[0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

This subforum contains all the issues which we already resolved.
Post Reply
Blurb
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:34 pm
Contact:

[0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Post by Blurb » Fri Nov 16, 2018 10:13 pm

I've been trying to build an oil-processing setup using fewer pipes than is usually recommended - because why not.
However, every once in a while the entire thing will grind to a halt because of a pump like this.
bugreport.jpg
bugreport.jpg (767.59 KiB) Viewed 1109 times
Actual behaviour: There's 0.0 liquid in the pump, and its output pipe is completely empty, yet the pump's contents are never moved.
Expected behaviour A pump should be able to completely empty itself, provided a suitable output is available

I've not figured out how to reliably reproduce this problem.
The oil-processing plant in the save game will sometimes produce the problem, but time taken varies greatly (one minute or several)

I suspect the origin of my problem may be related to
viewtopic.php?f=48&t=47258&hilit=pump+stuck
But I figure you devs know that better than I do


Attached save game uses the "Creative Mode (Fix for 0.16)" mod, but will work without.
Attachments
Bug Report_02.zip
(4.54 MiB) Downloaded 21 times

Loewchen
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5199
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Post by Loewchen » Fri Nov 16, 2018 10:30 pm

Different liquids in the same pipe is not supported.

Blurb
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:34 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Post by Blurb » Sat Nov 17, 2018 11:06 am

Loewchen wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 10:30 pm
Different liquids in the same pipe is not supported.
I'm fully aware that only one type of liquid can occupy a given individual pipe segment at a time.
I just don't understand how this prevents the pump from working as (what I think is) intended.

Blacky007
Long Handed Inserter
Long Handed Inserter
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Post by Blacky007 » Mon Nov 19, 2018 5:00 pm

you have to construct a separate pipe systems for every fluid you get out of the refinery

Blurb
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:34 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Post by Blurb » Mon Nov 19, 2018 6:58 pm

Blacky007 wrote:
Mon Nov 19, 2018 5:00 pm
you have to construct a separate pipe systems for every fluid you get out of the refinery
I know how to build a functioning refinery the normal way - that's not my problem.
I'm trying to do things differently, if only because it'd be cool to have a refinery with a vastly simplified pipe network.

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3169
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Post by eradicator » Mon Nov 19, 2018 9:19 pm

Loewchen wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 10:30 pm
Different liquids in the same pipe is not supported.
The report has nothing to do with multiple fluids. It's the typical fluid rounding error for very low amounts. The pump has

Code: Select all

{
  amount=0.00017690301078074375,
  name="heavy-oil",
  temperature=24.999999999999993
}
inside and refuses to pump out the last fraction. Even if you remove all the other stuff and just pluck a fresh tank down:
notzero.jpg
notzero.jpg (59.6 KiB) Viewed 1012 times
Author of: Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Hotkey 2.0
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.

User avatar
darkfrei
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 2037
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Post by darkfrei » Mon Nov 19, 2018 9:26 pm

eradicator wrote:
Mon Nov 19, 2018 9:19 pm
The report has nothing to do with multiple fluids.
fluids are not same
Attachments
fluids_are_not_same.PNG
fluids_are_not_same.PNG (452.27 KiB) Viewed 1010 times

User avatar
eradicator
Smart Inserter
Smart Inserter
Posts: 3169
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:03 am
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Post by eradicator » Mon Nov 19, 2018 9:35 pm

darkfrei wrote:
Mon Nov 19, 2018 9:26 pm
eradicator wrote:
Mon Nov 19, 2018 9:19 pm
The report has nothing to do with multiple fluids.
fluids are not same
Why do you even bother to answer if you didn't read my post? There's a picture in my post. Look at that. The mixing is totally unrelated to the report. <insert rage about people declining bugreports just because there's something else in the picture>
Author of: Hand Crank Generator, Screenshot Hotkey 2.0
Mod support languages: 日本語, Deutsch, English
My code in the post above is dedicated to the public domain under CC0.

Bilka
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 1935
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:20 am
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Post by Bilka » Mon Nov 19, 2018 9:44 pm

I agree that this has nothing to do with fluid mixing, so I moved it to bug reports again.
I'm an admin over at https://wiki.factorio.com. Feel free to contact me if there's anything wrong (or right) with it.

User avatar
TruePikachu
Filter Inserter
Filter Inserter
Posts: 865
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 8:39 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Post by TruePikachu » Tue Nov 20, 2018 2:53 am

Is the pump sleeping on the pipe/tank? Right now, I'm wondering if the pump's own logic thinks there's no fluid contained within.

Blurb
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:34 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Post by Blurb » Wed Nov 21, 2018 3:36 pm

eradicator wrote:
Mon Nov 19, 2018 9:19 pm
Loewchen wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 10:30 pm
Different liquids in the same pipe is not supported.
The report has nothing to do with multiple fluids. It's the typical fluid rounding error for very low amounts.
Thank you for making this point that I could not.
TruePikachu wrote:
Tue Nov 20, 2018 2:53 am
Is the pump sleeping on the pipe/tank? Right now, I'm wondering if the pump's own logic thinks there's no fluid contained within.
In the provided save as is, the pump shows its normal working animation - even if nothing is happening.
If the adjoining pipes are removed and replaced with empty ones, then the pump will instead appear idle.

TreefrogGreaken
Inserter
Inserter
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu May 04, 2017 12:07 pm
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Post by TreefrogGreaken » Wed Jan 09, 2019 12:33 pm

Yeah this was a problem for me when writing my mod.

I notiiced that even though the pipes showed 0.0 water, my mod was still trying to move water out the pipe/tank etc, eventually when I began printing out the amount value from the fluid box, found that the insane level of precision was the cause, no matter how many times my mod moved the receddingly small decimal it would always remain the next tick around when the fluidbox was remade.

I made my mod ignore fluid.amounts under 0.005 to stop it from endlessly trying to empty the pipe.

I wonder if Dominik could take a look with all the changes to the Fluid system in 0.17? Might be fixed already?

Dominik
Factorio Staff
Factorio Staff
Posts: 534
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 9:08 am
Contact:

Re: [0.16.51] Pump stuck with 0.0 liquid

Post by Dominik » Wed May 01, 2019 2:16 pm

Hi, as far as I know pumps empty well in 0.17, even with the old algorithm. Unfortunately, in 0.16 the emptying of some things is difficult.

Post Reply

Return to “Resolved Problems and Bugs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users