Anyone Ryzen Benchmarks?

Post all other topics which do not belong to any other category.
jape3
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 10:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone Ryzen Benchmarks?

Post by jape3 »

From your "mybase.txt" results we first take the average of the "avg" results. (Performed 1000 updates in 31587.002 ms
avg: 31.587 ms, min: 19.662 ms, max: 1158.872 ms). That comes in at 34.05ms. To get ups from update time per tick we divide 1 / 0.03405 = about 29 UPS.

azesmbog
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 12:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone Ryzen Benchmarks?

Post by azesmbog »

Thank. I get it.
Of the five measurements, we take the average avg and calculate.
With the test base it turns out roughly 1 / 0.012 = 83.33 UPS

lexx
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 10:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone Ryzen Benchmarks?

Post by lexx »

orzelek wrote:
Wed Sep 04, 2019 5:28 pm
If people are intersted and have some heavy up-to date save I can run some tests on Ryzen 3700X with 3200 ram.
i am interested

i am still in between getting the 3800x or the 9900k or ks with 3600 ram (ideally get latency down to 16cl from 18cl) from what i have looked at the 9900k is the better option but as i will be playing with other people my system is likely going to faster then there Sever or PC i am connected to, but the heat from the 9900 at 5ghz is a bit

probably be doing streaming as well but i leave that to the GPU to do that (2060 super with OBS using New Nvidia encoder is very good with no CPU use)

as i can't play with some people on my 1800x once it gets to mega base size unless they slow the game down,, just not sure about going the 3800x when the 9900 is definitely faster for games like KSP, factorio and oxygen not included at late game stages
Last edited by lexx on Fri Nov 15, 2019 4:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

lexx
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 10:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone Ryzen Benchmarks?

Post by lexx »

once i get time i post my 1800x results

Also version to be used should it be version 17.59 as 17.60 and later recipes was changed witch will deactivate a lot of building in the test map used

(guess I test both see what it does)

DustFireSky
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: Anyone Ryzen Benchmarks?

Post by DustFireSky »

ChoMar wrote:
Fri Oct 11, 2019 6:00 pm
I wanted to try my 3900x with the newly arived 3600 RAM but I cant get the script. Any other way to test with uncapped UPS?
I changed the original Script. U can find it here. U can test the offical map or your own maps with it. Enjoy

azesmbog
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 12:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone Ryzen Benchmarks?

Post by azesmbog »

DustFireSky wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 5:40 am
I changed the original Script. U can find it here. U can test the offical map or your own maps with it. Enjoy
Sehr gut !!! :-)
I tested the antique processor Core ™ 2 Quad Q8400 (socket 775), release date Q2'09 + 4MB of memory
At the top is a standard script, the results are fixed :), below is a local script with your megabase.
script_ps.jpg
script_ps.jpg (86.46 KiB) Viewed 788 times
Pretty good for an 11 year old man :-)
Thanks for the modified script. But I still had to change the path to the directory with the game to absolute:
$ MAP = "c: \ Factorio_0.17.79 \ saves \" + "HuntingValley_17.67_Save1.zip"

DustFireSky
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: Anyone Ryzen Benchmarks?

Post by DustFireSky »

azesmbog wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 8:36 am
But I still had to change the path to the directory with the game to absolute:
$ MAP = "c: \ Factorio_0.17.79 \ saves \" + "HuntingValley_17.67_Save1.zip"
I followed the standard. For 90% of the gamers is the path correct. :mrgreen:

azesmbog
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 12:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone Ryzen Benchmarks?

Post by azesmbog »

Some fresh results with
https://factoriobox.1au.us
The same processor, three different versions of the game:
Factorio 0.18.1 - 101 UPS
Factorio 0.18.0 - 101 UPS
Factorio 0.17.79 - 91 UPS
same motherboard but with old i5-6400 (not K)
Factorio 0.17.79 - 91 UPS
Oddly enough, but the result in version 0.17.79 is comparable between the old and the new processor. Sadness.
Well and still, the results on the screen, in the console, are slightly different from the same results, but on the site. It’s strange.

User avatar
BlueTemplar
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2126
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone Ryzen Benchmarks?

Post by BlueTemplar »

Then your bottleneck might be RAM, rather than CPU ?
https://www.cpubenchmark.net/compare/In ... 2578vs3335
50% faster single-threaded !
(Or maybe the cooling + turbo, since TDP is 50% higher too..?)

lexx
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 10:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone Ryzen Benchmarks?

Post by lexx »

azesmbog wrote:
Sat Jan 25, 2020 7:08 pm
Some fresh results with
https://factoriobox.1au.us
The same processor, three different versions of the game:
Factorio 0.18.1 - 101 UPS
Factorio 0.18.0 - 101 UPS
Factorio 0.17.79 - 91 UPS
same motherboard but with old i5-6400 (not K)
Factorio 0.17.79 - 91 UPS
Oddly enough, but the result in version 0.17.79 is comparable between the old and the new processor. Sadness.
Well and still, the results on the screen, in the console, are slightly different from the same results, but on the site. It’s strange.
What cpu was you comparing (old and new cpu)

azesmbog
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 12:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone Ryzen Benchmarks?

Post by azesmbog »

BlueTemplar wrote:
Sat Jan 25, 2020 9:36 pm
Then your bottleneck might be RAM, rather than CPU ?
https://www.cpubenchmark.net/compare/In ... 2578vs3335
50% faster single-threaded !
(Or maybe the cooling + turbo, since TDP is 50% higher too..?)
in my tests, the motherboard + memory is the same. Only the processors are different. Apparently the old one was well dispersed, since the result is no worse than the new one))
Or a new one - bad :))
Memory - yes, here I have a bottleneck, only 2900-2930-3000 MHz. It can no longer, but it's a matter of time :)
lexx wrote:
Sat Jan 25, 2020 9:49 pm
What cpu was you comparing (old and new cpu)
I thought that from the latest tests it’s clear, but I can clarify:
Old cpu -
https://factoriobox.1au.us/result/f3f0f ... da0f3feae6
new cpu -
https://factoriobox.1au.us/result/31371 ... 0cf9130ff5
https://factoriobox.1au.us/result/66fed ... 3416b30b70
https://factoriobox.1au.us/result/330f2 ... 178b8acfec

lexx
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 10:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone Ryzen Benchmarks?

Post by lexx »

azesmbog wrote:
Sat Jan 25, 2020 10:10 pm
BlueTemplar wrote:
Sat Jan 25, 2020 9:36 pm
Then your bottleneck might be RAM, rather than CPU ?
https://www.cpubenchmark.net/compare/In ... 2578vs3335
50% faster single-threaded !
(Or maybe the cooling + turbo, since TDP is 50% higher too..?)
in my tests, the motherboard + memory is the same. Only the processors are different. Apparently the old one was well dispersed, since the result is no worse than the new one))
Or a new one - bad :))
Memory - yes, here I have a bottleneck, only 2900-2930-3000 MHz. It can no longer, but it's a matter of time :)
lexx wrote:
Sat Jan 25, 2020 9:49 pm
What cpu was you comparing (old and new cpu)
I thought that from the latest tests it’s clear, but I can clarify:
Old cpu -
https://factoriobox.1au.us/result/f3f0f ... da0f3feae6
new cpu -
https://factoriobox.1au.us/result/31371 ... 0cf9130ff5
https://factoriobox.1au.us/result/66fed ... 3416b30b70
https://factoriobox.1au.us/result/330f2 ... 178b8acfec
I7-9700k and i5-6400

Why are you using miss match ram, that sure put the ram controller into flex mode or just flat out single channel mode if flex is not been used (3x8gb 1x16gb) this can affect performance a bit

Use 2x8gb in channel A and 16gb in channel B on its own to keep dual channel mode, it should do full dual channel, as 2x8gb is dual rank and 1x16gb is dual rank (or 2x8gb)

Reason for above
8gb sticks are single rank so 2 of them in first 2 slots that is for channel A will make them dual rank for like 1 16gb stick (16gb are always duel rank so that goes in the other channel B on it's own)

Apart from ram setup you have, the 9700k is a jump from a 6400 you should be getting more ups unless its purely due to ram (but tears have shown that there is a difference between 6000 and 9000 series)

lokki
Manual Inserter
Manual Inserter
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 4:32 am
Contact:

Re: Anyone Ryzen Benchmarks?

Post by lokki »

azesmbog wrote:
Sat Jan 25, 2020 7:08 pm
Some fresh results with
https://factoriobox.1au.us
The same processor, three different versions of the game:
Factorio 0.18.1 - 101 UPS
Factorio 0.18.0 - 101 UPS
Factorio 0.17.79 - 91 UPS
same motherboard but with old i5-6400 (not K)
Factorio 0.17.79 - 91 UPS
Oddly enough, but the result in version 0.17.79 is comparable between the old and the new processor. Sadness.
Well and still, the results on the screen, in the console, are slightly different from the same results, but on the site. It’s strange.
I'd test my 3600 (Stock CPU, 2*8gb 3000mhz 16-16-16 mem) - 17.79 75 UPS and 18.1 83 UPS.

CPU overclocking doesn't takes a lot of sense - OC to 4.2-4.225 didn't increase performance dramatically, 2 or 3 FPS or something like this.

IF overcloking make more sense, even with low-speed memory. I did test 1900IF and 1500(3000ddr) mem and have results a bit better that 1500IF, but near noise-level. Aida shows 80ns instead of 72ns on 1500IF, but real-world performance was about the same.

Mem-bus speed gives a lot of boost, 3000 16-16-16 has the same results, as 3800 26-26-26, and 1900if 4800mem 48-47-47 had the same 1.12-1.18s. BUT! - 3800 14-26-26 (all timings from SPD, not XMP, except Cas Latency 14) did 10.6s, about 94UPS, but my memory is a bit unstable in this setup. Ok, 3800cl15 should be not so bad - 91ups maybe? Nope, same 11.2s. So, that was a great bench-afternoon, but i'm still on the way. I want to test something like 3733cl14, it should be stable, or a bit of magic and 3800cl14 would be so wit another ProcODT or something like that. I have also an idea, that cl15 is odd, and with cl16 it would be better, but I need to test it.

lexx
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 10:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone Ryzen Benchmarks?

Post by lexx »

Most ideal for ryzen is 1800 if ( infinity fabric) and 3600 lowest Cl timing possible (do make sure benchmark between changes as stable does not mean faster on ryzen)

looking at getting 2x16gb G.Skill Neo 16cl kit (might run at Cl 14, also might do 3800 cl14 as well) and a 3800x to try and get better chance at getting a cpu that can do infinity fabric at 1900 so I can tinker

if your cpu can do is 1900 if and 3800 ram speed cl16 or cl14 if possible (3600 cl14 will likely run same benchmark result as 3800 cl16)

Anything higher then 3600(1800 if)/3800 (1900 if) will run the infinity fabric out of sync and result in negative/same performance (if will go into higher 90ns if out of sync on high speed ram kits)

azesmbog
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 12:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone Ryzen Benchmarks?

Post by azesmbog »

nevertheless, the script works a little strange:
bench184.jpg
bench184.jpg (80.83 KiB) Viewed 237 times
What is on my screen and what is on the site. I’ve noticed this before.
Although the result is comparable to my previous result, still this version is a bit slower (subjectively :). On my map, on average, ~2 ups / fps results are lower
Upd:
New version 0.18.6
slightly increased the frequency of the processor.
https://factoriobox.1au.us/result/f7b9c ... b6f3160b04
compared to the previous result:
104 ups vs 101 on the site
95 vs 93 - on the screen of my computer,
and counted with his own hands the average number - 91 ups it turned out.
So the script does not work correctly. But for comparative performance - it’s quite suitable :)

Post Reply

Return to “General discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]