[Request - completed] Double Furnace Mining Drill by mat1k

This is the place to request new mods or give ideas about what could be done.
biggieboy
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:14 am
Contact:

Re: [Request] Furnace with double smelting and mining funciton

Post by biggieboy »

darkfrei wrote: Tue Jul 16, 2019 10:24 am Situation is rare --> situation is possible! If it's possible then we are need solution for it.

You have the smelting mining drill for all ores, we are need just double smelting mining drill, just for steel plates. It must be powerful and expensive.
Yes. you have right, but as i say, i tested the original mining furnace, and no problem (not crashed the game, and mining the same ore). And there is the furnace recipe mod, its good for choosing, you wanna smelting iron plate or steel plate.

Im i wrong?
User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2905
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [Request] Furnace with double smelting and mining funciton

Post by darkfrei »

biggieboy wrote: Tue Jul 16, 2019 11:00 am And there is the furnace recipe mod, its good for choosing, you wanna smelting iron plate or steel plate.
It's not a furnace, it's assembling machine, which looks like a furnace and uses furnace recipes. But you are need to use true furnaces, they can set smelting recipe automatically.
User avatar
mat1k
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 8:48 am
Contact:

Re: [Request] Furnace with double smelting and mining funciton

Post by mat1k »

I was testing this last night. By moving iron ore to separate category it stops the furnace mining anything except the iron. Then it was just a matter of adding the new resource category to all drills so they can still mine it normally.

I fell asleep before i could test it fully though.
biggieboy
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:14 am
Contact:

Re: [Request] Furnace with double smelting and mining funciton

Post by biggieboy »

mat1k wrote: Tue Jul 16, 2019 6:09 pm I was testing this last night. By moving iron ore to separate category it stops the furnace mining anything except the iron. Then it was just a matter of adding the new resource category to all drills so they can still mine it normally.

I fell asleep before i could test it fully though.
This sounds good, thanx!
User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2905
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [Request] Furnace with double smelting and mining funciton

Post by darkfrei »

mat1k wrote: Tue Jul 16, 2019 6:09 pm Then it was just a matter of adding the new resource category to all drills so they can still mine it normally.
Note that the oil pumpjack is also a mining drill, we are need the exception here.
User avatar
mat1k
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 8:48 am
Contact:

Re: [Request] Furnace with double smelting and mining funciton

Post by mat1k »

darkfrei wrote: Tue Jul 16, 2019 8:50 pm
mat1k wrote: Tue Jul 16, 2019 6:09 pm Then it was just a matter of adding the new resource category to all drills so they can still mine it normally.
Note that the oil pumpjack is also a mining drill, we are need the exception here.
Yea, discovered that. Though it has a setting that only allows it to be placed on oil
User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2905
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [Request] Furnace with double smelting and mining funciton

Post by darkfrei »

mat1k wrote: Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:00 pm Yea, discovered that. Though it has a setting that only allows it to be placed on oil
It's defined due resource_categories only:

Code: Select all

data.raw["mining-drill"].pumpjack.resource_categories[1] = "basic-fluid" 
So if you make just the

Code: Select all

for i, m_drill in pairs (data.raw["mining-drill"]) do
  table.insert (m_drill.resource_categories, "advanced-solid")
end
then all mining drills can mine this ore, including oil pumpjacks.
User avatar
mat1k
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 8:48 am
Contact:

Re: [Request] Furnace with double smelting and mining funciton

Post by mat1k »

I'm going to use an if statement to check for basic-solids and first. That will make it compatible with mods that add other drills to harvest non-vanilla resources
biggieboy
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:14 am
Contact:

Re: [Request] Furnace with double smelting and mining funciton

Post by biggieboy »

I have 1 more idea:

Is it possible to make 1 outgoing point? Like liquid connection. And next to drop the belt, and the production come out (inserter not needed).
slippycheeze
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 587
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2019 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: [Request] Furnace with double smelting and mining funciton

Post by slippycheeze »

darkfrei wrote: Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:30 pm
mat1k wrote: Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:00 pm Yea, discovered that. Though it has a setting that only allows it to be placed on oil
It's defined due resource_categories only:

Code: Select all

data.raw["mining-drill"].pumpjack.resource_categories[1] = "basic-fluid" 
So if you make just the

Code: Select all

for i, m_drill in pairs (data.raw["mining-drill"]) do
  table.insert (m_drill.resource_categories, "advanced-solid")
end
then all mining drills can mine this ore, including oil pumpjacks.
You probably don't actually want to do that: now the "Geothermal Well" from the geothermal mod will also be able to mine your ore. This is ... pretty much the definition of unintended consequences. :)

The reason anyone uses a category other than "basic-solid" or "basic-fluid" is specifically to restrict the source to a custom extraction tool, since that is the outcome of the change. (Unless multiple mods coordinate ahead of time to share a category, in which case the same thing applied, just more authors.)

If you really want to mess with that move the resource out of "basic-solid" and insert that new category into every drill that *can* mine basic-solid already. Don't blindly insert it into everything.
User avatar
mat1k
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 8:48 am
Contact:

Re: [Request] Furnace with double smelting and mining funciton

Post by mat1k »

slippycheeze wrote: Wed Jul 17, 2019 7:02 pm
darkfrei wrote: Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:30 pm
mat1k wrote: Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:00 pm Yea, discovered that. Though it has a setting that only allows it to be placed on oil
It's defined due resource_categories only:

Code: Select all

data.raw["mining-drill"].pumpjack.resource_categories[1] = "basic-fluid" 
So if you make just the

Code: Select all

for i, m_drill in pairs (data.raw["mining-drill"]) do
  table.insert (m_drill.resource_categories, "advanced-solid")
end
then all mining drills can mine this ore, including oil pumpjacks.
You probably don't actually want to do that: now the "Geothermal Well" from the geothermal mod will also be able to mine your ore. This is ... pretty much the definition of unintended consequences. :)

The reason anyone uses a category other than "basic-solid" or "basic-fluid" is specifically to restrict the source to a custom extraction tool, since that is the outcome of the change. (Unless multiple mods coordinate ahead of time to share a category, in which case the same thing applied, just more authors.)

If you really want to mess with that move the resource out of "basic-solid" and insert that new category into every drill that *can* mine basic-solid already. Don't blindly insert it into everything.
I've already added in the if statement to only append new ore category to things that have basic-solids already.
Had to do it to prevent pumpjack issues. Should have it working over the weekend.
12 hour work shifts make testing time mid-week a little short.
slippycheeze
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 587
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2019 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: [Request] Furnace with double smelting and mining funciton

Post by slippycheeze »

mat1k wrote: Wed Jul 17, 2019 8:42 pm I've already added in the if statement to only append new ore category to things that have basic-solids already.
Had to do it to prevent pumpjack issues. Should have it working over the weekend.
12 hour work shifts make testing time mid-week a little short.
Can't blame you, that is hard. ...and sorry I missed the note you were changing that. I just didn't want you to have to find that one out the hard way. :)
User avatar
mat1k
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 8:48 am
Contact:

Re: [Request] Furnace with double smelting and mining funciton

Post by mat1k »

So....

Taking a little more time than expected but I think I might be getting close.

Going to have a new entity so the double furnace and Furnace Mining drill are still usable separately.
The new entity will be locked behind a new research with both the Double Furnace and Furnace Mining Drill technologies as pre-requisites.

Still need to tweak the recipe and running costs more in line with it's abilities. Thinking Double Furnace power requirements + Electric Mining Drill power use.
And need to actually name the new entity..... Any ideas there....
User avatar
mat1k
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 8:48 am
Contact:

Re: [Request] Furnace with double smelting and mining funciton

Post by mat1k »

It is done ... I think ...
At least no-one in this house can break it. It is now on the mod portal.
Double Furnace Mining Drill

If I missed something please tell me.
biggieboy
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:14 am
Contact:

Re: [Request] Furnace with double smelting and mining funciton

Post by biggieboy »

mat1k wrote: Sat Jul 20, 2019 3:47 am It is done ... I think ...
At least no-one in this house can break it. It is now on the mod portal.
Double Furnace Mining Drill

If I missed something please tell me.
Thank you! I tested now, and i made the hungarian translate, can you instert to the mod? This is: (folder name "hu")

Code: Select all

[entity-name]
passive-double-furnace=Dupla bányászgép kemence
furnace-mining-drill2=Bányászgép kemence
double-furnace=Dupla kemence
passive-furnace=Bányászgép kemence
furnace-mining-drill=Bányászgép kemence

[item-description]
double-furnace=A nyersanyagot kétszer olvasztja. A vasércből közvetlenül acélt készít.

[item-name]
passive-double-furnace=Dupla bányászgép kemence
furnace-mining-drill2=Dupla bányászgép kemence
passive-furnace=Bányászgép kemence
furnace-mining-drill=Bányászgép kemence

[technology-name]
passive-double-furnace=Dupla bányászgép kemence
double-smelting-tech=Dupla olvasztás
passive-furnace=Bányászgép kemence

[technology-description]
passive-double-furnace=Vasérc bányászata közvetlenül a Dupla kemencébe
double-smelting-tech=Dupla kemence feloldása, amely képes a vasércből közvetlenül acélt készíteni.
passive-furnace=Közvetlenül az Elektromos kemencébe bányászik.


[entity-description]
passive-double-furnace=Vasérc bányászata közvetlenül a Dupla kemencébe
furnace-mining-drill2=Vasérc bányászata közvetlenül a Dupla kemencébe
passive-furnace=Közvetlenül az Elektromos kemencébe bányászik
furnace-mining-drill=Közvetlenül az Elektromos kemencébe bányászik

And other thing:
Please change the ingredients to this:
1x Stack filter inserter
1x Double Furnace
1x Furnace Mining Drill

Code: Select all

ingredients = {{"double-furnace", 1}, {"passive-furnace", 1}, {"stack-filter-inserter", 1}},
When i incrase the speed with modules, just the smelting faster, but mining its same speed. is it possible work both with modules? Or only smelting? Or possible double modules (1 for mining 1 for smelting)?
Thank you!
User avatar
mat1k
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 8:48 am
Contact:

Re: [Request] Furnace with double smelting and mining funciton

Post by mat1k »

I'll add in the translations, and the stack filter inserter to the recipe but I don't see any way to justify needing a furnace mining drill to make it.

A furnace mining drill is an electric drill, furnace and inserter. Changing to a filter inserter makes sense as it only wants iron so we can argue the filter inserter is filtering the ores for processing but I can't justify needing the furnace drill.

The electric drill gathers up the ore, the stack filter inserter passes it to the furnace and the double furnace converts it to steel.

It is live now.
User avatar
mat1k
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 8:48 am
Contact:

Re: [Request] Furnace with double smelting and mining funciton

Post by mat1k »

biggieboy wrote: Sat Jul 20, 2019 6:31 am
When i incrase the speed with modules, just the smelting faster, but mining its same speed. is it possible work both with modules? Or only smelting? Or possible double modules (1 for mining 1 for smelting)?
Thank you!
That is a limitation of how it works. There is actually a mining drill hidden under the furnace doing the mining part. You can use beacons that will affect both but adding modules to the drill itself is not something I can make happen at this time. It may be possible later as the code of the game is constantly being improved and my knowledge is also growing.
biggieboy
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:14 am
Contact:

Re: [Request] Furnace with double smelting and mining funciton

Post by biggieboy »

mat1k wrote: Sat Jul 20, 2019 8:19 am I'll add in the translations, and the stack filter inserter to the recipe but I don't see any way to justify needing a furnace mining drill to make it.

A furnace mining drill is an electric drill, furnace and inserter. Changing to a filter inserter makes sense as it only wants iron so we can argue the filter inserter is filtering the ores for processing but I can't justify needing the furnace drill.

The electric drill gathers up the ore, the stack filter inserter passes it to the furnace and the double furnace converts it to steel.

It is live now.
The research needed the double furnace and mining furnace too, thats why i think need the building too. And this is very usefull furnace (i think), but its too cheap. But i understand your reasons.
mat1k wrote: Sat Jul 20, 2019 8:30 am That is a limitation of how it works. There is actually a mining drill hidden under the furnace doing the mining part. You can use beacons that will affect both but adding modules to the drill itself is not something I can make happen at this time. It may be possible later as the code of the game is constantly being improved and my knowledge is also growing.
Okey, i hope later work, thank you!
biggieboy
Burner Inserter
Burner Inserter
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 10:14 am
Contact:

Re: [Request - completed] Double Furnace Mining Drill by mat1k

Post by biggieboy »

Dear mat1k!

Can you update the mod?

When i try mining iron with hand, i can not (i tested on campaign)

Thank you!
User avatar
mat1k
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 8:48 am
Contact:

Re: [Request - completed] Double Furnace Mining Drill by mat1k

Post by mat1k »

Hmmm, I'll take a look in the next few days. I haven't had time to play recently but I'll see if i can find time to test it.
Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Requests For Mods”