[0.16.12]
Connecting circuit network to train station to read train contents rounds down values from fluid wagons. This causes pumps to stop to soon and can often lead to non-empty wagons. This is a problem for multi-fluid stations.
Mouseover a wagon shows 0.7 Oil, circuit network rounds down and shows 0. Pump with "Oil > 0" condition stops too soon and leaves the player with a non-empty wagon.
Circuit network rounds down causing pumps to stop too soon
-
- Burner Inserter
- Posts: 15
- Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:48 pm
- Contact:
-
- Filter Inserter
- Posts: 549
- Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2016 2:48 am
- Contact:
Re: Circuit network rounds down causing pumps to stop too soon
That's never going to be accepted as a bug because it's working as designed. Unlike many other software bug reporting fora, this one maintains a strict separation between bug reports (where the game is glitching out) and feature requests (where the game works right, but you want them to make "right" functioning of the game be different somehow).
But, I should mention that in my opinion, it is rather annoying that there is no way to tell if a tank is empty or not in circuits.
So, really, you're making a feature request here.
Only problem with your feature request, is you have stated what you don't want to happen, but not what you do want to happen. This is like showing up for a protest against "evil corporations" with no alternative proposal for how the economy should work; cathartic, perhaps, but not terribly effective.
To fix this, you might suggest such solutions as: removing tanks from the game, making them non-circuit-connectible, always rounding up, making fluids measure in discrete quantities only, making circuit networks floating-point, removing fluids from factorio entirely, representing fractional fluid quantities less than one as -(2^31), etc.
Once we have a particular proposal to talk about, then we can get to the part where everyone shoots it down and tells you you're crazy and you don't need it. Until then it's hard to be sure
Also, welcome to the factorio.com forums! Judging by your post I think you will like it here.
But, I should mention that in my opinion, it is rather annoying that there is no way to tell if a tank is empty or not in circuits.
So, really, you're making a feature request here.
Only problem with your feature request, is you have stated what you don't want to happen, but not what you do want to happen. This is like showing up for a protest against "evil corporations" with no alternative proposal for how the economy should work; cathartic, perhaps, but not terribly effective.
To fix this, you might suggest such solutions as: removing tanks from the game, making them non-circuit-connectible, always rounding up, making fluids measure in discrete quantities only, making circuit networks floating-point, removing fluids from factorio entirely, representing fractional fluid quantities less than one as -(2^31), etc.
Once we have a particular proposal to talk about, then we can get to the part where everyone shoots it down and tells you you're crazy and you don't need it. Until then it's hard to be sure
Also, welcome to the factorio.com forums! Judging by your post I think you will like it here.
Re: Circuit network rounds down causing pumps to stop too soon
Welcome to the fluid hell but you also need to queue at the end of this line.
-
- Burner Inserter
- Posts: 15
- Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:48 pm
- Contact:
Re: Circuit network rounds down causing pumps to stop too soon
Thanks! Looking forward to getting all my brilliant ideas shot down by even more brilliant people!golfmiketango wrote: Also, welcome to the factorio.com forums! Judging by your post I think you will like it here.
I agree. So desired behavior would be at least to not ever report non-empty containers as "0". It could do a roof rounding for either all values or as a minimum all values < 1.golfmiketango wrote: Only problem with your feature request, is you have stated what you don't want to happen, but not what you do want to happen. This is like showing up for a protest against "evil corporations" with no alternative proposal for how the economy should work; cathartic, perhaps, but not terribly effective.
To fix this, you might suggest such solutions as: removing tanks from the game, making them non-circuit-connectible, always rounding up, making fluids measure in discrete quantities only, making circuit networks floating-point, removing fluids from factorio entirely, representing fractional fluid quantities less than one as -(2^31), etc.
-
- Burner Inserter
- Posts: 15
- Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:48 pm
- Contact:
Re: Circuit network rounds down causing pumps to stop too soon
Thanks, I see that I'm not the first one with this problem... I'm close to start using only barrels because of this ^^Zavian wrote:Also see viewtopic.php?f=6&t=49274 .
Re: Circuit network rounds down causing pumps to stop too soon
Did you try the mentioned mod? viewtopic.php?f=6&t=49274&start=80#p334969TyrHeimdal wrote:Thanks, I see that I'm not the first one with this problem... I'm close to start using only barrels because of this ^^Zavian wrote:Also see viewtopic.php?f=6&t=49274 .
I would like to hear a Review.
Re: Circuit network rounds down causing pumps to stop too soon
By the way, I think the best fix for this is to put a one-tick delay (an Each-0⇒Each combinator will do it) on the readout, anything showing fumes-or-empty last tick is almost certainly empty this tick. Think of it as a cleanup step, it's only necessary if you're switching fluids.