No sound?

Anything that prevents you play the game properly. Do you have issues with paying for the game, downloading it or properly running it on your computer? Let us know here.
Post Reply
User avatar
5thHorseman
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 681
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 11:21 pm
Contact:

No sound?

Post by 5thHorseman » Fri Mar 15, 2019 10:20 pm

I've got a fairly weird setup, a laptop with a "plugable" (that's the brand name) usb3 hub that I plug my headset into, along with a few other things like my keyboard and mouse, and a monitor (that I don't game on I'm not an animal).

Anyway, when Windows sound is set to the "plugable" audio, I get no sound from Factorio but do get sounds from Windows (including other games). When I set Windows sound to my sound card, I get sound from the laptop speakers or the jack in the side (if I plug the headphones into it).

I tried with and without mods, and even went back to 0.16 because I wasn't sure if it was a new thing or not (it's not). I'm not sure what else to do about it.

I don't see anything about sound (except that it's starting a thread for sounds) in the log but figure hey, maybe it'll help someone more than me.

I considered posting a bug about it, but maybe it's just something I need to configure. However, I don't actually see any configuration settings for sounds other than the basic volume sliders.
factorio-current.log
0.17.14, with mods.
(8.12 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
factorio-previous.log
0.16.51, without mods.
(4.58 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
"So you completed the game with a spaghetti factory? Well I hand crafted a rocket and threw it into space with my bare hands!"

orzelek
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3488
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: No sound?

Post by orzelek » Sat Mar 16, 2019 2:12 am

Is your pluggable device set to default audio device in windows?

User avatar
5thHorseman
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 681
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 11:21 pm
Contact:

Re: No sound?

Post by 5thHorseman » Sat Mar 16, 2019 5:26 am

orzelek wrote:
Sat Mar 16, 2019 2:12 am
Is your pluggable device set to default audio device in windows?
Yup. And when I set something else to the default everything (including Factorio) produces sound through that thing.
"So you completed the game with a spaghetti factory? Well I hand crafted a rocket and threw it into space with my bare hands!"

Post Reply

Return to “Technical Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests