[Twinsen]toolbar latency in multiplayer

This subforum contains all the issues which we already resolved.
Post Reply
User avatar
dog80
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 279
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:57 pm
Contact:

[Twinsen]toolbar latency in multiplayer

Post by dog80 »

pressing x to switch the toolbar + any number to access the item very quickly after each other results in getting the item from the previous active toolbar in the hand...

so i have 2 toolbars active and i want to access the 1. item on the lower toolbar
i have to press x and 1 and when done with a certain speed you still get the item from the previous active toolbar instead of the new one...


edit: this is not an issue in singleplayer

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 5206
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: toolbar latency in multiplayer

Post by eradicator »

You Sir have insane input speed! ;)

If i try this with autohotkey and a 1 millisecond delay it only reproduces half the time. Only if i remove the delay (whatever autohotkey then sets as a default delay...) it reproduces 99% of the time. With 20ms delay it still reproduces ~5% of the time.

Code: Select all

	F9::
		Send, x
		sleep, 20
		Send, 1
		return
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.

User avatar
dog80
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 279
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:57 pm
Contact:

Re: toolbar latency in multiplayer

Post by dog80 »

eradicator wrote:
Tue Jun 04, 2019 10:20 am
You Sir have insane input speed! ;)

If i try this with autohotkey and a 1 millisecond delay it only reproduces half the time. Only if i remove the delay (whatever autohotkey then sets as a default delay...) it reproduces 99% of the time. With 20ms delay it still reproduces ~5% of the time.

Code: Select all

	F9::
		Send, x
		sleep, 20
		Send, 1
		return
maybe i only have a slow internet connection :P

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 5206
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: toolbar latency in multiplayer

Post by eradicator »

dog80 wrote:
Tue Jun 04, 2019 10:39 am
maybe i only have a slow internet connection :P
Oh, i misread your post. My measurements *are* in Singleplayer.
Author of: Belt Planner, Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Maker, /sudo and more.
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.

Twinsen
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1330
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 7:10 am
Contact:

Re: [Twinsen]toolbar latency in multiplayer

Post by Twinsen »

I made it so the item location is based on GUI state instead of game state.

This means the keyboard shortcut will no longer work if the gui is hidden or does not exist, but I don't think such case exists or evem makes any sense.


So, fixed in Version: 0.17.46

User avatar
BattleFluffy
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2019 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [Twinsen]toolbar latency in multiplayer

Post by BattleFluffy »

Ah amazing, this bug has affected me a lot in the past, that's awesome that it's going to be fixed now!

User avatar
dog80
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 279
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:57 pm
Contact:

Re: [Twinsen]toolbar latency in multiplayer

Post by dog80 »

Twinsen wrote:
Tue Jun 04, 2019 11:48 am
I made it so the item location is based on GUI state instead of game state.

This means the keyboard shortcut will no longer work if the gui is hidden or does not exist, but I don't think such case exists or evem makes any sense.


So, fixed in Version: 0.17.46
works great ty alot, another bug or issue what confuses me is that when you take an item from the inventory or toolbar with no item in hand previously - then the item gets replaced with a placeholder in the inventory - that works great - but now with an item already in the hand - swap the item to any other item - now the placeholder stays on the previous item and the other item is just removed from invventory temporarily until you put it out of hand or drop it...

User avatar
dog80
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 279
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:57 pm
Contact:

Re: [Twinsen]toolbar latency in multiplayer

Post by dog80 »

but this is not really a big matter its just a little bit confusing to sometimes see the inventory change when reputting items and not but thats all

Post Reply

Return to “Resolved Problems and Bugs”