Strange Train Behaviour

Don't know how to use a machine? Looking for efficient setups? Stuck in a mission?
Post Reply
Bauer
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri May 05, 2017 12:48 pm
Contact:

Strange Train Behaviour

Post by Bauer » Sun May 05, 2019 6:30 pm

Hi folks!

Could you please have a look at my save game.
I implemented a mechanism at the smelter that the trains for 95 ticks and then leave. It works perfectly except for one (the first) Iron stations. This is where my character stands in the save.

Am I not seeing something??? Or is this a bug?

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1l1X2- ... QDAeydYYcc

Thanks!

Bauer
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri May 05, 2017 12:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange Train Behaviour

Post by Bauer » Tue May 07, 2019 7:35 pm

0.17.37 somehow fixed it...

Bauer
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri May 05, 2017 12:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange Train Behaviour

Post by Bauer » Wed May 08, 2019 5:36 pm

hmmm. I was wrong. It didn't fix the problem...

DerGraue
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon May 30, 2016 12:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange Train Behaviour

Post by DerGraue » Wed May 08, 2019 6:27 pm

Here is what's happening:
All your stations have the same name and your trains have to go to 7 stations with the same name. Apparently if a train can not leave the station instantly or does not move far enough it can visit the same station twice without moving, provided that it is scheduled to visit the same station more than once. Which is pretty interesting.

So the train visits the first station, waits for 96 ticks, the signal G is send, the train wants to leave, the train signal in front of the train is red, the train does not drive very far, or at all and visits the same station again. Notice that the train schedule moves one station forward at that point and that this train does not visit the last of your seven stations.

To fix this, just move the signal after the first train station a bit down, or move the signal before the next station a bit up so that the train always has a larger path to start moving.

User avatar
disentius
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 232
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 3:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange Train Behaviour

Post by disentius » Wed May 08, 2019 8:00 pm

DerGraue beat me to it :mrgreen:
I think the train does not move at all. Moving the signal up should work, agreed.
What is your UPS running this? my PC gets 30-ish
Also: very neat setups:)

DerGraue
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon May 30, 2016 12:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange Train Behaviour

Post by DerGraue » Wed May 08, 2019 9:29 pm

As an afterthought: Why do you even use that setup to make the train unload for 95 ticks in the first place? Wouldn't a simple wait condition for 2 secs in the train schedule do the trick?

Also: 15-20 ish UPS, I am so sad :(

Bauer
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri May 05, 2017 12:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange Train Behaviour

Post by Bauer » Wed May 08, 2019 9:59 pm

Thanks for your answers!

What is interesting is that it actually works with the Cu-lines.
I added the signal. Now it works.

BTW, I also have 30ish UPS with my i7.

User avatar
disentius
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 232
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 3:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange Train Behaviour

Post by disentius » Wed May 08, 2019 10:08 pm

I5 here.
2019-05-09 00_06_59-Window.png
2019-05-09 00_06_59-Window.png (19.25 KiB) Viewed 289 times
:lol:

Bauer
Fast Inserter
Fast Inserter
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri May 05, 2017 12:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange Train Behaviour

Post by Bauer » Thu May 09, 2019 5:43 am

Well, I doubled the nuclear reactor and added 30 more ore trains to get things going in the meantime. I'm not sure what UPS I had when I saved the game for this post. But it was not much better than 40.

Post Reply

Return to “Gameplay Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Sovereignty