don't have bobrevamp installed, which moves it to fuel-blocks research?theMightyMan wrote: ↑Thu May 28, 2020 8:47 pmYes I have Bob's Metals, Chemicals and Intermediates mod installed, I just wrote "bobs metals..." because I didn't want to write it al out and didn't know if bobplates would bring up confusion.bobingabout wrote: ↑Thu May 28, 2020 7:58 pmdo you have bobplates (Bob's Metals, Chemicals and Intermediates mod) installed?
I mean, I presume you do if you have that item, but that mod contains a function that runs "force.reset_technology_effects()" on every force, this SHOULD fix the issue. If it isn't, that's probably a base game issue.
Try running the command manually. open up the console and type:Code: Select all
/c game.player.force.reset_technology_effects()
Sadly this doesn't work, since all other things work properly with regards to tech should I report this as a bug for factorio?
I didnt save/reload the save after runningbut I assume it is able to hot-reload since it didn't ask me to.Code: Select all
/c game.player.force.reset_technology_effects()
I do have some other mods installed too, I have had issues where reneabling mods that ware not the trigger to not having the issue anymore did trigger the issue. So I listed the original mods that reproduce it, and will list mods where disabling still work.
Here is a list of mods that I have been able to reproduce it with:
[*]angels crawler train 0.1.2
[*]angels petrochem 0.9.8
[*]angels refining 0.11.10
[*]angels smelting 0.6.6
[*]bobs inserters 0.18.3
[*]bob assemblers 0.18.5
[*]bobs electrics 0.18.1
[*]bobs enemies 0.18.5
[*]bobs functions 0.18.9
[*]bobs logistics 0.18.9
[*]bobs logistics belt reskin 0.18.5
[*]bobs plates 0.18.{7/8}
[*]bobs mining 0.18.1
[*]bobs modules 0.18.3
[*]bobs ores 0.18.3
[*]bobs personal equipment 0.18.1
[*]bobs power 0.18.6
[*]bobs revamp 0.18.5
[*]bobs tech 0.18.3
[*]bobs warfare 0.18.6
after that I unloaded the following mods while still being able to reproduce this :
[*]bobs inserters 0.18.3
[*]bob assemblers 0.18.5
[*]bobs electrics 0.18.1
[*]bobs enemies 0.18.5
[*]bobs logistics belt reskin 0.18.5
[*]bobs mining 0.18.1
and then:
[*]bobs logistics 0.18.9
then:
[*]bobs ores 0.18.3
then:
[*]angels crawler train 0.1.2
then:
[*]bobs power 0.18.6
then: <<- recorded
[*]bobs personal equipment 0.18.1
then:
[*]bobs modules 0.18.3
then:
[*]bobs tech 0.18.3
then:
[*]angels smelting 0.6.6
then:
[*]bobs revamp 0.18.5
At the end I was left with:[*]angels petrochem 0.9.8
[*]angels refining 0.11.10
[*]angels smelting 0.6.6
[*]bobs inserters 0.18.3
[*]bob assemblers 0.18.5
[*]bobs electrics 0.18.1
[*]bobs enemies 0.18.5
[*]bobs functions 0.18.9
[*]bobs logistics 0.18.9
[*]bobs logistics belt reskin 0.18.5
[*]bobs plates 0.18.{7/8}
[*]bobs mining 0.18.1
[*]bobs modules 0.18.3
[*]bobs ores 0.18.3
[*]bobs personal equipment 0.18.1
[*]bobs power 0.18.6
[*]bobs revamp 0.18.5
[*]bobs tech 0.18.3
[*]bobs warfare 0.18.6
after that I unloaded the following mods while still being able to reproduce this :
[*]bobs inserters 0.18.3
[*]bob assemblers 0.18.5
[*]bobs electrics 0.18.1
[*]bobs enemies 0.18.5
[*]bobs logistics belt reskin 0.18.5
[*]bobs mining 0.18.1
and then:
[*]bobs logistics 0.18.9
then:
[*]bobs ores 0.18.3
then:
[*]angels crawler train 0.1.2
then:
[*]bobs power 0.18.6
then: <<- recorded
[*]bobs personal equipment 0.18.1
then:
[*]bobs modules 0.18.3
then:
[*]bobs tech 0.18.3
then:
[*]angels smelting 0.6.6
then:
[*]bobs revamp 0.18.5
[*]angels petrochem 0.9.8
[*]angels refining 0.11.10
[*]bobs functions 0.18.9
[*]bobs plates 0.18.{7/8}
At this point removing petrochem "fixed" the issue, as in loading a 0.18.7 save in 0.18.8 didnt make enriched fuel block unsearchable.
So I recommend trying to reproduce with the list above if you want to reproduce the issue.
I tried to comment out some things to see which part of petrochem caused this as even commented out all the lines containing `enriched-fuel` didnt fix the problem.
What is really confusing me tho, is that it now also doesn't work in new worlds, but that should make testing a lot more consistent.
- bobingabout
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 7352
- Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
- Contact:
Re: [0.18] Please post bugs and balance issues here.
Everything sounded normal to me until you mentioned Tungsten Processing being locked behind Space science... in bob's mods, no, you need Tungsten to build parts of the rocket, not just the engine, but also heat shielding are made from Tungsten Carbide.KudoBear wrote: ↑Fri May 29, 2020 5:27 amHi Bob, not sure who to take this to, but I've been doing a run with space exploration and everything was going great til I wanted to launch a rocket. With bob's warfare it requires the rocket engine item that requires tungsten, processing of which is locked behind space science which requires you to go to space and being able to launch rockets. I'm getting around it by removing the recipe update from steel to tungsten for rocket engine.
it Should cost chemical science for tungsten, and production science for tungsten alloys, which includes tungsten carbide (which is technically a ceramic, not an alloy)
In any case, if that's not what it costs, it's another mod changing the unlock to space science, probably space exploration.
- bobingabout
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 7352
- Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
- Contact:
Re: [0.18] Please post bugs and balance issues here.
I'm not quoting all that.theMightyMan wrote: ↑Fri May 29, 2020 10:41 ambobingabout wrote: ↑Fri May 29, 2020 12:37 amI'm honestly not sure what's going on, it seems to work fine for me, you're sure you've researched advanced oil processing, right? You don't have bobrevamp installed, which moves it to fuel-blocks research?theMightyMan wrote: ↑Thu May 28, 2020 8:47 pmYes I have Bob's Metals, Chemicals and Intermediates mod installed, I just wrote "bobs metals..." because I didn't want to write it al out and didn't know if bobplates would bring up confusion.bobingabout wrote: ↑Thu May 28, 2020 7:58 pmdo you have bobplates (Bob's Metals, Chemicals and Intermediates mod) installed?
I mean, I presume you do if you have that item, but that mod contains a function that runs "force.reset_technology_effects()" on every force, this SHOULD fix the issue. If it isn't, that's probably a base game issue.
Try running the command manually. open up the console and type:Code: Select all
/c game.player.force.reset_technology_effects()
Sadly this doesn't work, since all other things work properly with regards to tech should I report this as a bug for factorio?
I didnt save/reload the save after runningbut I assume it is able to hot-reload since it didn't ask me to.Code: Select all
/c game.player.force.reset_technology_effects()
I do have some other mods installed too, I have had issues where reneabling mods that ware not the trigger to not having the issue anymore did trigger the issue. So I listed the original mods that reproduce it, and will list mods where disabling still work.
Here is a list of mods that I have been able to reproduce it with:
......
At this point removing petrochem "fixed" the issue, as in loading a 0.18.7 save in 0.18.8 didnt make enriched fuel block unsearchable.
So I recommend trying to reproduce with the list above if you want to reproduce the issue.
I tried to comment out some things to see which part of petrochem caused this as even commented out all the lines containing `enriched-fuel` didnt fix the problem.
What is really confusing me tho, is that it now also doesn't work in new worlds, but that should make testing a lot more consistent.
Anyway, When you mentioned Angels... It's probably Angels.
As I mentioned earlier, if you have bobrevamp installed, it moves the unlock off of Advanced oil processing onto "Fuel block" technology. (or is it solid fuel)
Either way, Angels mods are quite famous for hiding technologies, I would make a fair bet that since moving the unlock to fuel blocks was a recent change, Angels mods aren't accounting for it.
-
- Inserter
- Posts: 40
- Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 6:06 pm
- Contact:
Re: [0.18] Please post bugs and balance issues here.
Yes sry, I thought it would nicely hide the text behind a button, I will post it on the angels forum.bobingabout wrote: ↑Fri May 29, 2020 11:37 amI'm not quoting all that.
Anyway, When you mentioned Angels... It's probably Angels.
As I mentioned earlier, if you have bobrevamp installed, it moves the unlock off of Advanced oil processing onto "Fuel block" technology. (or is it solid fuel)
Either way, Angels mods are quite famous for hiding technologies, I would make a fair bet that since moving the unlock to fuel blocks was a recent change, Angels mods aren't accounting for it.
Re: [0.18] Please post bugs and balance issues here.
Looked at it some more and you're absolutely right, space ex postprocess locks tungsten behind space science to make it more engamey and tries to remove it from initial rocket req, but missed the rocket engine cost. I'll take it up with Earandel. Thanks!bobingabout wrote: ↑Fri May 29, 2020 11:33 amEverything sounded normal to me until you mentioned Tungsten Processing being locked behind Space science... in bob's mods, no, you need Tungsten to build parts of the rocket, not just the engine, but also heat shielding are made from Tungsten Carbide.KudoBear wrote: ↑Fri May 29, 2020 5:27 amHi Bob, not sure who to take this to, but I've been doing a run with space exploration and everything was going great til I wanted to launch a rocket. With bob's warfare it requires the rocket engine item that requires tungsten, processing of which is locked behind space science which requires you to go to space and being able to launch rockets. I'm getting around it by removing the recipe update from steel to tungsten for rocket engine.
it Should cost chemical science for tungsten, and production science for tungsten alloys, which includes tungsten carbide (which is technically a ceramic, not an alloy)
In any case, if that's not what it costs, it's another mod changing the unlock to space science, probably space exploration.
- bobingabout
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 7352
- Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
- Contact:
Re: [0.18] Please post bugs and balance issues here.
The change to use tungsten in the engine unit is something that I did recently... but, it's something I'd done a long time ago and commented out for some reason. All I did was un-comment that line.KudoBear wrote: ↑Fri May 29, 2020 2:15 pmLooked at it some more and you're absolutely right, space ex postprocess locks tungsten behind space science to make it more engamey and tries to remove it from initial rocket req, but missed the rocket engine cost. I'll take it up with Earandel. Thanks!bobingabout wrote: ↑Fri May 29, 2020 11:33 amEverything sounded normal to me until you mentioned Tungsten Processing being locked behind Space science... in bob's mods, no, you need Tungsten to build parts of the rocket, not just the engine, but also heat shielding are made from Tungsten Carbide.KudoBear wrote: ↑Fri May 29, 2020 5:27 amHi Bob, not sure who to take this to, but I've been doing a run with space exploration and everything was going great til I wanted to launch a rocket. With bob's warfare it requires the rocket engine item that requires tungsten, processing of which is locked behind space science which requires you to go to space and being able to launch rockets. I'm getting around it by removing the recipe update from steel to tungsten for rocket engine.
it Should cost chemical science for tungsten, and production science for tungsten alloys, which includes tungsten carbide (which is technically a ceramic, not an alloy)
In any case, if that's not what it costs, it's another mod changing the unlock to space science, probably space exploration.