Power pole with a 32x32 supply area

This is the place to request new mods or give ideas about what could be done.
Pbenz2
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2020 3:35 am
Contact:

Power pole with a 32x32 supply area

Post by Pbenz2 »

It would be really nice to have a mod that would allow me to place either a big power pole, or a substation on each corner of a chunk. Right now I have the extended reach mod, which allows me to place big power poles on every corner, but it would be nice to have the supply area as 32x32. I cannot find a standalone mod that has this feature, but if this already exists I apologize, I have not been able to find it!
User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2905
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Power pole with a 32x32 supply area

Post by darkfrei »

Place this code into data.lua to your new mod folder:

Code: Select all

data.raw["electric-pole"].substation.maximum_wire_distance = 34
data.raw["electric-pole"].substation.supply_area_distance = 17 
Pbenz2
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2020 3:35 am
Contact:

Re: Power pole with a 32x32 supply area

Post by Pbenz2 »

Thanks! Can I change supply_area_distance = 17 to 32 without issue?
User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2905
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Power pole with a 32x32 supply area

Post by darkfrei »

Pbenz2 wrote: Mon Jan 06, 2020 10:15 pm Thanks! Can I change supply_area_distance = 17 to 32 without issue?
Yes, but it's rectangle "radius". The half side of the supply square.

Vanilla values for substation (0.17):

Code: Select all

data.raw["electric-pole"].substation.maximum_wire_distance = 18 
data.raw["electric-pole"].substation.supply_area_distance = 9 
Big pole:

Code: Select all

data.raw["electric-pole"]["big-electric-pole"].maximum_wire_distance = 30 
data.raw["electric-pole"]["big-electric-pole"].supply_area_distance = 2 
Pbenz2
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2020 3:35 am
Contact:

Re: Power pole with a 32x32 supply area

Post by Pbenz2 »

Ahh, thanks! I already have mods installed, so can I just add that code to a new folder in mods? I appreciate the help!
User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2905
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Power pole with a 32x32 supply area

Post by darkfrei »

Pbenz2 wrote: Mon Jan 06, 2020 11:25 pm Ahh, thanks! I already have mods installed, so can I just add that code to a new folder in mods? I appreciate the help!
Make new folder, add info.json and data.lua into it.
https://wiki.factorio.com/Tutorial:Mod_structure

The data.lua - just this two strings without any data:extend().
Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Requests For Mods”