no_intermediate flag on recipes
no_intermediate flag on recipes
I would suggest a flag that can be set on a recipe which prevents it from being used as an intermediate for other recipes. I know that this might seem a bit selfish but I have a mod that adds some recipes with the same raw ingredients as an vanilla item. My item gets used as intermediate for some recipes, but the total crafting time for my recipe is twice that of the vanilla recipe. It would be usefull if there were a flag that prevents my recipe from being used in any other recipe.
I have asked fellow modders if something like this existed. Sadly there appeared to not be said way, and all other options mentioned there didn't work
I have asked fellow modders if something like this existed. Sadly there appeared to not be said way, and all other options mentioned there didn't work
Re: no_intermediate flag on recipes
May be something like by "kovarex-enrichment-process"?
Code: Select all
main_product = "",
results =
{
{
name = "uranium-235",
amount = 41
},
{
name = "uranium-238",
amount = 2
}
},
allow_decomposition = false
- EntropySpark
- Inserter
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:06 am
- Contact:
Re: no_intermediate flag on recipes
This may be slightly inconvenient, but perhaps you could make your recipes assembly-machine-only, by adding , which currently only seems to be used by the engine unit.
Code: Select all
category = "advanced-crafting"
Re: no_intermediate flag on recipes
Not the intention to do that. It would not be usefull to have to plonck down a assembler just to change one item to anotherEntropySpark wrote:This may be slightly inconvenient, but perhaps you could make your recipes assembly-machine-only, by adding, which currently only seems to be used by the engine unit.Code: Select all
category = "advanced-crafting"
Tried, but didn't workdarkfrei wrote:May be something like by "kovarex-enrichment-process"?Code: Select all
main_product = "", ... allow_decomposition = false
- bobingabout
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 7352
- Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
- Contact:
Re: no_intermediate flag on recipes
I've seen strange bugs like this come up before....
when my mod featured synthetic wood, some recipes had an alternative recipe to use synthetic wood instead. Hand crafting wanted to use synthetic wood versions rather than standard wood versions, which meant that even if you had an inventory full of wood, you couldn't craft anything because it was trying to use synthetic wood.
In this specific case, auto detecting multiple routes and using the one that you can actually use would be better (because you might have an inventory full of synthetic wood instead).
More on this line, when trying to hand craft a MK8 (or anything about 2 really) merged module, it will automatically try to select the MK7, using the "Make this from the 2 unmerged MK6 items" recipe, rather than the "Make this from the MK6 merged item" recipe. putting a "no_intermediate" flag on the recipe of all these merging recipes would be useful.
And finally... There's a mod that adds recipes to upgrade dead end entities to their alternate forms, such as a burner miner drill into an electric miner drill. it returns a furnace. this then becomes the default recipe for crafting furnaces, so when you try to build a burner mining drill, it wants to upgrade a burner miner drill into an electric miner drill to get a stone furnace back to use it in making a burner miner drill... which you probably don't have because that's what you're trying to build. If this recipe had no intermediate set, it would just use the stone you have to craft a stone furnace.
So... although in my opinion, it would be better if the game wasn't dumb, and actually chose the cheapest recipe path, or the path that used materials you have in your hand.... I can see a tag like this being useful.
when my mod featured synthetic wood, some recipes had an alternative recipe to use synthetic wood instead. Hand crafting wanted to use synthetic wood versions rather than standard wood versions, which meant that even if you had an inventory full of wood, you couldn't craft anything because it was trying to use synthetic wood.
In this specific case, auto detecting multiple routes and using the one that you can actually use would be better (because you might have an inventory full of synthetic wood instead).
More on this line, when trying to hand craft a MK8 (or anything about 2 really) merged module, it will automatically try to select the MK7, using the "Make this from the 2 unmerged MK6 items" recipe, rather than the "Make this from the MK6 merged item" recipe. putting a "no_intermediate" flag on the recipe of all these merging recipes would be useful.
And finally... There's a mod that adds recipes to upgrade dead end entities to their alternate forms, such as a burner miner drill into an electric miner drill. it returns a furnace. this then becomes the default recipe for crafting furnaces, so when you try to build a burner mining drill, it wants to upgrade a burner miner drill into an electric miner drill to get a stone furnace back to use it in making a burner miner drill... which you probably don't have because that's what you're trying to build. If this recipe had no intermediate set, it would just use the stone you have to craft a stone furnace.
So... although in my opinion, it would be better if the game wasn't dumb, and actually chose the cheapest recipe path, or the path that used materials you have in your hand.... I can see a tag like this being useful.
Re: no_intermediate flag on recipes
Can someone give me a small mod that shows the issue on a limited 50x50 map so I can tinker with it?
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.
Re: no_intermediate flag on recipes
I linked a mod in the OP. It will add some recipes to convert burner stage to electric stage. Using that mod and attempting to make a fast inserter will craft the following intermediates: burner inserter -> burner to electric inserter(mod recipe) -> fast inserter
That path for the recipe costs the same materials, but will take a second longer, which was (obvliously) not the intention
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/upgrade-machines
That path for the recipe costs the same materials, but will take a second longer, which was (obvliously) not the intention
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/upgrade-machines
- bobingabout
- Smart Inserter
- Posts: 7352
- Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 1:01 pm
- Contact:
Re: no_intermediate flag on recipes
that's the mod I was thinking about with the burner miner drill -> electric miner drill + stone furnace -> burner miner drill issue, isn't it?Jelmergu wrote:I linked a mod in the OP. It will add some recipes to convert burner stage to electric stage. Using that mod and attempting to make a fast inserter will craft the following intermediates: burner inserter -> burner to electric inserter(mod recipe) -> fast inserter
That path for the recipe costs the same materials, but will take a second longer, which was (obvliously) not the intention
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/upgrade-machines
I'd link you some of mine, but... if you can fix his mod, the same solution should fix mine too.
Re: no_intermediate flag on recipes
Ok, for the next version of 0.16. I added a boolean to recipes that when set tells the game to skip them for intermediate-item hand crafting purposes. "allow_as_intermediate". It defaults to true.
If you want to get ahold of me I'm almost always on Discord.
Re: no_intermediate flag on recipes
Yes it was, fixed that issue thoughbobingabout wrote:that's the mod I was thinking about with the burner miner drill -> electric miner drill + stone furnace -> burner miner drill issue, isn't it?Jelmergu wrote:I linked a mod in the OP. It will add some recipes to convert burner stage to electric stage. Using that mod and attempting to make a fast inserter will craft the following intermediates: burner inserter -> burner to electric inserter(mod recipe) -> fast inserter
That path for the recipe costs the same materials, but will take a second longer, which was (obvliously) not the intention
https://mods.factorio.com/mod/upgrade-machines
I'd link you some of mine, but... if you can fix his mod, the same solution should fix mine too.
ThanksRseding91 wrote:Ok, for the next version of 0.16. I added a boolean to recipes that when set tells the game to skip them for intermediate-item hand crafting purposes. "allow_as_intermediate". It defaults to true.