Did you mean to ask another question, here?
using util.merge how does it works?
Re: using util.merge how does it works?
- Palaber1984
- Inserter
- Posts: 32
- Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 10:09 am
- Contact:
Re: using util.merge how does it works?
Yeah, can i write all my questions down here or how should i handle this?
my next question is, like in the tutorial of the wiki.factorio there is this code
Code: Select all
--item.lua
local fireArmor = table.deepcopy(data.raw.armor["heavy-armor"])
fireArmor.name = "fire-armor"
fireArmor.icons= {
{
icon=fireArmor.icon,
tint={r=1,g=0,b=0,a=0.3}
},
}
fireArmor.resistances = {
{
type = "physical",
decrease = 6,
percent = 10
},
{
type = "explosion",
decrease = 10,
percent = 30
},
{
type = "acid",
decrease = 5,
percent = 30
},
{
type = "fire",
decrease = 0,
percent = 100
},
}
local recipe = table.deepcopy(data.raw.recipe["heavy-armor"])
recipe.enabled = true
recipe.name = "fire-armor"
recipe.ingredients = {{"copper-plate",200},{"steel-plate",50}}
recipe.result = "fire-armor"
data:extend{fireArmor,recipe}
Code: Select all
local recipe = table.deepcopy(data.raw.recipe["heavy-armor"])
recipe.enabled = true
recipe.name = "fire-armor"
recipe.ingredients = {{"copper-plate",200},{"steel-plate",50}}
recipe.result = "fire-armor"
Re: using util.merge how does it works?
I'm not sure which part is the "last part" you mean. In the entity prototype, the "result", which is the item you get when you mine the entity, goes inside the minable table. What you really need to do is look, here: https://wiki.factorio.com/Prototype/Entity
That contains all the possible data values you can put in an entity, and you need to change any of them that matter to you.
Compare that with armor: https://wiki.factorio.com/Prototype/Armor
And with recipe: https://wiki.factorio.com/Prototype/Recipe
These pages contain everything you can possible set on your entity, armor, or recipe prototype, and you can look up the other prototypes on that wiki, too. So you just need to figure out which things you want to set, and to what.
You code does not contain a data:extend() line, so if this is the "last part" you meant, then yes, you would need to do that, because that's the part that actually takes the data you've created and loads it into the game.
It doesn't matter what files you use, as long as they have an associated require() line in your data.lua, data-updates.lua, or data-final-fixes.lua. You could put all the code in those files, or put the code in separate files and use require() lines to reference the other files; doesn't matter.
- Palaber1984
- Inserter
- Posts: 32
- Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 10:09 am
- Contact:
Re: using util.merge how does it works?
Code: Select all
--item.lua
local fireArmor = table.deepcopy(data.raw.armor["heavy-armor"])
fireArmor.name = "fire-armor"
fireArmor.icons= {
{
icon=fireArmor.icon,
tint={r=1,g=0,b=0,a=0.3}
},
}
fireArmor.resistances = {
{
type = "physical",
decrease = 6,
percent = 10
},
{
type = "explosion",
decrease = 10,
percent = 30
},
{
type = "acid",
decrease = 5,
percent = 30
},
{
type = "fire",
decrease = 0,
percent = 100
},
}
local recipe = table.deepcopy(data.raw.recipe["heavy-armor"])
recipe.enabled = true
recipe.name = "fire-armor"
recipe.ingredients = {{"copper-plate",200},{"steel-plate",50}}
recipe.result = "fire-armor"
data:extend{fireArmor,recipe}
local recipe = table.deepcopy(data.raw.recipe["heavy-armor"]) starts. i mean here it creates a recipe, that belongs to the item right?
Edit: and can i put all like tech,item,recipe and entity together using the local deepcopy element? in one lua?
Re: using util.merge how does it works?
OK, I see what you mean. You can just create your own recipe from scratch, or you can create one by copying another recipe.
Typically, if I'm making an alternate version of an existing item, I make the recipe and the item from scratch, and then deepcopy the vanilla entity and apply changes to make the entity. All that matters is that you have a recipe, item, and entity, with the appropriate names and the settings you want, loaded into the game using data:extend(). How you get there is up to you.
Typically, if I'm making an alternate version of an existing item, I make the recipe and the item from scratch, and then deepcopy the vanilla entity and apply changes to make the entity. All that matters is that you have a recipe, item, and entity, with the appropriate names and the settings you want, loaded into the game using data:extend(). How you get there is up to you.
- eradicator
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 5207
- Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
- Contact:
Re: using util.merge how does it works?
The filenames and directory structure of your mod are entirely up to you and have no influence on the data structure.Palaber1984 wrote: ↑Mon Sep 16, 2019 5:04 pmEdit: and can i put all like tech,item,recipe and entity together using the local deepcopy element? in one lua?
TL;DR: Yes.
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.
- Palaber1984
- Inserter
- Posts: 32
- Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 10:09 am
- Contact:
Re: using util.merge how does it works?
Would you agree so far i did it like this?
i get this error after loading the game
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1-lN0_ ... wTZtYPl53K
But if look at the code, there isnt anything wrong
Code: Select all
--prototypes/entity.lua
local sep1 = table.deepcopy(data.raw["electric-pole"]["small-electric-pole"])
sep1.name = "small-electric-pole",
sep1.minable = {mining_time = 0.1, result = "small-electric-pole"},
sep1.max_health = 50,
sep1.maximum_wire_distance = 7.5,
sep1.supply_area_distance = 2.5,
local sep2 = table.deepcopy(data.raw["electric-pole"]["small-electric-pole"])
sep2.name = "small-electric-pole-2",
sep2.minable = {mining_time = 0.1, result = "small-electric-pole-2"},
sep2.max_health = 50,
sep2.maximum_wire_distance = 16,
sep2.supply_area_distance = 1.5,
local mep1 = table.deepcopy(data.raw["electric-pole"]["medium-electric-pole"])
mep1.name = "medium-electric-pole",
mep1.minable = {mining_time = 0.1, result = "medium-electric-pole"},
mep1.max_health = 100,
mep1.maximum_wire_distance = 9,
mep1.supply_area_distance = 3.5,
local mep2 = table.deepcopy(data.raw["electric-pole"]["medium-electric-pole"])
mep2.name = "medium-electric-pole-2",
mep2.minable = {mining_time = 0.1, result = "medium-electric-pole-2"},
mep2.max_health = 100,
mep2.maximum_wire_distance = 14,
mep2.supply_area_distance = 6.5,
local bep1 = table.deepcopy(data.raw["electric-pole"]["big-electric-pole"])
bep1.name = "big-electric-pole",
bep1.minable = {mining_time = 0.1, result = "big-electric-pole"},
bep1.max_health = 250,
bep1.maximum_wire_distance = 30,
bep1.supply_area_distance = 2,
local bep2 = table.deepcopy(data.raw["electric-pole"]["big-electric-pole"])
bep2.name = "big-electric-pole-2",
bep2.minable = {mining_time = 0.1, result = "big-electric-pole-2"},
bep2.max_health = 250,
bep2.maximum_wire_distance = 30,
bep2.supply_area_distance = 4,
local bep3 = table.deepcopy(data.raw["electric-pole"]["big-electric-pole"])
bep3.name = "big-electric-pole-3",
bep3.minable = {mining_time = 1, result = "big-electric-pole-3"},
bep3.max_health = 2000,
bep3.maximum_wire_distance = 64,
bep3.supply_area_distance = 1,
local sub1 = table.deepcopy(data.raw["electric-pole"]["substation"])
sub1.name = "substation",
sub1.minable = {mining_time = 0.1, result = "substation"},
sub1.max_health = 250,
sub1.maximum_wire_distance = 18,
sub1.supply_area_distance = 9,
local sub2 = table.deepcopy(data.raw["electric-pole"]["substation"])
sub2.name = "substation-2",
sub2.minable = {mining_time = 0.1, result = "substation-2"},
sub2.max_health = 250,
sub2.maximum_wire_distance = 58,
sub2.supply_area_distance = 7,
local sub3 = table.deepcopy(data.raw["electric-pole"]["substation"])
sub3.name = "substation-3",
sub3.minable = {mining_time = 0.1, result = "substation-3"},
sub3.max_health = 500,
sub3.maximum_wire_distance = 8,
sub3.supply_area_distance = 64,
data:extend{sep1,sep2,mep1,mep2,bep1,bep2,bep3,sub1,sub2,sub3}
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1-lN0_ ... wTZtYPl53K
But if look at the code, there isnt anything wrong
Re: using util.merge how does it works?
Oh, the problem is you have a comma hanging off the end of one of your lines. Each of those statements is a separate operation, so they shouldn't be separated by commas.
- Palaber1984
- Inserter
- Posts: 32
- Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 10:09 am
- Contact:
Re: using util.merge how does it works?
Code: Select all
minable = {mining_time = 0.1, result = "small-electric-pole"},
It is strange because, in my orignal entity is like above and the game is running
Edit:
i have deleted all commas like this and get another error
Code: Select all
local sep1 = table.deepcopy(data.raw["electric-pole"]["small-electric-pole"])
sep1.name = "small-electric-pole"
sep1.minable = {mining_time = 0.1 result = "small-electric-pole"}
sep1.max_health = 50
sep1.maximum_wire_distance = 7.5
sep1.supply_area_distance = 2.5
Re: using util.merge how does it works?
I think you're having trouble with understanding the difference between creating a table all at once and taking an existing table, then changing individual entries.
Look, it's like this. You can have a table, like
Code: Select all
local table =
{
thing1 = "foo",
thing2 = "yo",
thing3 = "bar"
}
Code: Select all
local table2 = util.table.deepcopy(table)
table2.thing2 = "notyo"
Code: Select all
{
thing1 = "foo",
thing2 = "notyo",
thing3 = "bar"
}
Code: Select all
table2.thing3 = table2.thing1
table2.thing1 = "bar"
table2.newthing = "new"
Code: Select all
{
thing1 = "bar",
thing2 = "notyo",
thing3 = "foo",
newthing = "new"
}
- Palaber1984
- Inserter
- Posts: 32
- Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 10:09 am
- Contact:
Re: using util.merge how does it works?
ah ok, when creating a table then with comma, and when changing a table then without.
BTW, my mod runs now with this short way,
BTW, my mod runs now with this short way,
Re: using util.merge how does it works?
Exactly. And congratulations!Palaber1984 wrote: ↑Mon Sep 16, 2019 6:32 pmah ok, when creating a table then with comma, and when changing a table then without.
BTW, my mod runs now with this short way,
- Palaber1984
- Inserter
- Posts: 32
- Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 10:09 am
- Contact:
Re: using util.merge how does it works?
thx, but now my next big thing is comingAdamo wrote: ↑Mon Sep 16, 2019 6:34 pmExactly. And congratulations!Palaber1984 wrote: ↑Mon Sep 16, 2019 6:32 pmah ok, when creating a table then with comma, and when changing a table then without.
BTW, my mod runs now with this short way,
before that, why you have use util in your code?
Re: using util.merge how does it works?
Uhh, well, that's where the deepcopy function comes from, I think... util.table.deepcopy(). I assume you have access to it just using table.deepcopy() because somewhere along the way, in some data file somewhere, either in another mod or in the base mod, there is a line that says "table = util.table", or something similar. But I don't know for sure.
- Palaber1984
- Inserter
- Posts: 32
- Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 10:09 am
- Contact:
Re: using util.merge how does it works?
Ah makes sense. btw i try to read the Lua manual in german, because i live in german and even in german it seems more complicated to read and understand it, then make a mod here.
So, how about deleting code segments of an entity? is that possible in the same operation with the deepcopy part?
So, how about deleting code segments of an entity? is that possible in the same operation with the deepcopy part?
Re: using util.merge how does it works?
Deepcopy makes a NEW TABLE that is a COPY of the table you fed to it. So anything you delete in the new table will only be deleted in the new table. To delete an entry in the table you just do something like
Code: Select all
local table2 = util.table.deepcopy(table)
table2.thing2 = nil
Code: Select all
{
thing1 = "foo",
thing3 = "bar"
}
- Palaber1984
- Inserter
- Posts: 32
- Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 10:09 am
- Contact:
Re: using util.merge how does it works?
So i am preparing a detail explanation about what i try to achieve
Edit: This code is a original Part of the small-electric-pole in the entity.lua in the base folder
And what i want is that the game doesnt rotate the pole. Therefor i just have to change the part where is four times, into direction count 1, because there are one for lower graphics, one for lower shadows, one for HD graphics and one for HD shadows. Means 4 times
And thats not all, to run the game i have to remove 3 of 4 connection points. therefore i remove the last 3 once and the first stays, means i remove this part
any ideas?
Edit: This code is a original Part of the small-electric-pole in the entity.lua in the base folder
Code: Select all
{
type = "electric-pole",
name = "small-electric-pole",
icon = "__base__/graphics/icons/small-electric-pole.png",
icon_size = 32,
flags = {"placeable-neutral", "player-creation", "fast-replaceable-no-build-while-moving"},
minable = {mining_time = 0.1, result = "small-electric-pole"},
max_health = 50,
corpse = "small-electric-pole-remnants",
collision_box = {{-0.15, -0.15}, {0.15, 0.15}},
selection_box = {{-0.4, -0.4}, {0.4, 0.4}},
drawing_box = {{-0.5, -2.6}, {0.5, 0.5}},
maximum_wire_distance = 7.5,
supply_area_distance = 2.5,
vehicle_impact_sound = { filename = "__base__/sound/car-wood-impact.ogg", volume = 1.0 },
track_coverage_during_build_by_moving = true,
fast_replaceable_group = "electric-pole",
pictures =
{
layers =
{
{
filename = "__base__/graphics/entity/small-electric-pole/small-electric-pole.png",
priority = "extra-high",
width = 36,
height = 108,
direction_count = 4,
shift = util.by_pixel(2, -42),
hr_version =
{
filename = "__base__/graphics/entity/small-electric-pole/hr-small-electric-pole.png",
priority = "extra-high",
width = 72,
height = 220,
direction_count = 4,
shift = util.by_pixel(1.5, -42.5),
scale = 0.5
}
},
{
filename = "__base__/graphics/entity/small-electric-pole/small-electric-pole-shadow.png",
priority = "extra-high",
width = 130,
height = 28,
direction_count = 4,
shift = util.by_pixel(50, 2),
draw_as_shadow = true,
hr_version =
{
filename = "__base__/graphics/entity/small-electric-pole/hr-small-electric-pole-shadow.png",
priority = "extra-high",
width = 256,
height = 52,
direction_count = 4,
shift = util.by_pixel(51, 3),
draw_as_shadow = true,
scale = 0.5
}
}
}
},
connection_points =
{
{
shadow =
{
copper = util.by_pixel(98.5, 2.5),
red = util.by_pixel(111.0, 4.5),
green = util.by_pixel(85.5, 4.0)
},
wire =
{
copper = util.by_pixel(0.0, -82.5),
red = util.by_pixel(13.0, -81.0),
green = util.by_pixel(-12.5, -81.0)
}
},
{
shadow =
{
copper = util.by_pixel(99.5, 4.0),
red = util.by_pixel(110.0, 9.0),
green = util.by_pixel(92.5, -4.0)
},
wire =
{
copper = util.by_pixel(1.5, -81.0),
red = util.by_pixel(12.0, -76.0),
green = util.by_pixel(-6.0, -89.5)
}
},
{
shadow =
{
copper = util.by_pixel(100.5, 5.5),
red = util.by_pixel(102.5, 14.5),
green = util.by_pixel(103.5, -3.5)
},
wire =
{
copper = util.by_pixel(2.5, -79.5),
red = util.by_pixel(4.0, -71.0),
green = util.by_pixel(5.0, -89.5)
}
},
{
shadow =
{
copper = util.by_pixel(98.5, -1.5),
red = util.by_pixel(88.0, 3.5),
green = util.by_pixel(106.0, -9.0)
},
wire =
{
copper = util.by_pixel(0.5, -86.5),
red = util.by_pixel(-10.5, -81.5),
green = util.by_pixel(8.0, -93.5)
}
}
},
radius_visualisation_picture =
{
filename = "__base__/graphics/entity/small-electric-pole/electric-pole-radius-visualization.png",
width = 12,
height = 12,
priority = "extra-high-no-scale"
}
},
Code: Select all
direction_count = 4,
And thats not all, to run the game i have to remove 3 of 4 connection points. therefore i remove the last 3 once and the first stays, means i remove this part
Code: Select all
{
shadow =
{
copper = util.by_pixel(99.5, 4.0),
red = util.by_pixel(110.0, 9.0),
green = util.by_pixel(92.5, -4.0)
},
wire =
{
copper = util.by_pixel(1.5, -81.0),
red = util.by_pixel(12.0, -76.0),
green = util.by_pixel(-6.0, -89.5)
}
},
{
shadow =
{
copper = util.by_pixel(100.5, 5.5),
red = util.by_pixel(102.5, 14.5),
green = util.by_pixel(103.5, -3.5)
},
wire =
{
copper = util.by_pixel(2.5, -79.5),
red = util.by_pixel(4.0, -71.0),
green = util.by_pixel(5.0, -89.5)
}
},
{
shadow =
{
copper = util.by_pixel(98.5, -1.5),
red = util.by_pixel(88.0, 3.5),
green = util.by_pixel(106.0, -9.0)
},
wire =
{
copper = util.by_pixel(0.5, -86.5),
red = util.by_pixel(-10.5, -81.5),
green = util.by_pixel(8.0, -93.5)
}
}
- Palaber1984
- Inserter
- Posts: 32
- Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 10:09 am
- Contact:
Re: using util.merge how does it works?
So i try it to my self.
i added into my deepcopy this line
i looked for this part right here, it is the picture section of the entity
after loading the game i got this
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1lNNHb ... SnjfT_qSP-
i expected any error, but now i dont know how to go on
i added into my deepcopy this line
Code: Select all
sep1.pictures = {layers = {{direction_count = 1, {direction_count = 1}}, direction_count = 1, {direction_count = 1}}}
Code: Select all
pictures =
{
layers =
{
{
filename = "__base__/graphics/entity/small-electric-pole/small-electric-pole.png",
priority = "extra-high",
width = 36,
height = 108,
direction_count = 4,
shift = util.by_pixel(2, -42),
hr_version =
{
filename = "__base__/graphics/entity/small-electric-pole/hr-small-electric-pole.png",
priority = "extra-high",
width = 72,
height = 220,
direction_count = 4,
shift = util.by_pixel(1.5, -42.5),
scale = 0.5
}
},
{
filename = "__base__/graphics/entity/small-electric-pole/small-electric-pole-shadow.png",
priority = "extra-high",
width = 130,
height = 28,
direction_count = 4,
shift = util.by_pixel(50, 2),
draw_as_shadow = true,
hr_version =
{
filename = "__base__/graphics/entity/small-electric-pole/hr-small-electric-pole-shadow.png",
priority = "extra-high",
width = 256,
height = 52,
direction_count = 4,
shift = util.by_pixel(51, 3),
draw_as_shadow = true,
scale = 0.5
}
}
}
},
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1lNNHb ... SnjfT_qSP-
i expected any error, but now i dont know how to go on
- eradicator
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 5207
- Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
- Contact:
Re: using util.merge how does it works?
You're overwriting the whole table.Palaber1984 wrote: ↑Tue Sep 17, 2019 12:25 pmCode: Select all
sep1.pictures = {layers = {{direction_count = 1, {direction_count = 1}}, direction_count = 1, {direction_count = 1}}}
The internet offers many tutorials on generic lua programming and table handling. And a well made tutorial could teach you more faster than anyone here on the forum. The forum is meant for factorio-specific help, not for personal programming lessons.
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.